Perverts
hmm, I would think maybe to the second couple, shaking hands is culture shock to them as they dun do that to their friends??
dun think they are neurotic lah, just different ‘‘çulture’’… -
smurf:
so in relation to the scenerio where a magician touches a boy in performing a magic act, or a child is kissed by a non-relative adult as a social greeting, or given a pat on the head, or even a friendly hug, we should not be neurotic and think that everyone is a potential pervert.
dun think they are neurotic lah, just different ''çulture''...
Perverts never strike when the parents are around. Those that do, are not perverts, just retarded lol -
For the magician incident, smurf already stated upfront is OT.
So it it not about perverts, just wondering what parents think.
Personally, I feel it is only courteous for magicians to ask before grabbing, especially children. If he wants to be comical and tugs randomly at someone, an adult would be more appropriate.
If any magician grabs my child suddenly, I will tell him politely to request someone else as my child is not keen to participate if he fails to listen to my child. My child will not be delighted to be approached this way so it would not be fun to her. If the magician asks for participation, then it is up to my child to put up her hand to participate. There is no right or wrong, just a matter of personal comfort. I would not think people who are not comfortable to be neurotic either because everyone’s way of having fun is different. Also, especially for people who are passing by and not aware what is happening on the spot, such sudden actions can be a little intrusive. For these same reasons, US can come up with funny programmes like candid camera etc…to catch people unware and generate laughter at the expense sometimes of another person’s horrorm or shock… -
skunk:
Singapore Eurasian means Singaporean to me because foreigner ang mo to me means Caucasians. Now if he is Singaporean, regardless of race, should know the general culture. Only if within the family circle of close friends or relatives, if such family culture exists, then it should be known to all.
It just occured to me, would it have been better if i change the word \"angmo\" to \"Singaporean Eurasian\"? There seems to be a cultural baggage in SG, a sort of anti-white mindset....an aftermath from the Romanian incident ah LOLks2me:
I don't believe we have to do everything ang mos do in our own home, that is an intrusion of my lifestyle.
I regularly receive smacks on the cheeks from my Singaporean Eurasian friends, they are as Singaporean as u and I.
Apparently, in this case, the guy does not seem to culturally assimilate into the group, so gotta be sensitive lor. Just like some family culture is lovey dovey, every morning must smooch long time before can leave for work or school, but cannot expect our neighbours of different family culture to accept and watch us do this the whole morning, outside the house right?
skunk:
Just another very OT observation. :offtopic: The Chinese seems to be the most versatile people around because can be granularly classified as \"very Chinese\", \"quite Chinese\", \"not-so-Chinese or jia kantang\", or totally \"ang mo pai\" or even \"very Cantonese type\", \"very Teochew type\" , \"very sarong-party\" (this one more generic to all races???) etc....
The girlfriend looked embarressed and they quickly left lol. Anyway, the first guy is also the \"very chinese type\", if u know what i mean....
I hardly hear other races described this way....
\"very Malay type\"
\"very Indian type\"
\"very Italian type\"
\"very French type\"
very cute hor???
Am I wrong? Can other race forumers validate if it is also the same of other races and I am simply suah gu? :? -
u r indeed mountain tortoise LOL no offense hehe but i've heard it used many times....
I hardly hear other races described this way....
\"very Malay type\"
\"very Indian type\"
\"very Malay type\" is those people who display very typical/stereotypical Malay characteristics....like to go camping, play guitar, watch Suria and only Suria, listen to Siti Nurhaliza, and especially, speak with very \"pasar\" malay accent and words....syol lah LOL
\"very Indian type\" is those people who display very typical/stereotypical Indian characteristics....loves to wear many bangles all the time, not just during Indian festivals, always in ethnic dress, prefers to speak in mother tongue all the time rather than in English, knows every latest Bollywood/Kollywood film, movie and song by heart.....chewing betel nut (veteleh pake) is optional LOL
Of course all stereotypes may or may not be true, definitely no offense intended here
we're all more/less ethnic/globalised, depending on our background, isn't it?
Skunk, you don’t count because you are not other race la but I am ok to be suah gu cos my Malay n Indian friends never speak like that to me before leh…
Agree no intent to offend, just curious how culturally different we can be. -
Gayatri: U wanna go Zouk tonight?Skunk, you don't count because you are not other race la but I am ok to be suah gu cos my Malay n Indian friends never speak like that to me before leh....
Agree no intent to offend, just curious how culturally different we can be.
Durgesh: dowan lah, i want to go bhangra pub at little india
Gayatri: eeee why are u so indian wan LOL
Siti: Lets go to the library.
Norlinda: Dowan lah, i want to go to the beach and play guitar
Siti: eeee so \"mat\" LOL
Ah Kow: wanna go shopping?
Ah Lian: dowan lah, i want to go and play mahjong
Ah Kow: eeee so cheena wan lol
hehe all these heard often
But but but.....skunk you still not other race leh....

Tomorrow I go and check with my friends of different race. -
skunk:
Then like that I very cheena oso. I will definitely choose MJ over shopping.Ah Kow: wanna go shopping?
Ah Lian: dowan lah, i want to go and play mahjong
Ah Kow: eeee so cheena wan lol
hehe all these heard often
:? How did we get from pervert to how ethnic we are?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.