Club SAHM
Maybe we can re-introduce ourselves here
Me SAHM for 6 years+. Most likely a permanent role until the day I become grandma, can promote to SAHG then.
2 girls 7 yo & 5yo. -
Hi there, I am A SAHM of 4 years with 2 children. DD is in P2 and DS in K2. I homeschool my DS this year and it is the best decision I have made. I have regretted not having done that when my DD was in her presch age.
In my opinion, the presch stage is so crucial. It is the formative stage where kids form habits, values and other behavourial traits. For me, I want to be directly responsible in how my kids turn out in future.
As an ex-sch teacher, I witnessed so many parents who decided to be SAHM when their kids started to have problems in sch; whether social, academic or behaviourial. More often than not, it is too late. They canβt do much to turn their wayward kids around as their habits and values are already firmly formed.
So for those who are thinking of becoming a SAHM, if there are no financial constraints, I wld strongly encourage you to go for it. The job as a SAHM is not easy but then which job is. And I think most SAHM will agree that the bond shared between us and our kids are worth the hardships we go thru. -
Lock:
Hi there, I am A SAHM of 4 years with 2 children. DD is in P2 and DS in K2. I homeschool my DS this year and it is the best decision I have made. I have regretted not having done that when my DD was in her presch age.
Hi
How do you manage the coaching part when both kids are at home?
When you are coaching your P2, how do you keep your K2 occupied? & vice versa
For me, that's a constant struggle as my girls love to chit chat with each other, started giggling in the middle of their homework. Despites my effort to place them in separate rooms, they are quite inseparable, always end up together again. During exam period, I have to dispatch my younger one to my mom's house. The moment they are together, it's PLAYTIME. That's my biggest set back in homeschooling so far -
Sleepy, thanks for initiating the reintroduction...it's rather difficult to sieve through the pages to consolidate details
I am a 1-yr old SAHM, DS p1 this year. Been working all the way while he was with nanny (till 20mth) followed by CC (till end k2). I had originally intended to take a short break of about half a yr so that I can settle him in p1 for a few months. I even paid the deposit for a day care centre near his school.
However things took a change when I saw him entering p1. I think one of you mentioned earlier that this is a very crucial stage as the child is entering a different phase of their life, one which is completely different from the preschool, which were pretty much very sheltered. Mentally, socially and physically, they would go through many changes. My DH and I realised that it was very important that we guide him through properly this transition. Thus the decision was made...
Besides the usual activities like coffee with other SAHM around here, housework, and korean/taiwan drama marathon, I really look forward to see DS coming back each day, and we would catch up on each other's happenings in the day. This sharing is indeed the gateway to his growth and development. Cannot fully relate all that happened, just too many to share...but these are quality time that $ cannot buy...
With only 1 yr, I cannot compare myself with those of you who have sacrificed much longer for the family. Thus I would only be able to comment abt my thoughts at this moment. No regrets definitely. -
Hi! I'm a mummy of 2 - DD is 20mths old & Ds is 3 mths old. Not yet a SAHM BUT am seriously thinking abt becoming one.
I hv my doubts on whether i'm capable of being SAHM anot. I scare I hv no patience wif my DD. Why I say tat? Becos these 2 mths while I'm on ML, no doubt there's a strong bond betw us but she become super sticky to me. Prepare milk, meals, she insists I carry her. If i dun, she will cry cry cry. I cant be out of her sight! I hv 2 take short fast bath for example. Even that, she will cry outside the bathroom sometimes.
Esp when DH is not ard these 2 mths, though I hv my dad, cousin, maid, I feel super tired & stressed.
In the end, result me blowing my top @ DD. :stupid: -
Lock:
Pardon my ignorance, homeschool mean u teach ur DS @ home without sending her 2 any Nursery or Kindy?Hi there, I am A SAHM of 4 years with 2 children. DD is in P2 and DS in K2. I homeschool my DS this year and it is the best decision I have made. I have regretted not having done that when my DD was in her presch age.
In my opinion, the presch stage is so crucial. It is the formative stage where kids form habits, values and other behavourial traits. For me, I want to be directly responsible in how my kids turn out in future.
As an ex-sch teacher, I witnessed so many parents who decided to be SAHM when their kids started to have problems in sch; whether social, academic or behaviourial. More often than not, it is too late. They can't do much to turn their wayward kids around as their habits and values are already firmly formed.
So for those who are thinking of becoming a SAHM, if there are no financial constraints, I wld strongly encourage you to go for it. The job as a SAHM is not easy but then which job is. And I think most SAHM will agree that the bond shared between us and our kids are worth the hardships we go thru. -
Wow, new Club SAHM :celebrate:
Hi Buds,Really aah?
Hokay, time to update those threads liao.
More followers coming in wor... :shock:
Btw, are you with us already in the http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2724&start=465
Yes, more updates pls :thankyou:
maybe you can publish a book. I'm sure many parents here will pre-order
Wild Wild West Club? No yet. Hopping over now
Mum_2Gals:
Wow, new Club SAHM :celebrate:
Special for you all mah..
Really aah?
Hokay, time to update those threads liao.
More followers coming in wor... :shock:Mum_2Gals:
Serious arh..Hi Buds,
Yes, more updates pls :thankyou:
maybe you can publish a book. I'm sure many parents here will pre-order
Can make it is it, you think? :lol:buds:
Btw, are you with us already in the http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2724&start=465
Mum_2Gals:
Good girl.Wild Wild West Club? No yet. Hopping over now

sleepy:
Hi sleepy,
My sentiment too!Mum_2Gals:
Everyone has different priorities, I do enjoy my job but I'm not career-minded. I work for my family--more $, better standard of living??? So if the quality of living is affected when I work, I'll rather quit my job!
I still have people telling me 'so wasteful not to work' even though I stopped working donkey years ago.
To most people, it seems kind of wasted if we do not generate any income from our prior investment in education
Agree, my dad was not supportive initially too. But now he's glad that I'm a SAHM, because he really doubt my mum can handle 4 kids (plus sis's 2kids):shock: As much as I try not to mind what other people says, still gets very defensive when pple says\" you not working? Tai tai ah, very free right? :stupid: -
dearzen:
Hi dearzen,
Oh yes! when I oni hv #1 in yr 08 & due 2 NO experience in taking care of newborns, i prefer 2 go back 2 work! I still rem i asked my bb sitter 2 tk care of my #1 earlier than the agreed date. :oops:
But nw wif abit of experience, i reali wan 2 try 2 tk care of my kids myself minus off the maid. BUT i scare i cant. :roll:
Don't worry. It won't be an easy job. But the \"difficult and crazy periods\" will pass and you'll only have fond memories of the time spent with your kids.
When we plan for no2, we forgot all about the difficulties faced when no1 still a baby, all the crankiness, plus middle of the night feeds up till 2+yrs old!
Now we still think babies are very CUTE!
I'm a SAHM for 3 years already, sometimes still barely coping, sometimes almost went crazy, now still learning......but no regrets
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.