DSA Appeal 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    310 Posts 70 Posters 92.3k Views 1 Watching
      vlim

Snow crystal .... I agree with you ... 🦆 :siam:

WeiHan

less kiasu liao:
        Well, top schools like RI/RGS/NJC/HCI/NUSH also don't take in other than academic and sports under DSA.

To rephrase my point, aside from SOTA, SPORTS SCHOOL, NUSH, (ie special talent schools that really want to develop a child's special talent) dsa via academics should be done away with. Let PSLE and students' choices do the sorting, and allow official appeal process after that for unexpected cases. 😄[/quote]

But academically competent is not exactly equal to good exam results (i.e psle results). So dsa thru academics domain should not be done away with. Isn't that the reason why GEPers were mostly given DSA offers even though their psle results may not be the top? Maybe I am wrong.

yamatomato:
          I don't think moe's approval is required when sch approve the appeal cases esp for s1 posting cases. It is more like informing moe to update the records. There is time constraint for appeal cases, 1 more week and sch starts . If every appeal cases need moe approval , it will not happen . As mentioned earlier, our moe moves like a snail

in previous years some schools' appeal results stretched all the way to first week january

Snow Crystal

vlim:
            Snow crystal .... I agree with you ... 🦆 :siam:

Haha thanks!

WeiHan

R3mom:
              In my view, MOE should re-look into the dsa process and timing. If DSA applicants are allowed to exercise their options after they receive their PSLE results, together with the S1 posting, then the issue of appeal will disappear.

The computer can be programmed for those with dsa CO to be posted first, then dsa WL to be posted second, with the qualification that the dsa school has to be listed as student's first choice (just like affiliated schools), before it proceeds to post the rest.

what do u think?
              haha...is an unequal practice then. All the benefits go to the students but none goes to the schools that offer the confirmation. Which school will want to offer a confirmation then? The school might as well wait until the psle result is out to make decision whether to admit a student.

less kiasu liao

WeiHan:
                less kiasu liao:

Well, top schools like RI/RGS/NJC/HCI/NUSH also don't take in other than academic and sports under DSA.

To rephrase my point, aside from SOTA, SPORTS SCHOOL, NUSH, (ie special talent schools that really want to develop a child's special talent) dsa via academics should be done away with. Let PSLE and students' choices do the sorting, and allow official appeal process after that for unexpected cases. 😄

But academically competent is not exactly equal to good exam results (i.e psle results). So dsa thru academics domain should not be done away with. Isn't that the reason why GEPers were mostly given DSA offers even though their psle results may not be the top? Maybe I am wrong.[/quote]

These should be in the minority, and thus could be allowed to appeal after the PSLE?
                I think my misgiving comes from the second tier IP schools. A different category of problem may exist there. I know through personal friends that the middle 25X are posted to the 'O' level route while lower 25X (similar performances in school results) can be in the IP route through dsa acedemics simply because post PSLE, there was not enough places left in the IP route for the former. My guess is that these schools, being inexperienced, have under estimated their popularity as 'catchment' IP schools for girls who score below 260 and thus had accepted the latter without stringent tests administered like in the top schools.

Dr.050025K

[quote]jtoh wrote:

Let me make an analogy. There's a double yellow line drawn outside your home. You park there everyday despite knowing it's against the law but the LTA has always closed one eye and has never booked you. One day, LTA decides to book you. Is it unfair? No. Because it's against the law, just that they never enforced it.

