All About GEP
vlim:
Still so much work. Sounds more like full blown hurricane than a \"breeze\" leh...
When my ds was in p5, last yr, a few parents here said tt p6 gep is a breeze... But no le ... As they have ct1 in march and SA in may plus various English assignment,Ss portfolio , maths assignment ... So it was very busy in 1st and 2 Nd termHerbie:
hi vlim,
How's P6 Gep like?? is it tough?
.. But I feel relief after his p6 sa1 exam as tt is the last gep exam
... I feel tt p6 science got lots more things to study such as adaption which is part of mainstream curriculum also .... The rest of the subjects are abt the same as p5 lor .
For Ss they have to do 2 portfolio whereby they have to choose their own topics.... Need quite a fair bit of write out with simple survey etc etc.. But with p4 and p5 Ss portfolio experiences... They shouldn't have much problem with it also with the teacher guidance .. -
MotherHen:
:rotflmao: ...maybe for kids tt take things easy but not for my ds and me
Still so much work. Sounds more like full blown hurricane than a \"breeze\" leh...vlim:
When my ds was in p5, last yr, a few parents here said tt p6 gep is a breeze... But no le ... As they have ct1 in march and SA in may plus various English assignment,Ss portfolio , maths assignment ... So it was very busy in 1st and 2 Nd term
.. But I feel relief after his p6 sa1 exam as tt is the last gep exam
... I feel tt p6 science got lots more things to study such as adaption which is part of mainstream curriculum also .... The rest of the subjects are abt the same as p5 lor .
For Ss they have to do 2 portfolio whereby they have to choose their own topics.... Need quite a fair bit of write out with simple survey etc etc.. But with p4 and p5 Ss portfolio experiences... They shouldn't have much problem with it also with the teacher guidance ..
KSP:
Alamak, KSP, u didn't get my msg huh?
perhaps can start a poll here to find out how many parents and child are both from GEP.....Way2GO:
GEP was only implemented from 1984.
GEP only started in 1984, if both parents n child was/is in GEP,
then GEP parents will be too shy to identify themselves liao
u know wat I mean? :evil:
may be the breeze has tranformed ino hurricane over the years. I hope it will be downgraded to breeze again for next year.
Herbie:
may be the breeze has tranformed ino hurricane over the years. I hope it will be downgraded to breeze again for next year.
must check with the moe gep branch weather forcast then..
MotherHen:
You space out, I got headache after reading 3 to 4 times & a few pages somemore. Still can't answer some of the questions. I wonder what they (GEP dept) hope to achieve. Try to kill some of these kids' passion for learning!? Not all kids like this type of dry materials/topics. Or is it I am out of touch?
That's wonderful! It's always a happy thing to see improvement. Let's all jiayou together!Herbie:
Hi motherhen, i hv given up on gep's compre liao, the topic given is just so 'dry'.
Thankfully, dd did ok for the recent eng ct and her hmt has also improved slightly as compared to last semester.

Yah talk about dry topics for compre. I usually start to space out about one-third into the passage. Mid-way through I already have no idea what the passage is all about. I really feel sorry for the students who have to read through the whole passage.... The thought of it is enough to make me cry.
vlim:
:rotflmao: ...maybe for kids tt take things easy

that's my kid and me!! :rotflmao: -
Herbie:
Nowaday, it is very difficult to find one that doesn't play any instruments at all. Pardon me hor, the people I happen to bump into/know are in enrichment centres, mom waiting for kids from school, dd's classmates,hb's friends' kids, relatives' kids. Emm..... sound quite alot now.Actually, i noticed tat my dd's ge friends quite a high percentage of them do learn to play musical instruments,
So may playing instrument also helps in brain development. -
so are you the one who mentioned tt p6 gep is a breeze..vlim:
:rotflmao: ...maybe for kids tt take things easy

that's my kid and me!! :rotflmao:
Herbie:
I tot so too. She can study ahead of others, she has more 'practice papers to try. On top of tat, i heard she has two maths tutos.Flowermonaster:
[quote=\"comfy\"]now I really don't understand this mom. why must younger dd perform better than jie jie. Sometimes I wonder how parents can produce two gifted kids. It is interesting to know.
Could it be the younger one can refer her jie jie's notes & work so her mom have higher expectation? Just a wild guess.
Even if she can do so, they are both different individual with different strength & personality so how to compare? :?
:yikes:[/quote]Now you mention this, I think if u have a elder gep sibling, it is to the younger advantage. There are sort of past yr papers to practise and hence less stress for parents/younger kid. You know it kind of seems unfair to those kids who don't have any 'past' paper to practise hence parents have to go round searching for similar kind of questions. But never mind, this is how the system work and learn from it. Hope that is doen't sound like 'sour grapes'. :siam:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.