Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 439.4k Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

Sun_2010:

LJ has good support of his sec school, so how come it becomes MOE's failure I dont see. Yes he was not talent spotted early on but once his calibre was known , he has been provided with good support.

the gripe here is not the support from NUSH, but before he enters NUSH

And also for kids with the same talent without the same parentage or chance to get into a good school after that. It is tragedy for them, no kidding.

Now for another story, and it is a very sad one. This is an absolutely talented boy, but he was from a poor family. Parents work day and night to ensure there's food on the table, and illiterate. They did not know to put him to tuition or a good school. To them, having him in a neighbourhood school is good because he can walk home himself at P1. The boy scored a full score at P1. At P2, he fell into bad company, and at P3, his results were still ok, but a far cry. Poor in English but excellent in Math.

He then went on to a neighbourhood school, of course, and a normal stream. In his Sec 1 class, he challenged the teacher on Math questions. His teacher knelt down on his knees (no kidding) and asked him to give him a break because he could not handle his questioning. This boy started to play truant frequently. He left school with an 'N' level cert. He is a blue collar worker, and recently in and out of IMH. The society lost a contributor it never recognized, and the parent lost a son.

This boy beat me in every subject at P1, and I was a top student. This boy beats me in everything - from chess to card games to everything we know as kids.

Gifted, but no opportunities, no parents' support. These, I know are not the concern of the society and the government. But it is wrong.

2ppaamm:

[quote=\"ruohoo97\"]
        Every coin has 2 sides right? You own a one-sided coin? Better keep, very valuable. šŸ˜‰

No one-sided coin, but the greenbacks are all one-sided. Not valuable these day, hor? Hehehe... but also must keep. :moneyflies: Now I am wondering.... how come the Americans have they notes printed this way...[/quote]greenbacks ? \"In God we trust!\" ...... all others pay cash please !

[quote=\"ruohoo97\"]
          Sadly, we don't have too many Da vinci today. I think our human being is de-evolution, instead evolution. :slapshead:

Because during Da vinci's time, no TV, no computer to distract him la...Modern day got Steve Job good enough already... mai tum sim... šŸ˜‰

Not so bleak la... usually so very talented people are not known when they are alive, they are better known when posthumous. If you know, da vinci live from 1452-1519. Only in 1528 then people label him as a genius until today... Best example was JS Bach....another great man for music, he was only known as great 100 years after his death...... So any conclusion this time? šŸ˜‰

good! like that I got hope! but then Dr Wolf Ksi got even greater hope .....sigh![/quote]Oi... come pat pat head... we give ourselves hope la.... šŸ˜‰ I can sprinkle some of mine to you... šŸ˜„

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e81/phoenixfm05/fairydust9bo6ws4qp.gif\">

• 2 Offline
            2ppaamm

Edureach:
            In NS, to get to know their mates, the following are some of the most common questions as far as jc cohort is concerned:

1. Which jc?
            2. What's your rank pt?
            3. Which uni and course, both local and overseas.

Among my ds' company which includes future doctors, lawyers, accountants, engineers, teachers, businessman, public servants etc, no one not a single one ever mention he hailed from gep.

His is an enhanced leadership batch which includes some of the top psle scorers and many from the dream schools that we parents hope our kids will study there.
            That should be the way! But your DS time no DSA advantage, right?

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

Rightly or wrongly... I had assumed that Lim Jeck owed his achievements to his parents. Why would the MOE claim credit for LJ's achievements in mainstream? In primary school, in a class of between 40 to 44, I doubt he was much better taught Math than others. In mainstream, would he have achieved what he did to get into NUSH WITHOUT mathematician parents?

When students do poorly in mainstream, it is the parents' fault. When students shine in mainstream, the system is robust?

:?

I believe his mother has made it clear that he would suffer the GEP English. Btw his parents are not mathematicians, they own an IT business.
              Aiyo.. I am going to stop this broken recorder thing. Lunch is ready!

okok, not Mathematician, I got it. But good in Math, enough to pit against 3 kids trained as IMO at the highest level.

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

ruohoo97:

Sadly, we don't have too many Da vinci today. I think our human being is de-evolution, instead evolution. :slapshead:

what so great about Da Vinci ? they are also being accused of fakes in China, land of the fakes...oh ya, may be, gifted in forgery ? or genuine copy / fake ?

Really ah? Why this kind of things also fake? I thought only watches and handbags and polo shirts.

• 2 Offline
                  2ppaamm

[quote=\"Sun_2010\"]

LJ has good support of his sec school, so how come it becomes MOE's failure I dont see. Yes he was not talent spotted early on but once his calibre was known , he has been provided with good support.

Precisely Sun! LJ is a good example of not having to go thru the pain of doing English the GEP way and yet getting a good support in other ways to pursue his passion. I thought he was a positive example of our education support system but somehow he has been construed and made to look as a negative example for GEP screening failure. *thud* :faint:

poor LJ....kena left and right[/quote]No lah, never kena, he is the hero. šŸ™‚ :please: so proud of him and his parents, also will be proud of Sheldon when he achieves the same things. Both worked hard and deserve all the credits, GEP or not.

Chenonceau

Rightly or wrongly... I had assumed that Lim Jeck owed his achievements to his parents. Why would the MOE claim credit for LJ's achievements in mainstream? In primary school, in a class of between 40 to 44, I doubt he was much better taught Math than others. In mainstream, would he have achieved what he did to get into NUSH WITHOUT mathematician parents?

When students do poorly in mainstream, it is the parents' fault. When students shine in mainstream, the system is robust?

:?
                    I believe his mother has made it clear that he would suffer the GEP English.
                    This statement is response to which question of mine above? I don't quite see the link to my comment.
                    Btw his parents are not mathematicians, they own an IT business.
                    http://wwwdontmesswith6a.blogspot.sg/2012/08/mad-about-maths.html

The newspaper clearly states that the parents did the enriching in Primary school. The school looked good because he won. His parents enjoy Math... like Math... good at Math (so are Mathematicians). Maybe in secondary, the school was important in bringing out his talent. But certainly not BEFORE he got to NUSH. So I still don't see how this shows up as MOE's success.

If his parents had not enriched him in Primary school, he would be nowhere today... maybe in and out of IMH?

• E Offline
                      Edureach

2ppaamm:
                      Edureach:

In NS, to get to know their mates, the following are some of the most common questions as far as jc cohort is concerned:

1. Which jc?
                      2. What's your rank pt?
                      3. Which uni and course, both local and overseas.

Among my ds' company which includes future doctors, lawyers, accountants, engineers, teachers, businessman, public servants etc, no one not a single one ever mention he hailed from gep.

His is an enhanced leadership batch which includes some of the top psle scorers and many from the dream schools that we parents hope our kids will study there.

That should be the way! But your DS time no DSA advantage, right?

At that time, yr 2005 psle cohort, my ds didn't apply because he prefered to gain admission thru his T-score.

Also to share with u here, all new soldiers share their woes and happiness training together irresspective which uni or courses one is heading to.

Family background and academic prowess take second place here is more of being broadminded, social skills, the practice of leadership and the humanities.

Off for lunch now. Nice talking to u!

Trapwithin

osim:
                        She is an all rounder but she wants to be a writer. She may not earn much if she does that unless she becomes next JK Rowling but it's her life...as long she is happy and living in coherence with what she think is good for her šŸ˜‚

You are a very wise mom.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 89 / 154