Is GEP really necessary?
2ppaamm:
You need $$$$ to pursue performing and visual arts. The schools won't be able to prepare the students well enough. It is all those professional teachers, renowned teachers. The bigger the dollar, the better guide you will get.
Same for sports...maybe less $$$ than those above. Even students who are in the reserves have their personal coaches outside otherwise cannot even sniff the school team. -
2ppaamm:
O goodness! Where did you get this data from? Singapore schools have since lacked far behind, but of course, we must not admit it.verykiasu2010:
[quote=\"jtoh\"]I would do away with PSLE. But wouldn't this add more pressure and stress to parents who feel it is imperative their child gets into a good school? Notwithstanding that all schools are good in Singapore? :evil:
all the schools are good in singapore (compared with some other countries), but no same good to all parents leh
[/quote]eh, compared with a village school in a remote mountain in Yunnan or Timbuktu or some village school in Congo, the singapore schools could be 100x better! admit it :evil: :evil:
some CCA like Tennis and golf are ex.
Parents must hv $ to spend on the child, before child can excel. is like … no $, no talk hor.
btw, is there any school that DSA via roller blading / skating ? -
I feel it is no point asking or discussing this topic among parents whose kids are P4 and above. Nothing much can or will change - for the mainstream will stay till P6, for GEP the parents are unlikely to pull their kids out unless they can’t cope. Different parents will share different views and some may be treated as sour grapes. The discussion should focus on those parents with kids in P1-P3 aiming for GEP. Get their feedback on why they want their child to get into GEP. Is it bcos of
1. DSA to elite Sec Sch
2. Learn together with other bright children in the same class
3. Learn advanced topics
4. Small class of 25
5. Labeled as Elite
… and so on
Privileges which GEP parents view as no big deal may be a big deal to these parents. Some of these parents spend thousands on prep courses. They are the demand of the market and obviously feel it is necessary. But when the result is out their perception will change. If you want to know why ppl are putting so much effort on it this should be the target group to ask.
This situation is like everyone holds a lottery ticket with a hope. When the result is out and for ppl who didn’t strike, "well, no big deal i can always get rich by doing something else." For ppl who strike, "well, $1m can’t even buy me a landed so what’s the big deal?" -
It used to be the top 0.5% of each cohort for the first 10 years or so. the joke is then it got \"diluted\"...
...so that would be the top __ percent har? :? Getting more and more prestigious liao :rubhands:Edureach:
For the benefit of all chosen for this programme, the actual number shld first be reduced to 200-250 pupils max. Undivided attention can than be given to the selected ones.
The above suggestion can help to significantly reduce those who are planning to attend the prep classes and may even ensure that more bona fide ones are chosen.
but anyway, yes, agree with the late bloomers thing, etc. Top now does not mean top later, does not mean top for life etc etc. -
KSP:
But how many will admit to hothousing their kids for GEP??Privileges which GEP parents view as no big deal may be a big deal to these parents. Some of these parents spend thousands on prep courses. They are the demand of the market and obviously feel it is necessary. But when the result is out their perception will change. If you want to know why ppl are putting so much effort on it this should be the target group to ask.
But how many will admit to hothousing their kids for GEP??KSP:
Privileges which GEP parents view as no big deal may be a big deal to these parents. Some of these parents spend thousands on prep courses. They are the demand of the market and obviously feel it is necessary. But when the result is out their perception will change. If you want to know why ppl are putting so much effort on it this should be the target group to ask.
Ha ha....this is so true
My friend with GEP kid.....during the first briefing, some parents started 'protesting' and voicing out about unfairness, about hothoused kids not being real GEP etc, asking for statistic/data/survey on kids who had been hothoused etc.
The principal kinda turn the whole situation around by asking the audience to raise their hands if they had hothouse/tuition/prep their kids. Then the principal flatly asked them who will honestly answer these survey and admit they had hothoused the child?? :censored: -
KSP:
If I could turn the clock back, I would certainly pay for hothousing just for the small class size alone. The problem is that the syllabus that originated in GEP trickled over to mainstream, but the teaching support and quality in mainstream could not support such a syllabus.
4. Small class of 25
Privileges which GEP parents view as no big deal may be a big deal to these parents. Some of these parents spend thousands on prep courses. They are the demand of the market and obviously feel it is necessary.
I would pay to hothouse into GEP and I would have no problems admitting to it. -
Wow, interesting. Never thought of it this way. Ok, so I still have time to start hothousing. :rubhands: Heading to Popular today for the GEP books.
If I could turn the clock back, I would certainly pay for hothousing just for the small class size alone. The problem is that the syllabus that originated in GEP trickled over to mainstream, but the teaching support and quality in mainstream could not support such a syllabus.KSP:
4. Small class of 25
Privileges which GEP parents view as no big deal may be a big deal to these parents. Some of these parents spend thousands on prep courses. They are the demand of the market and obviously feel it is necessary.
BeContented:
:rotflmao: What if tried but fail because kid simply refuse to be hothoused? Then should answer yes or no? \"I did hothouse, but it didn't work!\"The principal kinda turn the whole situation around by asking the audience to raise their hands if they had hothouse/tuition/prep their kids. Then the principal flatly asked them who will honestly answer these survey and admit they had hothoused the child?? :censored:
Problem is....statistics will not be accurate. There are many who will not admit esp. when it's not anonymous.
If I could turn the clock back, I would certainly pay for hothousing just for the small class size alone. The problem is that the syllabus that originated in GEP trickled over to mainstream, but the teaching support and quality in mainstream could not support such a syllabus.KSP:
4. Small class of 25
I would pay to hothouse into GEP and I would have no problems admitting to it.
:offtopic: Just sharing, I knew 2 mommies who complaint to me about their children's classmates/classmates' mother. Apparently, either claim no tuition OR refused to make known where they attend their enrichment......
I also personally met one who proudly claim that the child does not have tuition .... but later during one of our many conversations, I realised the child has been going to an aunt who coaches the child twice weekly for 2hourly sessions for the last few years. And that aunt is an ex-teacher/HOD giving tuition to others too......
Frankly I'm kinda amused.....why the need to hide?? Anyway, not my biz I guess.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.