Lunch

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    1.8k Posts 65 Posters 999.8k Views 1 Watching
    • JenniferJ Offline
      Jennifer

vinegar:

jennifer,

thanks for sharing ur recipe. Will try it out tmr.

May i know what type of bananas did u grill? Del monte or those smaller ones?

The small local bananas.

I did not really grill the bananas. Left them on the pan, the residual heat warmed them.

I made shepherd pie for tonight's dinner. After removing the casserole and switching off the power, I left 3 unpeeled bananas in the oven.

At the end of dinner, these bananas have put on black skin :rotflmao: the insides were so soft and sweet. YUM YUM

Jennifer, the lamb chops look succulent. I don't eat lamb chops but hubs does. Might just try your quick fix one of these days and letcha know how's the feedback from boss is like. šŸ˜‰

Btw, no picture for the bananas? šŸ˜‚

Another lil dessert you can try is banana dessert pizza, like those from Pastamania. I have done up once with instant prata with raving feedback from the children.

Ingredients

Banana (small ones called pisang mas)
          Butter
          Sugar
          Cheese (if you like)
          Chocolate shavings

The base : Instant prata.. prepared pizza crust.. normal bread also can.

Spread butter over the pan till it sizzles slightly and place the base of your choice over it. Place sliced bananas over the butter and sprinkle the sugar (to taste). If you have an oven or toaster, scrap the pan thingy... just pop it into the oven. If not you can choose to flip your dessert over to caramelize the bananas (or not - up to you). If you have Happy Call no issues. šŸ˜‰

Sprinkle grated cheese and chocolate shavings, (you can just grate them if you have these in chunks or whatever is in the fridge). If you have ice cream, can always add a scoop for happiness. :please:

• JenniferJ Offline
            Jennifer

Another lil dessert you can try is banana dessert pizza, like those from Pastamania. I have done up once with instant prata with raving feedback from the children.

Ingredients

Butter
            Sugar
            Cheese (if you like)
            Chocolate shavings

Spread butter over the pan till it sizzles slightly and place the base of your choice over it. Place sliced bananas over the butter and sprinkle the sugar (to taste). If you have an oven or toaster, scrap the pan thingy... just pop it into the oven. If not you can choose to flip your dessert over to caramelize the bananas (or not - up to you). If you have Happy Call no issues. šŸ˜‰

Sprinkle grated cheese and chocolate shavings, (you can just grate them if you have these in chunks or whatever is in the fridge). If you have ice cream, can always add a scoop for happiness. :please:
            wahpiang - sounds so devil-delicious - can pic myself wolving down them now šŸ˜‚

ice cream - I have now leh :rahrah:

Bananas - no more leh 😢 sandwich with white bread this morning breakfast.

I find the local small bananas not always available in the mkt, why ah?

• JenniferJ Offline
              Jennifer

I tried cooking Indonesian curry veg for ytd lunch using the Asian Home Gourment premix.

I added long beans, carrot, turnip, tau pok, lady fingers and tomato.

Had it for ytd lunch n dinner, just finished the last bit for today's lunch.

Satisfied šŸ•ŗ

I tried cooking Indonesian curry veg for ytd lunch using the Asian Home Gourment premix.

I added long beans, carrot, turnip, tau pok, lady fingers and tomato.

Had it for ytd lunch n dinner, just finished the last bit for today's lunch.

Satisfied šŸ•ŗ
                Oh woweeee... this sounds yummmeeee! :drool:

Must try! Thanks for sharing... :please:

Butter Rice recipe coming up... :rubhands:

Ingredients

Butter
                  Sugar
                  Cheese (if you like)
                  Chocolate shavings

wahpiang - sounds so devil-delicious - can pic myself wolving down them now šŸ˜‚

ice cream - I have now leh :rahrah:

Bananas - no more leh 😢 sandwich with white bread this morning breakfast.

Issit? When i was in the west, i normally go Limbang market or Yew Tee market, normally have leh.. In Bt Timah Plaza Finest won't have but alternative is the Pele (or issit Pete) Bananas that they sell in a small plastic but costly for bananas and very few in a bunch/plastic. Like not worth it. 🤷

The big Del Monte types won't be as sweet. Can sprinkle more sugar over them when making the banana dessert if really cannot find.

• FunzF Offline
                    Funz

How do you all maintain you weight while eating like that? Lamb chops, nasi lemak, Shepherd's pie, sayur lodeh. :drool: Plus dessert summore.

I am damn envious. I run almost daily, not a big carbo fan, but yet weight keeps climbing. Haiz.

As a busy mom of four, I look to quick fix meals or one-dish meals for the family. While the cooking may be quick, it does not mean that the taste is compromised. So, in the spirit of encouraging other fellow moms to enjoy cooking for their family and for their family to enjoy home-cooked food, I will try to share some of my family's favourite quick fix meals with all other moms... and dads too! Enjoy!

PS. If you have tried any of them, do leave your feedback for the rest of us, yeah? :please:

One of our latest favourite is the Butter Rice with Baked Fish Meal pictured below. Compliments to an acquaintance of mine, \"R\" for generously sharing this recipe. :love:

http://i45.tinypic.com/207nd5u.jpg\">

This is the Basmati Rice i use for cooking savory-type rice like nasi lemak, butter rice, tomato rice and even for the occasional simple briyani-like rice.

http://i49.tinypic.com/2prxu1z.jpg\">

The rice grains are longer and they smell heavenly fragrant even when cooked/served as plain rice. The trick to cooking with basmati rice is to soak it first. Yup.. about 15 minutes. But if you have only 5-10 minutes still ok. As long as it gets some soak-time.

To make the butter rice you just need garlic and butter. Yup, just garlic and butter. I used this brand.

http://i46.tinypic.com/6syo95.jpg\">

$4.75 from Prime Supermarket or $5.15 from Cold Storage.

DD2 bought this (butter) on her way back home one of the days this week; asking for the encore of my successful first try on the Butter Rice sometime back.

I used this much (butter) for the rice. The small portion on the right. So about a one-third portion yah? I cooked about 3 cups of rice this time.

http://i46.tinypic.com/9av0bl.jpg\">

The remainder i used to massage the fish.

Heat a small pan. Add the portioned butter with blended garlic. If you don't have blended ones, i suppose no problem with chopped garlic or even sliced ones. When the rich aromatic smell of melted butter (like you are baking cookies comes up) and before the garlic turns brown, add hot water and turn off the fire. Pour into the rice pot with the basmati rice that was already soaked for btwn 5 to 15 minutes and washed. Since i used 3 cups of rice, the water level for my old rice cooker was put to about the number 5 mark. Slightly more water to cook basmati rice. So for new pots that can cook on the dot you + 1.5 for water... and for old rice cookers like mine + 2 for water over the number of cups of rice.

If you'd like some veg or some colour in your butter rice, pour some mixed veggies slightly before you turn off the fire when melting your butter in the pan... just enough to melt the ice. Yes, no need to thaw the veggies in advance. If you prefer to thaw then just add into the pot when the melted butter is done. No need to cook it. We like this brand as it has the cut long beans in them.

http://i47.tinypic.com/29z8r3n.jpg\">

As this butter i used was already the 'salted' one, it's not necessary to add more salt. But if you prefer to add according to your taste, by all means go ahead. Use a small spoon to sample your melted butter+garlic+water portion in the rice cooker and consider if more salt is needed/wanted for your rice as to how you and your family likes it done. Add in the salt before you press the cook button.

It should smell super-dee fragrant as heck while it is cooking and would look like this once it is cooked.

http://i50.tinypic.com/11qpzz4.jpg\">

The butter rice should be soft and delicious smelling and the veggies softly cooked as well; not mashed up.

I'll follow up with the Baked Fish next...

http://i47.tinypic.com/dr6lnk.jpg\">

But a bit later as the boys are already up.

• JenniferJ Offline
                        Jennifer

Issit? When i was in the west, i normally go Limbang market or Yew Tee market, normally have leh.. In Bt Timah Plaza Finest won't have but alternative is the Pele (or issit Pete) Bananas that they sell in a small plastic but costly for bananas and very few in a bunch/plastic. Like not worth it. 🤷

The big Del Monte types won't be as sweet. Can sprinkle more sugar over them when making the banana dessert if really cannot find.

I get the feeling that that plastic bag of bananas (sold at NTUC) is not naturally ripened- sometimes not sweet at all although the skin has black dots.

I hv not eaten a Del Monte banana for years liao, really dun like them.

My favourite is pisang raja - also hard to find n very expensive. The fruits stall seller told me these are supplied to the goreng pisang stalls.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 20 / 180