Is GEP really necessary?
anyway, hot-housing is like plastic surgery.
sooner or later, it’ll be apparent who did it.
hot-housing might produce kids who display ‘exceptional’ talent for a time, but ultimately life is not just abt pri school or even sec sch… -
HVR:
:goodpost:I think no doubt there are pupils who attended GEP prep course and are selected for GEP. I also think there are pupils who did not attend any prep course and are selected for GEP.
1) Nobody know for sure how many GEPers attended prep course and are selected for GEP.
2) Maybe regardless of attending the prep course or not, those who were eventually selected will be selected anyway?
3) Maybe regardless of attending the prep course or not, those who were not selected will not be selected anyway?
With no objective data, we are discussing as if those selected for GEP are those who attended prep course, or they outnumbered those who did not attend prep course. No reasonable and satisfactory conclusion can be made.
it would be interesting to see the results if there is a poll like this
-> Child attended GEP prep course and got in GEP
-> Child attended GEP prep course and didn't get in GEP
-> Child didn't attend GEP prep course and got in GEP
-> Child didn't attend GEP prep course and didn't get in GEP -
some people loves being interviewed
Donch like that part on interview.toddles:
how? like my suggestion or not?
We adults also donch like interview so why put these young kids thru it? Also, some of them may be 'thinkers' more than 'talkers', so u will also lose some truly gifted in this process.
sweeping statement, judging others by your own standard -
Edureach:
for example, like being a 'white horse' ? :evil: :evil:Once a kid reaches the interview stage, its no longer a test of academic ability. The main purpose is to assess the kid's other attributes that were not tested earlier.
That's why in unis that's such a thing as discretionary admission for applicants who did not make it thru academics but hve other outstanding achievements. -
whenever, people mentioned GEP, as a layman term we will think ‘wow, special treatment by the govt’, bright future lies ahead, etc…
I thought there is really special treatment since it is 1% of cohort such as white horse treatment in NS, scholarship throughout the whole education, top govt jobs are reserved for them, etc…
After finding out, No such treatment at all leh…
My friends were the first batch of GEP in 1984. One of them failed GCE O level in sec sch. Think half-way tyre punctured liao.
GEP programmes are mostly project basis right? easy lah…google search from computer can find all sort of information. Parents must help because some 10 yrs old kids’ cognitive skills are not fully matured. -
is it true, the army personnel looking whether the guy is GEP or not meh?
my friend’s son applied scholarship, failed the interview process. EQ is not up to standard.
I thought GEP students are well-rounded, who knows some of them do not possess natural EQ. It is a pity. -
Suz855:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao::goodpost: HVR, nice one!
Why do we want to fault parents that have deep pocket, besides the kids get to be enriched in the prep programme irregardless of whether they are selected .... Sour grapes :siam:
friendship:
GEP students have never been professed to be well rounded. Since when ? Who said so ?is it true, the army personnel looking whether the guy is GEP or not meh?
my friend's son applied scholarship, failed the interview process. EQ is not up to standard.
I thought GEP students are well-rounded, who knows some of them do not possess natural EQ. It is a pity. -
KSP:
:goodpost:
With no objective data, we are discussing as if those selected for GEP are those who attended prep course, or they outnumbered those who did not attend prep course. No reasonable and satisfactory conclusion can be made.
it would be interesting to see the results if there is a poll like this
-> Child attended GEP prep course and got in GEP
-> Child attended GEP prep course and didn't get in GEP
-> Child didn't attend GEP prep course and got in GEP
-> Child didn't attend GEP prep course and didn't get in GEP [/quote]
If all kids who attended the prep course got selected into GEP, then yes ,the prep course really works. However, from what I learn they don't promised you that they only tell you 80% went thru the screening test (but not selection test). Those who went thru selection test and got into GEP may just get in even without the prep course. As for screening test, most high ability class pupils will get thru anyway. -
friendship:
another myth
I thought GEP students are well-rounded, who knows some of them do not possess natural EQ. It is a pity.
some of the things that these kids say can also be very mean...they r just like any other kids....maybe be bit overclocked, that's all!!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.