All About GEP
syshi:
If all parents don't teach( about 25 pupils in your kid's class?), the children results will be a good reflection of the tr. When HOD check the children's work this tr will kena right? But if parents continue to teach and yet no way to feedback coz worried get black listed. then the tr will continue doing so.
Ex. whole number. Just asked them to do the worksheet without explaining the concept. Also on the prime number. Asked them to go through the worksheet without explaining. End up I did the explanation to him myself. At first did not believe my DS that the teacher did not teach them. Only after I heard from another parents from neighbor class giving the same feedback.
. -
the teacher teaching both classes = 52 boys. But some of them might have their own 'training' at home. Also don't dare to take risk to jeopardize my DS' s Math...
Zann:
If all parents don't teach( about 25 pupils in your kid's class?), the children results will be a good reflection of the tr. When HOD check the children's work this tr will kena right? But if parents continue to teach and yet no way to feedback coz worried get black listed. then the tr will continue doing so.syshi:
Ex. whole number. Just asked them to do the worksheet without explaining the concept. Also on the prime number. Asked them to go through the worksheet without explaining. End up I did the explanation to him myself. At first did not believe my DS that the teacher did not teach them. Only after I heard from another parents from neighbor class giving the same feedback.
. -
Bronzy:
ningy:
my dd1 was selected for GEP; her 2 cousins (not sibblings) were also GEPers. so keep my fingers crossed, my dd2 is now in P1 and we are all wondering if she will follow the \"tradition\". guess she'll feel the stress when her turn comes. but my dh not too optimistic leh, this dd2 is carefree and careless with a lazy attitude.
My dd was, and still is, rather carefree and careless and has a tendency to be lazy! So you never know!
I used to hear people said that GEP is only suitable for those who are very self motivated and independent type of kids coz there are a lot of works and projects to do. Therefore when knowing my child was selected I was quite worried. He used to get negative feedback for not working hard or paying attention in class. The day when he received his yellow envelope, the first advice he got from his tr was that ,\" Must work hard ah ,...\" . But I seem to see his change after joining. Be more keen in his learning and do his work on his own quietly. Perhaps the topics of learning catch his interest now. -
Neko:
I think I would go with High Ability Learner although I believe that is the the term used to refer to those who did well but did not qualify for GEP.
your dd sounds exactly like mine ! my dd even mused that she's prob the 566th one who got into GEP.
I sometimes wonder what exactly dd is gifted in. She topped the std in her former school but that does not make her 'gifted' rite ? I read and hear about kids who are very good in Art/Music/Maths/Sports ... but my dd is not good in any of these. There isn't anythg particularly outstanding abt her.
What exactly does 'gifted' mean ? Prodigy ? high abiity learner ? hmm .. 'gifted' sounds a little elitist ...
still, I must acknowledge the GE prog is really interesting. so far dd is very happy in her new school (esp with the canteen food!) and seems to be coping. Not much hw and she has a lot of time to play and laze around.
My DD also not outstanding in any particular subject. Was not top of the cohort at her previous school either - prob among the lower of the top 10%. But she does enjoy it - no longer complains about being bored as she used to in P1 - P3. Although she does sometime wistfully reminisce about how she used to be able to finish all her homework at school before. Came home one day rather excited because her new friends actually knew what she was talking about and were interested when she mentioned the bombing at Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Her circle of friends at her previous school used to get bored and try to change the subject. That was the first sign that maybe she did belong after all....
By the way, my DD's favourite subjects were, and still are, .......................Recess and PE! -
Neko:
Judging by the nature of the tests, the MOE functional definition of gifted is those demonstrating an ability to understand chim english (eng test), good reasoning with IQ questions & relationships between ideas (general reasoning) or ability to handle non routine mathematical puzzles (math test). All this might just translate to high ability learner...
I sometimes wonder what exactly dd is gifted in. She topped the std in her former school but that does not make her 'gifted' rite ? I read and hear about kids who are very good in Art/Music/Maths/Sports ... but my dd is not good in any of these. There isn't anythg particularly outstanding abt her.
What exactly does 'gifted' mean ? Prodigy ? high abiity learner ? hmm .. 'gifted' sounds a little elitist ... -
[quote=\"CoffeeCat
Judging by the nature of the tests, the MOE functional definition of gifted is those demonstrating an ability to understand chim english (eng test), good reasoning with IQ questions & relationships between ideas (general reasoning) or ability to handle non routine mathematical puzzles (math test). All this might just translate to high ability learner...[/quote]
But then some top top students did not get in and some being perceived as 'lazy' students got in, leh ... Yes, there are many kind of 'giftedness' and our GEP screening is just focusing on one aspect and what our gahmen want to allocate the money in school education. For arts aspect, today, parents have to put in a lot of :moneyflies: -
vlim:
Thanks for your advice.Hi ksp,
the first gep screening test is somewhere before or after ca2, so by preparing for ca2 it somehow 'warm up' the kid brain also for the test... u can also let your kid try a few of the olypmic maths sum which u can bought it at bookstore like Popular..again to warm up your child mathematical brain..but not sure whether it works or not but at least your child has something to work on...for English I think he got to like reading story books which means most likely he will be able to understand 'tricky' or difficult passages. As for general ability test, u may like to google search abt it..u may have a rough idea how it look like but it most likely not the same as what the kid would be taking ......
Bronzy:
... I think I would go with High Ability Learner ...
I totally agreed with you. Those GEPer are High Ability Learners. Maybe one or two are really geniues. -
KSP:
For the general reasoning section i recommend finding IQ questions (along the line of MENSA). Stuff like finding the next object in a sequence, looking for patterns or analogies (like word a is to word b as word c is to ___).
I'm thinking along the line of just give my child some help. -
KSP:
It is interesting to note that On the MOE website they have identified this subset of geppers called Exceptionally gifted. Those are the ones that probably become the top in their respective domains(like international academic olympiads) in the future.
Those GEPer are High Ability Learners. Maybe one or two are really geniues.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.