Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 439.3k Views 1 Watching
    • NebbermindN Offline
      Nebbermind

Mychildren:
      Nebbermind,

Why u never claim the prize below:
      http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9693&start=6500

So now its been donated to Charity for good. :imcool:

ksi,
      I'm no loanshark but a busybody. 😉
      By the way, did u order too much liang teh to your warehouse & cannot clear them so need to do some promotion here?
      Perhaps you should promote in such a way buy 1 get 10 free!!! :idea:
      Come on! With the ksi makeover , u think I wld be in ksp forum at that time?

Melodies

Wow! Majority of two generations r geppers!! Looks like gene does run in the blood.

2ppaamm:

[quote=\"friendship\"]Hopefully the successful GEPers in their career and become a Minister. Please do not forget your parents generations like us.

Wonder if the person who says \"No amt of engineering can prevent it\" is GEP or not.. if it is.. then really is money down the drain for GEP training..

Hehehe... he is not, too old already lah, and don't need to anyway, but like majority of his two generations down are GEP. He is a great man but we're into 2 generations already hor? See them 如何走出富不过三代的怪圈.[/quote]

Melodies

Double posting

Melodies

Does anyone has info abt the backgrounds of geppers? I have observed some interesting phenomenon such as the wise oldman has many gepper grandchildren, TT's grandson, tsl's son n many other ministers' sons r geppers!! For a while, I thought the intake must b huge such that the r many many people around me have geppers kids. :yikes: Then, I realized that these r the people who r highly educated with phd or has previously excelled in academics or r rich or come from very well to do families.....hmmmm. Of cource, I can't make any conclusion for sure but just wondering.....

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

Melodies:
              Does anyone has info abt the backgrounds of geppers? I have observed some interesting phenomenon such as the wise oldman has many gepper grandchildren, TT's grandson, tsl's son n many other ministers' sons r geppers!! For a while, I thought the intake must b huge such that the r many many people around me have geppers kids. :yikes: Then, I realized that these r the people who r highly educated with phd or has previously excelled in academics or r rich or come from very well to do families.....hmmmm. Of cource, I can't make any conclusion for sure but just wondering.....

This is what we were told at the GEP briefing:
              \"Siblings fall within 5% of intelligence, and parents 10%\"

The Old Man believes that too, I remember more than 30 years ago, as a young undergrad, we signed a petition for him to retract the statement because in those days, most of us were from poor families. I agree to this to some extent, but not totally. There is a nurture aspect that was totally left out. With diligence and resources, we can make up for the nature. Plus, with that definition, it will mean that most GEPpers going forward will have GEPpers parents, but that will not be the case. Genes has a part to play, I believe, but definitely not entirely. Parenting and opportunities plays a huge, huge part as well. 🙂

Here's a research for you: http://www.gifteddevelopment.com/What_is_Gifted/learned.htm

Note the comment about IQ being asynchronous. 😉

friendship

Some ministers’ sons are GEPers har?

Don’t grow up like Drug boss, Fire boss, Justin Lee, LTA, PeiChun ex-principal, etc.

2011, 2016, 2021, 2016 (perhaps) some of them will run for General Election. Don’t land yourself like Aljunied GRC.

• 3 Offline
                  3Boys

The education ministry already gets almost as much funding as defence, and more than any other ministry (except defence) by a mile. Finland all that great? How sustainable do you think their model will be? Has their education system translated into a competitive advantage. Would love to see any data on that.

People forget there is an opportunity cost to everything, a dollar more for education is a dollar less for healthcare, or community development, or transport, all already receiving significantly less money than schools.

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

2ppaamm:

This is what we were told at the GEP briefing:
                    \"Siblings fall within 5% of intelligence, and parents 10%\"

The Old Man believes that too, I remember more than 30 years ago, as a young undergrad, we signed a petition for him to retract the statement because in those days, most of us were from poor families. I agree to this to some extent, but not totally. There is a nurture aspect that was totally left out. With diligence and resources, we can make up for the nature. Plus, with that definition, it will mean that most GEPpers going forward will have GEPpers parents, but that will not be the case. Genes has a part to play, I believe, but definitely not entirely. Parenting and opportunities plays a huge, huge part as well. 🙂

Here's a research for you: http://www.gifteddevelopment.com/What_is_Gifted/learned.htm

Note the comment about IQ being asynchronous. 😉
                    That's why some pri schools continue to perform well generations after generations...a mix of good genes, good home support, rich school heritage which allows them to see beyond themselves, ample peer pressure....etc

Puzz.06109.06109.06109zzle

Hi My dd just had her GEP test yesterday. Any one know how soon the result will be out? 2nd round will be on 16th oct. Who marks the papers?

Dnls_mum

That's why some pri schools continue to perform well generations after generations...a mix of good genes, good home support, rich school heritage which allows them to see beyond themselves, ample peer pressure....etc

I think so too.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 123 / 154