Fundamentally what's wrong is that we want our cake and eat it too. Chope a place in a school in case our PSLE scores aren't fantastic, in the meantime denying someone else of a place in the school, someone who would be truly happy to study there.[/quote]You are very right jtoh. The phrase is called \"dog in the manger\". I guess MOE entertained it because there were places vacant and number of applicants were few but not this year with of the population explosion. People are not trusting people anymore.Example:I was traveling by MRT and wanted to change train at Buona Vista to the circle line. I followed the sign but being absent minded at times, I scanned my card and was out. I immediately turned around and told the SMRT guy at the counter of what happened. What he told surprised me. He replied he is unable to read my mind so I have to re-enter as commencing a new journey-like he was trying to tell me that I was attempting to lie..It erked me a lot to get that reply but after a hindsight I understood that in the Old Singapore such a comment was meant as a deliberate insult to our honor and dignity BUT today with the influx of some unsavory foreigners such things may be common on a daily basis that he is encountering. I walked away feeling SAD for many of us. This is the analogy I think the MOE is faced with currently so some honest applicants have to suffer because of some unbecoming trend brought by bad foreign culture.

Dr.050025K

But academically competent is not exactly equal to good exam results (i.e psle results). So dsa thru academics domain should not be done away with. Isn’t that the reason why GEPers were mostly given DSA offers even though their psle results may not be the top? Maybe I am wrong.[/quote]

PSLE does reflect certain degree of competency academically BUT not totally. Girls tend to perform slightly if not far more better than boys and as the years go by-the boys take over. Deciding totally on Academics like PSLE exams would definitely will be a great loss for many who are late bloomers. In IP schools many things change in 6 years time. The top scores in PSLE will be nothing to shout about in A’level and Undergraduate studies in Universities. It is usually the average or above average students who go on to do well in studies in later life. An Example: Singapore boasts some of the best students and teaching methods for school Maths and Science BUT have we produced any tangible results at International level like Nobel prizes or Scientific breakthroughs.How many local students do actually study for PHDs. Most are imported and assume Singapore IDs.This is something to think about. The DSA recruiters are actually trained by MOE to identify potential in all fields and recruit them before they are lost among the masses because of the system which constantly needs upgrading.

VALyap

Dr.K:
                      But academically competent is not exactly equal to good exam results (i.e psle results). So dsa thru academics domain should not be done away with. Isn't that the reason why GEPers were mostly given DSA offers even though their psle results may not be the top? Maybe I am wrong.

PSLE does reflect certain degree of competency academically BUT not totally. Girls tend to perform slightly if not far more better than boys and as the years go by-the boys take over. Deciding totally on Academics like PSLE exams would definitely will be a great loss for many who are late bloomers. In IP schools many things change in 6 years time. The top scores in PSLE will be nothing to shout about in A'level and Undergraduate studies in Universities. It is usually the average or above average students who go on to do well in studies in later life. An Example: Singapore boasts some of the best students and teaching methods for school Maths and Science BUT have we produced any tangible results at International level like Nobel prizes or Scientific breakthroughs.How many local students do actually study for PHDs. Most are imported and assume Singapore IDs.This is something to think about. The DSA recruiters are actually trained by MOE to identify potential in all fields and recruit them before they are lost among the masses because of the system which constantly needs upgrading.[/quote]

I don't share your view on importing PHD, it is not just SG alone, all over the world, in any country, what is the PHD % of the population? ratio & % almost similar, if you look at US or western countries, do you think all doing PHD there are local ppl ? the answer is NO Way! it is us, ppl from all over the world go there to do PHD, and many chose to stay and not return to their homeland….. :xedfingers: If u look at India & CHina, the % of PHD vs entire population is even more minute!

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                        PiggyLalala

Let me make an analogy. There's a double yellow line drawn outside your home. You park there everyday despite knowing it's against the law but the LTA has always closed one eye and has never booked you. One day, LTA decides to book you. Is it unfair? No. Because it's against the law, just that they never enforced it.

Yes, LTA has the right to book us. But would we be angry? I think it is a yes for most people.

Since it has been a common practice for schools to entertain dsa appeals in the past few years, it is not right for MOE to prohibit DSA transfers between schools completely this year. Parents made their decisions based on the past years experience and hence any changes to the 'common practice/belief' must be made known clearly to the parents and students. I believed that the MOE has not done so in this case though i may be wrong since I do not have any P6 kid this year.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 31