Lunch

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    1.8k Posts 65 Posters 999.8k Views 1 Watching
      vinegar

the brand is Por Kwan. I bot from those small grocery shop next to wet market,can’t find it from supermkt.Another brand is Hollyfarm,which is available in ntuc or Sheng Shiong.

I bot fresh lemongrass from wet mkt,sometx buy it fr. Sheng Shiong or ntuc.If u like ginger,u can shred the ginger n fry it together wf lemongrass,garlic n onion.Remember to "smash" the lemongrass n ginger b4 cutting it,to release its aroma.

Sometx,when i lazy,i just throw everything without frying it.

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/20130317_121516_zpsc3e5b906.jpg\">

Crab & fresh vege. Garlic butter version for DD. Original for us.

Funz, what type of crab did you cook? Does not look like mud crab. Is it snow crab?

Alaskan king crab. They come frozen & cooked.

TheAnswer

vinegar:
          the brand is Por Kwan. I bot from those small grocery shop next to wet market,can't find it from supermkt.Another brand is Hollyfarm,which is available in ntuc or Sheng Shiong.

I bot fresh lemongrass from wet mkt,sometx buy it fr. Sheng Shiong or ntuc.If u like ginger,u can shred the ginger n fry it together wf lemongrass,garlic n onion.Remember to \"smash\" the lemongrass n ginger b4 cutting it,to release its aroma.

Sometx,when i lazy,i just throw everything without frying it.
          Thanks. Will try it soon.

Cooked Phad Thai Noodles for today. πŸ˜‰

Pictures later tonite ya?
            Going for a swim with hubs and the kiddies now!

Ta ta! :imanisland:

Still waiting for your baked fish recipe hor, dun forget :please:

Okie dokie.. I didn't forget. πŸ˜„

Aniwaes, here is the Phad Thai Chicken Noodle from today. πŸ˜‰

http://i48.tinypic.com/bh100i.jpg\">

Alaskan king crab.

I was going to comment that those crabs looked big and expensive, confirm not those mud or local types. πŸ˜‰

Funz, garlic+butter version sounds nice. For the rest of you, do you eat them in the original version with rice or just on their own, with those veggies pictured?

Now... finally can sit down to share the Part 2 of the Butter Rice and Baked Fish. πŸ˜„ Just breastfed the boys and they are now sated, fast asleep. For those who missed out on Part 1 : Butter Rice Recipe, go to this link. > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=970652#p970652

This complete meal is so easy to prepare and cook, and in under an hour as long as you have all the ingredients ready. There was also very few dishes to wash post-cooking as only baking was done. The only thing to wash was perhaps the pan and spatula/spoon to melt the butter and garlic + the baking tray and that's that. πŸ˜„ The oven just needs a clean swipe. Done. Easy enough for mom or dad to make a complete meal all on their own! Try it!

Remember that 2 thirds of butter left from making the butter rice that i mentioned earlier? Well, use that to massage your fish together with olive oil and this powderfully packed spices - Mc Cormick Grill Mates Spicy Montreal Steak. I had Canola Oil so I didn't purchase the olive oil as per \"R's\" actual recipe but I got the exact spice from the racks at Cold Storage for abour $6.25, I think? :skeptical: Can't remember the exact price. :oops: Oh yes, \"R\" went for the non-spicy one while I definitely went for the same one \"R\" recommended except I opted for the spicy version. No regrets. Nuh-uh. :please:

http://i47.tinypic.com/157og2.jpg\">

I initially bought the Toman Fish Fillet because it was on offer.. Yah! Like $2+ nia! ... and because the fish slicing and cleaning expert at Cold Storage went home already. I wasn't in the mood to battle any fish that day since I was out with the boys since morning. I got a fab deal for both the Toman Fish Fillet I bought that day. It was nicely meaty, fresh, bone-less (a plus as it was easier for the babies to eat them as well) and really no frills during preparation.

