DSA Appeal 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    310 Posts 70 Posters 92.3k Views 1 Watching
      jtoh

MOE made it possible for parents to be immoral because it didn't have an explicit rule for the situation? :? Why would you blame a government for treating you like an adult who can be trusted to know what is right and wrong?

We're always saying our government is paternalistic, and for once when there is some flexibility, people have gone ahead to game the system to such a large extent that it becomes acceptable to dishonor a commitment. It's almost like in some other countries, corruption is a way of life. This is not MOE's fault. It's because Singaporeans are such children that we must be told exactly what we should and should not do.

In yet other countries, newpapers were placed unlocked on a stand and people left money whenever they took a paper, because it was the right thing to do... and out of respect/trust for their clientele, vendors leave the papers out for easy access. It is not called \"allowing clients to be immoral\". It is called \"respecting and trusting clients\". I always tell my kids that if they don't set their own limits, I will step in to set them, and I sure never give any warning. This is exactly what MOE has done.

I am guessing that in line with the new drive to have MORE good schools, MOE wishes to distribute top talent amongst the various good schools. As such, the 4 top schools are not allowed to poach talent which has signed on to other schools. The upside for parents is that if you've a very high t-score, you'll be on that school's watch list, and have your pick of the developmental opportunities the school has to offer. A bit like being in the best class in P5 and P6. This can work out better for your kid than having to compete with the rest of the best for such opportunities? The school will probably pay extra attention to your child because your child is their shining beacon of hope for glory.
      :goodpost:

Pen88n

If MOE and the schs are willing to take in the appeals of the DSA CO cases, there will not be discussion here. The crux of the issue is MOE and the schs are not approving the DSA CO appeals for transfer now, and the parents (and kids) are feeling "unfair".

The truth is appeal is still an appeal and it is subjected to approval and it has its risk of not being approved. As DSA CO case, you cannot demand that your transfer be approved just because you are above the COP of the sch. Even if the schs has been accepting transfers in the past, it does not mean they must accept now. Same with S1 posting appeal, some sch has rejected despite being at the COP (past year they might have accepted). They have every right to reject you and they do not need to give you the criteria. So, where is the "unfairness" in this case?

• Y Offline
          yamatomato

But there is at least one sch we know accepting it. this will trigger down to the other schools

samontheway

So, where is the "unfairness" in this case?

sorry to say: are we talking about selecting criteria?

Pen88n

yamatomato:
              But there is at least one sch we know accepting it. this will trigger down to the other schools

So far as we know, no approval has been granted for DSA CO transfer cases. Anyone has one successful case to share???

Aiya, if have successful DSA CO transfer case, why are these parents appealing to MOE??? They are appealing becos they were told no, they cannot transfer......and some schools do not accept the appeal as afterall they cannot transfer!

less kiasu liao

Hi 😉 South African 😄

All these and more will be needed when ds/dd
                -gets thrown into npcc (march till :siao: ) for 4 years because they cannot qualify for any cca
                -gpa drops......... no matter how hard they study
                -heart gets broken for the first time 😢 Warning-this can be worse for those who have never experience disappointment or failure
                -sets his/her heart on a course with not much commercial value

In a way, PSLE is good for parents, because we learn through the whole process to handle our expectations, anxieties, hopes and disappointments before teenage and adulthood comes. No where to appeal to then.
                A very blessed christmas to all parents on KSP. :grphug:

Chandelier

Snow Crystal:
                  zeemimi:

But it is not fair for another DSA student in a similar position and chose to follow the rules and stay put in his DSA sch.

Why have DSA in the first place if you are not going to honour your CO? Parents have a choice whether to accept the CO or not. The act of securing a place as a back up plan \"just in case the child doesn't do well\" and then abandoning the CO at the earliest opportunity is not desirable.

Most parents want to honour CO and also won't accept the DSA CO from 2nd choice school if they are the ones making the decision. However if your DS/DD come back and tell you they don't feel good about the PSLE or everyone says easy and your kid says difficult, won't the parent n kid be scared and want to exercise the option first. If don't do well in PSLE - how? Then when PSLE result come out, alamak - happy and sad cos kid score very high, above 1st choice school COP. Then how? Seek transfer. Put yourself in their shoes and in 100% honesty, you think you won't do the same? All parents want the best for their kids. There's always two sides to the coin, there's no right or wrong. Each has their own reasons and stand.

But the silence from the DSA appeal cases indicate that this round, MOE seems to be serious in no transfer.

:goodpost: agreed with u, snow crystal! 😄

parentathome

Thank you and we always appreciate someone who willing to put their effort in trying to understand my point.

We felt sad indeed not able to success in our appeal, but we do not feel bad about the sec sch that we chosen.
                    My argue point is that the moe has really made a serious mistake in the process. And the children as well as parents were sacrificed.
                    We always tell ourselves when u worked hard and u get rewarded in sg, but this time we worked hard trying to appeal as what has been going on in the past yrs, but we were played out by the moe. I am curious to find out is there anything related to the new minister's \"new thought\"?
                    We just want an open apology from the ministry, telling our kids even so-called elites made mistake in sg!

pepper spice:
                    parentathome:

I have double checked the documents issued to us early this yr and the one that we signed for dsa preference and it WASN'T stated that NO dsa appealing after we accepted. So frens, pls ensure you know abt the entire process and story b4 commenting my unsatifaction. We do not argue with no grounds. We r talking abt an administration mistake that ignored what's going on for yrs and terminate it out of a sudden to our kids.

Hi parentathome, I empathise with you, that you are feeling disappointed and perhaps bitter about the situation you are in.

Just to share with you - my hubby was from RI and when our son was unable to get in, and I felt disappointed, my hubby consoled me and said that his years of studying in RI also never give him any distinct advantage or priviledges that other schools in Singapore cannot give. So he gives his blessings and support to our son to whichever school he is being posted to.

Hope I am not bragging, but over the years, I have learned to appreciate the very sound, wise and far-sighed advice that my hubby gives, and I am now sharing with you one as above. If you do finally succeed in your appeal, congrats, but if not, move on. If you feel bitter about it, your child may also sense it and it is not healthy for the relationship. Merry christmas.

sunflowermom

Before applying for DSA, we were told that MOE is not going to entertain DSA appealing this year and were advised to DSA to school(s) that our child is/are keen or do not mind going. The P from NYGH and HCI have also informed parents abt MOE’s direction.

Since the pupil was informed of the DSA outcome before the PSLE (even before prelim) and only needs to exercise the DSA offer AFTER the PSLE so the pupil should have a feel how well he did for the exam. In fact MOE has given us more than enough time to consider whether to take up the 2nd choice CO. Imagine we have to exercise the DSA offer before the PSLE!

lwx99

Then in this case, it is even more unfair. Not all principals informed the parents of the MOE’s new directive before the kids accept the DSA CO. The P from NYGH and HCI have done the students justice, but not other principals. MOE customer service will tell you MOE communicates the "new" directive directly with schools (not parents) and schools are suppose to relate the info to parents. So in this case, many principals have not done so. There is definitely a communication breakdown. BTW the new directive is roughly that …transfer allow only for extenuating reasons, eg. not able to fulfil sports DSA commitment due to permanent injury…

I strongly believe this strict adherence to the "new" directive has alot to do with the new minister who came in after the GE in May. That’s why schools receive the "new" directive very late in Oct ??? It should have been done in Jan to make sure there is enough time to pass the info to ALL parents and students.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 31