GEP 2012 - Screening & Selection

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.3k Posts 191 Posters 375.5k Views 1 Watching
    • NebbermindN Offline
      Nebbermind

shine:

In GEP, you cannot close one eye...maybe OK for Common Tests but not so for SA. You must at least work abit harder coz getting 80+ is not as easy. So you have to really support and reassure your kid if she is easily affected by the less than stellar grades in GEP.

Yah, I'm worried about this part. She is quite sensitive by nature. She’ll be VERY happy and excited when she scored full marks in assessments. I sometimes have to tell her never mind lah, minus half mark/one mark only. Next time don’t make the same mistake again lor! If really go GEP, then STRESS for both of us! :slapshead:

It really depends on how we want to manage expectation and build a strong character.
      For me, we must always be aware of who we are measuring against. If u are already there among the creme, you should not have any self doubt.
      I think the bigger worry is to make sure their head donch get too BIG!!!

• NebbermindN Offline
        Nebbermind

FireflyMom:

However, don't you think the above is a little Ah Q? I've heard this from numerous friends and when I tried to console myself, I made myself believe in this too. Frankly, how many parents here can say that they really do not care about the outcome, the results? Really? You don't care if your child failed his/her project because someone in the group didn't do his/her job? And how many parents can embrace this attitude : Come, let me do most of the work in the project while the rest can slack because I want to be the most enriched and I have 48 hours a day!

Just for discussion. No offence to anyone..
        Hey! My moniker is Nebbermind for a reason 😆

shine

FireflyMom:

For yr end kids...I guess they will somehow manage...with a little bit more help from us!

My personal take of GEP is that it is not about the outcome, the results....it's about the process. So for those who free-ride/freeload...they are just missing out...who eventually gets to experience the enriching process? And you bring it along to the next phase.

Nebbermind, I appreciate your prompt reply. :thankyou:

However, don't you think the above is a little Ah Q? I've heard this from numerous friends and when I tried to console myself, I made myself believe in this too. Frankly, how many parents here can say that they really do not care about the outcome, the results? Really? You don't care if your child failed his/her project because someone in the group didn't do his/her job? And how many parents can embrace this attitude : Come, let me do most of the work in the project while the rest can slack because I want to be the most enriched and I have 48 hours a day!

I guess we’ll encounter more of such things in mainstream. My take is GEP parents are generally more kiasu, so less of such non-cooperative project members bah? 🤷

• NebbermindN Offline
            Nebbermind

shine:
            I guess we’ll encounter more of such things in mainstream. My take is GEP parents are generally more kiasu, so less of such non-cooperative project members bah? 🤷

have lah...have some that looks like ADHD, KLKK and gets nothing done!! 😉
            Btw, I donch remember having that many group projects...but the projects are usually quite interesting...no lacking in participation.

• comfyC Offline
              comfy

Hi Shine, I have been nodding my head as I read Nebbermind and Jtoh’s sharing. I can understand your concern because I only realised these much later on. Just questions that are related to your dd : What does your dd feel about GEP? Is she excited about it? Is she ok with changing school? Her personality (highly competitive or happy go lucky)?

To me, these are equally if not more important than just finding out what sort of work, projects, teachers etc.
              Just to highlight : Social Study is graded and this subject has a few projects that need to work in team (P4). So what Fireflymom said can happen, just need to deal with it (like working world). Importantly the kids will learn to give and take, negotiate with each other/teacher. The stress most likely is due to time constraint and logistic issues.

shine

shine:
                Another thing that makes me think twice about going GEP. She has quite a solid base in terms of popularity (many want to be her friends) in her current school. She’s like basking and enjoying herself in the limelight. I’m not sure how is she going to face a totally new environment in a new school. You see, I’ve got the experience of transferring school in P6 (due to moving house) and still feel the resentment whenever I think of it.