http://i48.tinypic.com/29zr0ww.jpg\">

For the second try, I bought seabass $7.90 each for two big ones! Yet another fab deal. Yup, plus all cleaned and sliced nicely. But massaging this fish that day gave me some pokes on my fingers and I had to be extra careful with the bones when setting aside some portions for the babies. It looked like this after all the make up was done. πŸ˜† Some makeover, uh? Delicious makeover hor... :drool:

http://i50.tinypic.com/mkwydf.jpg\">

But the taste was just as deeeeelicious as the Toman Fish Fillet. The outside/skin will be nicely spiced and crispy and really soft inside. Bake the fish for about 30 mins to 45 mins depending on the size of the fish... how big/small and how thin/thick the fish is... oh yes, under about 170-180 degrees heat.

http://i47.tinypic.com/dq5bax.jpg\">

My friend said ask for it to be cut - butterfly pattern; so that when it's nicely done/baked it can sit/stand up like how they do it in the restaurants - flying fish. But mine refused to fly. πŸ˜› I have yet to ask her what I may have done wrong.. hmmm... :idea:

The Butter Rice plus this Baked Fish took under an hour to prepare and cook... ready to serve the family... yes, literally fresh from the oven. :drool: It was a hit with the kids and of course I totally scored extra points with the husband. Buds_hubs rang to say he was on the way home and was hungry, he asked what's for dinner and I only said, \"It's a surprise.\" He lapped it all up (clean!) in mere minutes. He even ate all the veggies! :shock: Yes, including the broccoli! Yeah... That good... :evil: Oh yah! Forgot to letcha guys in on the veggie preps. Here was how I did mine.. it was finger lickin' gooooood. :drool: I love crunchy vegetables! And put-leeez.. who can deny baked potatoes, aye? :evil:

http://i50.tinypic.com/2a45g0.jpg\">

Pick all the veggies you know and love and bake them with the butter + spice spillage/flood from when you baked your fish under the same heat, with a dash of Knorr's chicken stock but of course baked for less the duration taken... also depending on your preferred degree of crunchiness. Put the broccoli in last if you like them served/eaten crunchy. If you wanna cut down on the time taken to serve the complete meal, then simply pour out the extra spillage onto a pan, throw in the veggies of choice, sprinkle/pour just a little chicken stock powder/broth over the veggies and stir fry like you do the normal stir-fried veg.

The freshly Baked Fish + Veggies are now ready to eat.

http://i50.tinypic.com/1zbxxro.jpg\">

Enjoy!

Harlequin

[quote=\"buds\"]Cooked Phad Thai Noodles for today. πŸ˜‰

Pictures later tonite ya?
                  Going for a swim with hubs and the kiddies now!

Ta ta! :imanisland:

Still waiting for your baked fish recipe hor, dun forget :please:

Okie dokie.. I didn't forget. πŸ˜„

Aniwaes, here is the Phad Thai Chicken Noodle from today. πŸ˜‰

http://i48.tinypic.com/bh100i.jpg\">[/quote]Buds, you are amazing! I love Phad Thai and Phad Siyou! :love:
                  Can share the recipe, pleeeeeeeeease... :thankyou:

Harlequin

BTW, there is a steam fish dish from my granny time, the teochew style--- steam fish top with lots of fragrantly fried minced chai poh.... Anyone remember that?

Yum yum! :please:

I love Phad Thai too, Harlequin! Nothing beats the one eaten in Thailand, of course. πŸ˜‰ I had my Phad Thai in a cracker-bowl-i-could-eat! It was superdee-delicious! Yes, like eating special keropok with the noodles. Man.. that was an experience. Their portions were also generous. :please:

Ok, will share recipe. No problem. πŸ˜‰

Harlequin

Also BTW… how to upload pictures directly from iPhone’s Camera Roll (picture files)?

I tried, but failed…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 180

u88networrkU
                        u88networrk