2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
24hr_mum:
You are right may have to check with her teacher go thru?yukilei:
[quote=\"24hr_mum\"]Yesterday dd had school till 4pm. Brought home 2 math papers, 1english paper and 1english compo. Where got time to do revision for weak area?
So much work! Do the teachers have time to go thru the papers?
My dd is those striaght type , homework must finish , everyday i see her seat infont desk, rushing to finish, wondering does this help her?[/quote]ai yo, 听了也心疼。I can imagine how you feel. -
yukilei:
ai yo, where got \"siao\". If the child can do better at home, then it's ok to stay at home.
I shared my idea of letting dd stay at home to do revision with a mother outside the school yesterday. Guess what she said? She said I am \"siao\", where got people don't let kids go to school and stay at home do own revision. I was so upset to hear that word \"siao\"! She doesn't coach her dd at all, that's why she thinks I am siao! I didn't explain further my reason to her because 话不投机, 半句多!underthesea:
[quote=\"underthesea\"]I told dd to stay at home this week to do her own revision but she refused. She said she want to play and talk to her friends in school. So I just let her be.
Actually I am more worry about my Sec2 ds. SA2 starts next week and he still bo-chap!
After reading the forum, I did check w my DS yday whether he wants to stay at home. He refuse, saying that he prefer to go to school since the friends are around, can chit chat. Beside, he said the homework is manageable & school teachers do not require them to stay back. As at now, all his classmates go to school. So I let him be lor.[/quote]Same for my DS. Prefer go Sch to 'study' with friends.
Anyway, think at home he's equally distracted & I dun exactly know what to do with him :oops: -
I agree with you. I even asked my DD to correct her own paper. At least she will know what is wrong and what is the correct answer. But she is scared of the teacher although the teacher is very friendly. When the other student corrects the paper, she will not even go thro’ the paper (most of the times) and she will not even know that her answer is wrong.
Will the school allow kids to stay at home for their own revision in last week before PSLE?
ruohoo97:
Will the school allow kids to stay at home for their own revision in last week before PSLE?
Of course the school will prefer the children to be at the school. Parents need to make the decision and inform or convince the teacher. -
mummy so kiasu:
I think rest is the most important stuff to do. Do nt overstretch your DD ds... Give them time to rest, reflect, revise...ASLMUM:
May I know what to tell the teachers if we pull our kids out of school? Just say studying at home?
I am also thinking of asking my son to stay at home next week, which is 3 days before the PSLE written papers. His English school teacher wants them to stay for supplementary class till 5.30pm on Mon & Tues for this week & next week. Maybe it is better for him to slow down & get sufficient rest before the big days. Since only 3 days, don't have to inform the teachers.
I am getting my DD to stay at home from this Thursday owards also. Pupils are falling sick in school, one f them get chicken pox also... -
24hr_mum:
Wondering all dd or ds agree to such arrangement? Thinking of let my dd stay at home too but sure she disagree.
I discuss with my DD and surprisingly she agreed. I explained to her the rationale, wanting her to have good rest. -
HAPPYH:
Just called the school, was told the school is still on, but you can write to in to request..... :xedfingers:ruohoo97:
Of course the school will prefer the children to be at the school. Parents need to make the decision and inform or convince the teacher. -
My son will be studying at home this week…it’s so much easier to arrange his tuition as such. But what pisses me is the amount of homework still issued. Next Thur is the start of written papers. Why still piling the kids?
A friend asked her son’s FT why past year papers were still being piled on at this point. The teacher told her that if she feels that it is too much, then she bears the responsibility if homework isn’t done. Wow! Is this called threatening? -
Maybe your friend should question the FT if the homework is not marked or go through in class. No point to give homework for the seek of giving. If this is the case, should feedback to principal, MOE or Education Minister. I had SMS my boy's teachers to ask them not to give homework next week. This week still have a lot of homework. Considering of not going to school next week.My son will be studying at home this week...it's so much easier to arrange his tuition as such. But what pisses me is the amount of homework still issued. Next Thur is the start of written papers. Why still piling the kids?
A friend asked her son's FT why past year papers were still being piled on at this point. The teacher told her that if she feels that it is too much, then she bears the responsibility if homework isn't done. Wow! Is this called threatening?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.