Life after 2011 PSLE

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    1.1k Posts 44 Posters 239.4k Views 1 Watching
      scm292

ngbrdad:
      firefly38:

Oh, I am also eyeing Confusious/Stalford at North Point for DS2, as we stay in the North. Are these 2 schools good, in your opinion?

The other tuition centre that you mentioned must be Mind Stretcher. Same situation at Bishan Branch too!

Well Confusious/Stralford are using Wen Jiun, the top PSLE student from NHPS last year (277) as their latest advertisement. Apparently he has been with them since P1. Just don't know at which branch.

The branch in Jurong west opp gek poh ss. Wei jun was DS classmate in P2 n P3 before he left for NHPS for the GEP program. DS saw him in that stalford branch when DS attended 10 lessions of sci revision just before psle.

ngbrdad

scm292:

The branch in Jurong west opp gek poh ss. Wei jun was DS classmate in P2 n P3 before he left for NHPS for the GEP program. DS saw him in that stalford branch when DS attended 10 lessions of sci revision just before psle.
        So there is a branch at Gek Poh apart from Jurong Point.

ngbrdad

Verysuperkiasu:
          Bbee:

Hi vsk, your child still with the online (skype) tuition?
          My ds started it last Feb while in P6. The teaching style suits him and he loved the classes. We are now continuing through in Sec 1.
          Wonder if they were 'classmates' last year, haha?

Yes, Ds is still with Trainwow for sec 1. They are quite advance, preparing them since the holidays in Dec. Which day is his tuition this year? ds days are Tuesdays, Wed, Fri (used to be 7 to 8pm) but now 6 to 7pm. Due to school activities, changed many times already. They are quite flexible and understanding, that's what I like. Teachers are very committed too. One time, during thunderstorm in China, their internet affected, the teacher actually brought her laptop travel to another distant area so that tuition will not be disrupted (it was nearing psle last year).

For trainwow since it's using skype need ADSL right ? Those using cable modem or fibreoptic network can use right ?

Verysuperkiasu

ngbrdad:

For trainwow since it's using skype need ADSL right ? Those using cable modem or fibreoptic network can use right ?
            sorry, what's adsl? I'm not computer savvy. :oops:

I suppose any internet can. But I heard those with dial up tend to have more disruptions. If yours is broadband, then it should be quite smooth.
            Hope it helps....

Verysuperkiasu

Oh dear - what happens if the child is not free during those times? AFterall for secondary school, they quite likely finish CCA only around 6.30pm or 7+pm.

And it doesn't mention the timings for the Online Tuition available. And also not mentioned if it's for Standard or Higher Chinese?
              Trainwow is very flexible and will try to work round your child's schedule. They even deliver the materials (notes and assessments) to your house free. Their available slots start hourly from a certain time, 1 or 2pm (can't remember). You choose your slot and they'll try to work round it. Sundays off. If your child's cca ends late, take the latest slot - which is 8 to 9pm. or the saturday's slot. It's only an hour - and at the comfort of your home.

BTW, they do offer HMT. My ds is having HMT tuition currently with Trainwow.

Verysuperkiasu

BTW, if u r interested in Trainwow, see thread

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=353062

Bbee

Verysuperkiasu:
                  Bbee:

Hi vsk, your child still with the online (skype) tuition?
                  My ds started it last Feb while in P6. The teaching style suits him and he loved the classes. We are now continuing through in Sec 1.
                  Wonder if they were 'classmates' last year, haha?

Yes, Ds is still with Trainwow for sec 1. They are quite advance, preparing them since the holidays in Dec. Which day is his tuition this year? ds days are Tuesdays, Wed, Fri (used to be 7 to 8pm) but now 6 to 7pm. Due to school activities, changed many times already. They are quite flexible and understanding, that's what I like. Teachers are very committed too. One time, during thunderstorm in China, their internet affected, the teacher actually brought her laptop travel to another distant area so that tuition will not be disrupted (it was nearing psle last year).

My ds' classes currently are on Mon/Wed/Fri, 8pm. Chose this time slot to accomodate cca timing. Will see how when school time-table + CCA is in full speed, and change if necc. Mine is taking Express Chinese and not HMT. Yes, very committed teachers in China and very responsive admin team here in Spore. My ds from borderline to A at psle. I am very impressed.

Bbee

Verysuperkiasu:
                    ngbrdad:

sorry, what's adsl? I'm not computer savvy. :oops:

I suppose any internet can. But I heard those with dial up tend to have more disruptions. If yours is broadband, then it should be quite smooth.
                    Hope it helps....

I am using broadband. No probs most of the time.

Verysuperkiasu

Bbee:

My ds' classes currently are on Mon/Wed/Fri, 8pm. Chose this time slot to accomodate cca timing. Will see how when school time-table + CCA is in full speed, and change if necc. Mine is taking Express Chinese and not HMT. Yes, very committed teachers in China and very responsive admin team here in Spore. My ds from borderline to A at psle. I am very impressed.
                      My ds used to be in Express Chinese too. Then some miscommunication in ds' school admin, end up saying that ds' class is pure HMT class. If he wants to do express Chinese, then have to switch class - my ds refuses to change, said that he's used to his current friends and don't want to go thru the hassle of making new friends all over again. Sigh.....ds has never taken HMT in Primary school. Hopefully he can cope lor. But Traiwow is very efficient I must say - straightaway on that day I called regarding the switch, that evening's tuition was based on HMT materials - tutor has it all ready. I'm quite impressed. Good job for your ds! From borderline to A is quite an achievement!!!

jtoh

Verysuperkiasu:
                        Bbee:

My ds used to be in Express Chinese too. Then some miscommunication in ds' school admin, end up saying that ds' class is pure HMT class. If he wants to do express Chinese, then have to switch class - my ds refuses to change, said that he's used to his current friends and don't want to go thru the hassle of making new friends all over again. Sigh.....ds has never taken HMT in Primary school. Hopefully he can cope lor. But Traiwow is very efficient I must say - straightaway on that day I called regarding the switch, that evening's tuition was based on HMT materials - tutor has it all ready. I'm quite impressed. Good job for your ds! From borderline to A is quite an achievement!!!

How do you make friends with the other students in the online class?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 108 / 114

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo