Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level

526 Posts 47 Posters 114.5k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

doodbug:

[quote=\"doodbug\"]
      wow...very admirable the type of dedication mamas have these days, to help kids with CA1. Kids with parents who can and care enough to coach are very fortunate.

It's actually 'cos beanbear's kid flunked Math all of last year.

Sigh. Yeah, it's kinda sad, that some children who are conscientiously completing their homework and revising their textbooks, are not able to cope with school exams and tests. No choice but to molly-coddle and mould the kiddoes![/quote]That's why we are making noise lor...

Chenonceau

DS’ ex-Kumon teacher told me yesterday that many of her Kumon students stay in the neighbouring 3 and 4 room flats. On average according to her, these people spend $1500 a month on tuition. This is a big chunk of income on kids’ education for families who stay in 4-room HDB.

Education in Singapore is not free if you’re in mainstream. Classes are 40. Teachers teach more classes each. They have to write their own resources. They have no time for our kids. So, we need to either teach at home… OR we get tutors. The very poor have access to free tuition. The very rich can afford TLL. The GEP get special teaching. The masses in the middle are squeezed.

Sounds familiar? Happens in housing… in healthcare… in unemployment.

Janet, relax... If already prepared just let go and let the child perform his best.

Not what I would describe as 'prepared'...he hasn't touched any CA1 paper at all. That is what worries me. Finishing school hw daily is an accomplishment already. :imdrowning:

It is true that finishing hw is already an accomplishment so I wish him all the best in his exams for his diligence to complete his hw... :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

Chenonceau

BeContented:

Ha ha...DH always comment.....his friend is already preparing their P5 kids for PSLE, how come I seem so relax?? 😉

Preparing for PSLE has different meaning for diff parents. To alot of parents here, it means PREPARING FOR ENTRY INTO RI/HCI!!! :evil:

Looks like yr son has a pretty list of CCAs....good for DSA!

No... to us, beanbear, I and Janet, it means not FAILING CA1... even the tiny tiny CA1. beanbear's DS flunked math all of last year. Janet's too. Mine flunked Chinese compo up till SA1. I'm relaxed now 'cos I know he won't fail.

I think... hope.

The view is very different when your kids aren't failing. At first, I thought my own DS was stupid. Now that I have taught him myself, I know he isn't more dumb than I am. He was failing because he was tested way beyond what the school taught. If you have no bandwidth to teach, at least provide the resources for self-study. But no... I had to buy these resources myself and beg them from parents in other schools for my son to self-study.

Specialized resources. We're unlucky. Some schools do provide these resources, written by their own Teachers. Parents in such schools can relax also.

KSP

bebe:

[quote=\"nani\"]Is cca complusory at primary school?

No... CCA is not compulsory in primary school. However, many parents like to strategise and pick the CCA for their child that will best beef up their portfolio in secondary school and for DSA. Secondary schools don't allow children to choose CCAs by interest alone. Kids are tested and screened and then put into the CCA, such that the school can use the best talent to win prizes.

Hence, you are more likely to get into the CCA of your choice in secondary school if you have been trained since primary school.

I thought CCA is compulsory at least for upper primary? No? CCA at lower primary is more of elective and parents can choose not to go for it.[/quote]I thought so too. But just realised dd's school CCA is not compulsory for GEPpers ONLY..... isn't it double standard? :?

KSP

BeContented:

Ha ha...DH always comment.....his friend is already preparing their P5 kids for PSLE, how come I seem so relax?? 😉

Preparing for PSLE has different meaning for diff parents. To alot of parents here, it means PREPARING FOR ENTRY INTO RI/HCI!!! :evil:

Looks like yr son has a pretty list of CCAs....good for DSA!

:hi5: Setting the right and achievable target is the most important. :celebrate:

Perhaps for most parents,
                1st choice RI/HCI/RGS/NYGH/NUSH
                2nd choice (aka last choice) any IP schools
                :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

• phankaoP Offline
                  phankao

KSP:
                  [quote]
                  I thought CCA is compulsory at least for upper primary? No? CCA at lower primary is more of elective and parents can choose not to go for it.
                  I thought so too. But just realised dd's school CCA is not compulsory for GEPpers ONLY..... isn't it double standard? :?[/quote]Since when is CCA compulsory in Primary school? Not under MOE guidelines definitely. Probably only requirement at individual schools.

KSP

DS' ex-Kumon teacher told me yesterday that many of her Kumon students stay in the neighbouring 3 and 4 room flats. On average according to her, these people spend $1500 a month on tuition. This is a big chunk of income on kids' education for families who stay in 4-room HDB.

Education in Singapore is not free if you're in mainstream. Classes are 40. Teachers teach more classes each. They have to write their own resources. They have no time for our kids. So, we need to either teach at home... OR we get tutors. The very poor have access to free tuition. The very rich can afford TLL. The GEP get special teaching. The masses in the middle are squeezed.

Sounds familiar? Happens in housing... in healthcare... in unemployment.
                    Not every family can affort 1k+ per month tuition. There are many home based tuition in the neighbourhood area charge $90 for 3 subjects (P1/2) and $120 for 4 subjects (P3 above).

It sounds like healthcare. There are gov polyclinics and private ones.

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

DS' ex-Kumon teacher told me yesterday that many of her Kumon students stay in the neighbouring 3 and 4 room flats. On average according to her, these people spend $1500 a month on tuition. This is a big chunk of income on kids' education for families who stay in 4-room HDB.

Education in Singapore is not free if you're in mainstream. Classes are 40. Teachers teach more classes each. They have to write their own resources. They have no time for our kids. So, we need to either teach at home... OR we get tutors. The very poor have access to free tuition. The very rich can afford TLL. The GEP get special teaching. The masses in the middle are squeezed..
                      But there are many kids who don't have tuition also, leh. Some kids don't even want to go bc they don't want more homework.

concern2

KSP:

[quote]
                        I thought CCA is compulsory at least for upper primary? No? CCA at lower primary is more of elective and parents can choose not to go for it.

I thought so too. But just realised dd's school CCA is not compulsory for GEPpers ONLY..... isn't it double standard? :?

Since when is CCA compulsory in Primary school? Not under MOE guidelines definitely. Probably only requirement at individual schools.[/quote]Some schools make CCA compulsory at certain level, but if the academic subjects fall behind, the \"compulsory\" does not apply anymore.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 42 / 53