Pre-school fees
If the increase in fees cannot be justified, then just go. Let your feet do the talking. In my opinion, it is not so much about the CCC, but what parents do with their kids, supervising their work and spending time with them reading etc...

Both my kids are now in childcare and the fees is about $500 per pax after subsidy. Reasonable cos I have colleagues who are paying $700 after subsidy…
well, to be fair to the centre, they did not increase fees as and when they want lah. and they have very good curriculum. just that, we dunno how useful pre school curriculum are. some people say pre school not important, primary sch more important, some people say, pre school are the most important stage, coz at this tender age, they absorb the most knowledge, languages also easiest to learn at this age.
Yes, they are sponges at this age. That doesn’t mean they only learn at the pre-school. They can learn at home or via other enrichment classes. I am sure the kiasuparent in you will still send your kid to an expensive enrichment centre even though his pre-school is already very expensive right? Then just save on the pre-school lor. Not all cheap schools are bad and not all expensive schools are great. You could just be paying for branding and high overheads.
cherrygal:
Yes, they are sponges at this age. That doesn't mean they only learn at the pre-school. They can learn at home or via other enrichment classes. I am sure the kiasuparent in you will still send your kid to an expensive enrichment centre even though his pre-school is already very expensive right? Then just save on the pre-school lor. Not all cheap schools are bad and not all expensive schools are great. You could just be paying for branding and high overheads.
:goodpost: I totally agree. In primary school, those who attend expensive pre schools may not be those who do extremely well. Some in fact gets culture shock in primary school system. So far do not come across clear correlation of pre school attended and primary school results. I also recommend the parents to save the money for the expensive tuition needed for weak subjects in primary school :evil: :moneyflies: -
Just a spark that went through my mind just now…
Come to think of it, we each have our destiny. Fate decreed that I would become a SAHM earning little or no money even after getting a degree, and getting good scores at school. At our age, it doesn’t matter any more which school we came from and what results we got.
Whether you become a scholar or a lawyer in future actually depends on:
1. your genes
2. your aptitude (IQ, learning ability, knowledge)
3. your attitude (hardworking, drive, passion etc)
4. EQ (which determines if you are liked by teachers, bosses etc)
5. The home environment (values system, financial ability to send u for further studies etc)
6. luck or as some put it, divine intervention
and many other factors
An expensive pre-school / good pri school can only help a little in No.2 where they may expose the kid to more diverse info or have better teachers to guide the kids. -
Hey Cherrygal,
no leh, I dun have the resources (aka $$$) to pay for enrichment, so I depend SOLELY on the pre school and so far, the preschool has done their job in teaching (at least I believe so :xedfingers: ). the pre school is not even branded leh. although it is montessori.
I believe in montessori education for long term education. even primary schools now also adapt montessori teaching (discreetly, they dun openly decalre that they use montessori method, because to MOE, montessori method is unorthodox! haha). some of those maths teaching method that you see in lower primary are montessori method. -
I am not familiar with the montessori method… is there any clear distinction between theirs and other pre-schools? I am getting worried about my younger boy as he doesn;t seem to be speaking well and still can’t get certain consonents right at his age… and he has just turned 4! But the teachers kept telling me its normal that some develop their mastery over speech and pronunciation at a later age.
Am wondering if I should switch him to another school to see got any difference or not as I think they focus too muchy on playing… -
some montessori schools are just using the name MONTESSORI as selling point to promote their schools to bring in more students. some uses montessori method, but maybe out of 3 hours, only 30 mins focus on montessori. its very rare to find an 'authentic' montessori pre school, as pure montessori method is very 'hard' to teach.
in summary, usually, usually only har, montessori graduates are often very good in maths and english. especially for maths because the students see, do and remember.
Maybe buds can tell you more as she is a montessori teacher.
Smurf,
All your kids went to montessori or is this the first time you trying? Any difference between your kids? (supposing your older boy went to a normal pre-school)
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.