It was a TOTAL cultural shock, to the point that I decided to do just the minimum in terms of study. However miraculously, I still did very well in my studies and was one of the top scorers for PSLE! BUT, I didn’t enjoy my P6 year in another primary school at all. No, no, there wasn’t any bullying or anything of that sort. In fact, my classmates were very nice and welcoming. I even made some good/best friends. It was purely because of a totally new environment and culture that I didn’t like and it was very difficult to adjust to. That’s why I have my reservations about transferring to another school. She seems to take after my sensitive nature and I don’t want her to have the same kind of experience as me.

Any thoughts?
                Oh, just to add. During the mid-year PTM, FT thanked me for supporting my child academically. I was like errr :oops: , paiseh… didn’t particularly do anything special with her. I told the FT that she’s naturally like that. The FT seemed surprised, and said in that case, I should reinforce her natural ability by doing more with her (actually I didn't really know what she meant. Is it give her trainings? enrichments?).

Anyway, makes me feel guilty lah. Am I a selfish mum who wants less stress and more time for myself, rather than providing enough experiences/trainings to broaden and deepen my child’s academic pursuit? So, I’m in dilemma. Am I depriving my child a so-called enriching experience academically if we decide not to go for GEP?

But then, I’m also concerned about her emotional development, as mentioned in my previous post! :scratchhead: :?:

baobei

Just to add on.

There are some kids who just love to learn new things...but not sit-down exam type. They can get multiple CO for DSA despite not doing particularly well in SA coz they brains contain plenty that is beyond the classroom.

This is where the problem comes in. Some feel that they could do better remaining in mainstream. Close one eye also get Band 1...work abit harder and get A*.

In GEP, you cannot close one eye...maybe OK for Common Tests but not so for SA. You must at least work abit harder coz getting 80+ is not as easy. So you have to really support and reassure your kid if she is easily affected by the less than stellar grades in GEP.

Do you mean GEPers get different CAs and SAs questions compared to the mainstream?

dagong99

baobei:

Just to add on.

There are some kids who just love to learn new things...but not sit-down exam type. They can get multiple CO for DSA despite not doing particularly well in SA coz they brains contain plenty that is beyond the classroom.

This is where the problem comes in. Some feel that they could do better remaining in mainstream. Close one eye also get Band 1...work abit harder and get A*.

Do you mean GEPers get different CAs and SAs questions compared to the mainstream?

Yes, but all 9 GEP Centres will take the same GEP papers.

dagong99

FireflyMom:

For yr end kids...I guess they will somehow manage...with a little bit more help from us!

My personal take of GEP is that it is not about the outcome, the results....it's about the process. So for those who free-ride/freeload...they are just missing out...who eventually gets to experience the enriching process? And you bring it along to the next phase.

Nebbermind, I appreciate your prompt reply. :thankyou:

I think this is part & parcel of what we need to go through in life, just that the kids may be going through earlier now. There are bound to have 'parasites' (sorry for the harsh word) or \"black sheep\" who will 'cling and feed on' others.

To say I'm not upset and don't care about the results, I will be 骗你又骗自己. In fact, I was so upset :mad: once that I had called up the \"black sheep\" myself, telling him off that he was putting my DS in a disadvantage by not playing his part in the project. But on the other hand, I take this as a life learning experience for my kids and I always tell my kids \"It's either you learn to speak up for yourself or you have to work around the problem'.

However, the approach also depends on the child himself and the teacher. My DS1 will always give the person a second chance and will only take the last resort to complain to the teacher and if he is not unsuccessful in getting the 'parasite' off his back, he will work around by not including that person in his team the next time. DS2, on the other hand, will definitely speak up for himself if he feels that he is short-changed, I take it as good & bad but as long as he can resolve the issue himself & not getting into trouble, I'm ok.

Hopefully the kids can learn from such experiences which can be useful next time when they are out in the working world which I believe it's definitely more complex than that. Just my 2 cents thoughts ...
                      😉

• G Offline
                        gogoahead

my ds SA2 score is so poor and i cannot understand how come he can pass the GEP screening test…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 73 / 129