Is GEP really necessary?
friendship:
Certainly, there must be more. If the GEP tests are correct, the President Scholar must be a GEPper every year, and every scholarship must be won by a GEPper. That's what all the grooming is about.why don't we look at the END product? meaning what are these 500 GEPers lead their lives?
I know the recent one of the recipient for President Scholarship is a GEPer.
Another thing... err.r.... I beg to differ about MOE being experts in giftedness. I am quite sure they know GEP, but definitely not giftedness. Personal experience, and they admit that to me themselves, at their highest level. They also know our GEP system cannot be compared with other gifted programs from overseas when highlighted to them, saying we don't have the same kind of resources, as there are too many (25) a class. But hor, overseas classes are also 25 leh...
vlim:
:rotflmao: vlim, I like your language!Ok ok ok ... About the qn about how can a std gep suit 500 gifted kids right ....... So I think huh back in abt 28 yrs ago when gep not started yet huh ... Maybe huh Someone in the gov said..,' I want to set up a gep to nurture our top 1% gifted kids and they must be alllllll rounder'....
Then B said ,' then how abt those half round?'.....
A said, ' then we set up a secondary school which specialize in Maths and Sci to take them in la... Those super pro one can take accelerated modules of the subject .......'........
B asked again, ' then how abt those find the gep still not challenging?'
A said, ' then bo bian lo, they got to out source lo .....'....
No lah, GEP selection criteria was not always like this. This current selection method has already been adulterated. It used to be just good in Math or English. Now they changed it because it is easier to teach. I tend to agree the old system made sense, since not everyone expects to be omni gifted. But you know, like all things good, they became bastardized. So what we have here is a watered down version of the initial intention. Time for a revamp... people at the top changed the original intention. Now, there seems to be a completely different objective, and not to nurture the talented.
But that explanation is not correct leh...
I see vlim has offered another approach to explain this, (n+1)th time. Check it out.Melodies:
Hi, tks for your patience to reiterate again, not that I didn't read that, I read that but no want can explain exactly why need to do this type of re-iteration to nth degree by having a standardized program for every GEPper. I'm saying of having a few drafts but I'm saying why there is a standardized program with everything are the same. Are they trying to make every GEPper to be Leonardo da Vinci by using the precision way? :yikes:

A child in my extended family (b. 1989) was chosen for Math alone and the parents were told specifically that he was chosen for Math.
My friend's daughter (b. 1988) was chosen for English alone, for she was an avid reader from 4 years old.
My student1 (b. 1986) was chosen for English and he told me he suffered because it is Math heavy, and classmate to our PM's son.
My student2 (b. 1989) was chosen for Math and he enjoyed the system.
My friend, who was the RGS Math HOD, told me it was impossible to teach those GEPpers who went through in English. These children pulled their class average down, and his KPI down. This current system makes sense, because it makes teaching much easier for teachers. I asked him how about those left out. He said, bo bian lor... teachers' interest must also be taken into consideration...
Not say, say only. Got proof one.
So the current selection DOES leave out all these children, so yes, I have to repeat myself again... hahaha. That the GEP does LEAVE OUT MANY, MANY gifted, and therefore, many, many HIGH ABILITY get in instead. NOTHING WRONG. Just different, MOE has chosen to nurture the High Ability and not the gifted. So be it.
Too bad for the country.
They are J2 classes. Those are the latest CT results. Actual class size is 23. You will know where they are from with the tell-tail sign of GEPers failing 2 subjects out of 5 and with just only 4 months to A level. Seasoned parents will not panic and know that everything will be fine in the end. First time parent with A-level kid will be hurting for the bestest tutor for their kid.
Sorry what class of 20 is this? Intermingling class? Tuition class or secondary class?
At A level, there is no T-score to pull down their grade and they can pick the subject of our choice. So the trend is more accurate. Those are only figures of 2 classes. However, if you hear the same kind of pattern for 3 different cohorts, you can roughly gauge - no statistic needed. -
Wah! So many pgs of exchange....so what's still the issue now? Gep die die must get > 260 for psle?
After 6 months and 80 pages, you are still running on the same spot mah...
firefly38:
Hehehe... how to have conclusion... in the kingdom of the blind, the one-eye jack thinks he is the king! Hahaha... problem is, everyone of us is a one-eye jack... also, people all have different perspectives.Nebbermind:
Wah! So many pgs of exchange....so what's still the issue now? Gep die die must get > 260 for psle?
After 6 months and 80 pages, you are still running on the same spot mah...
Yes, Yes, Dr ksi.. We know your ''TOP-less'' talent.. And we LOVE it...
This is what people cannot understand and it has been explained... it seems that people are so caught up in being top that everything is only measured by TOP. If TOP-less, then no GEP calibre.
btw, congrats osim, 90%+ is great all-rounder for GEP, even for mainstream is great.
:salute:
only 5 yrs in GEP. At 15 years old, these bunch will be back to normal routine meaning blended with mainstreamers. Canβt really see the difference in their career.
The oldest alumni should be 38 years old this year.
Some of them also holding the same job as Diploma holders such as engineers, senior managers, etc. -
2ppaamm:
there is no GEP hippo :evil: :evil: :evil:
:rotflmao: vlim, I like your language! -
dead horse might resurrect
I see vlim has offered another approach to explain this, (n+1)th time. Check it out.Melodies:
Hi, tks for your patience to reiterate again, not that I didn't read that, I read that but no want can explain exactly why need to do this type of re-iteration to nth degree by having a standardized program for every GEPper. I'm saying of having a few drafts but I'm saying why there is a standardized program with everything are the same. Are they trying to make every GEPper to be Leonardo da Vinci by using the precision way? :yikes:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.