S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting

653 Posts 126 Posters 146.2k Views 1 Watching
      autumnbronze

zakashi:
      Is this not a forum about Singaporean to get priority for P1 places during balloting?

Indeed!!

However, your line of argument is getting too askewed ... so much so that it is becoming impossible to understand nor accept the rationale.

Have a good day!!

autumnbronze

FQW:

If I may be blunt, you are looking at it from a totally myopic perspective.

Life is not only about getting your kid to \"the school you want.\". It's more about LIVING it.

My 2 cents.

AB, coming from as calm a person as you, I can tell that you're totally riled.

Waaaaah bro, just a group of us meeting for hi-tea together once and you have such a positive assessment of me .... :salute: and :thankyou:

I have been very disturbed by some of the postings lately, actually ... :sad:

Since MOE has made the decision to give priority to Singaporeans with immediate effect, we should be satisfied. It’s disturbing to read some of the posts.

It’s not easy to be granted Singapore citizenship. Of course there are some who get this privilege and misuse it. We should not have any discussion to further differentiate between PURE Singaporeans and those converted ones…this will cause differences and rifts.

MrsSeah

Since MOE has made the decision to give priority to Singaporeans with immediate effect, we should be satisfied. It's disturbing to read some of the posts.

It's not easy to be granted Singapore citizenship. Of course there are some who get this privilege and misuse it. We should not have any discussion to further differentiate between PURE Singaporeans and those converted ones...this will cause differences and rifts.
            Yap agreed. Lets move on. :rahrah: :rahrah:

We are all One country, One citizen. Lets get along with one another. :boogie:

BeContented

Since MOE has made the decision to give priority to Singaporeans with immediate effect, we should be satisfied. It's disturbing to read some of the posts.

It's not easy to be granted Singapore citizenship. Of course there are some who get this privilege and misuse it. We should not have any discussion to further differentiate between PURE Singaporeans and those converted ones...this will cause differences and rifts.
              Agree totally.
              I am born and bred here, proud and happy to be SG citizen....parents have converted from Malaysians to SG citizen 40 yrs ago....but all of a sudden, I start to question am I 'unpure' after reading all these posts. Imagine how bad will others feel? We will rub off such feelings to our next generation and new citizens will never really feel accepted, that will be bad for the country. I believe changing to a certain citizenship is a BIG decision, whoever has converted, let us welcome them from there on......

For a moment, I wonder, SunXun the MOE scholar, tho he has been here for for soooooo many years.....yet does not seem to feel as one of us....perhaps we should really reflect.

limlim

zakashi:
                Is this not a forum about Singaporean to get priority for P1 places during balloting?

yes.. but it seems to be deviating into different \"Grade\" of Singaporean....

And that doesn't sound good.....

HVR

SandS:
                  When I first read \"that\" post, I was so stunned and appalled by it.

My kids are Singaporean, though I am not.

It saddens me that they are being labelled as \"impure Singaporean\" when this is where they were born and bred.

They proudly sing the Majulah Singapura and happily recite the pledge (though not entirely sang or pronounced correctly). For them to be labelled a 2nd class citizen in THEIR OWN COUNTRY really saddens me.

Does it mean whoever marries a Singaporean must convert to be a Singaporean or else their kids are deemed 2nd class? Can't imagine this could be a factor when deciding whether to marry or not ((Noo... you can't marry a singaporean... you will be forced to convert!!! :yikes: ))

But I am so glad there are many others who disagree with that post. :rahrah: Thank you for proving that Singaporeans are not a bunch of ____.
                  Classifying Singaporeans to different classes? And then decide 'entitlement' based on class? Just show you how strong our sense of entitlement is and worse still, we don't seem to be willing to work hard for it. We just hope there are some kind of schemes to make sure we get what we want (such as based on class).

The truth is no matter how, regardless of PR kids or not, at the end of the day not all SC kids will get to enter the schools of their parents' choice. Then how? Identify another class of people such as PV, alumni, etc and push them out of the equation? Some people have really lost their perspective.

Thanks for your post. It remind us to be sensitive in posting our views.

LOLMum

goodness me, who, why, how and when did this \"pure and unpure\" singaporean issue come about? i dont want to know cos it just makes me feel :gloomy: .

• iRabbitI Offline
                      iRabbit

SandS:

But I am so glad there are many others who disagree with that post. :rahrah: Thank you for proving that Singaporeans are not a bunch of ____.
                      Many of us are refuting this unreasonable claim in our own ways. Yup, you can accuse many Singaporeans of being Keyboard Warriors (learned this term from another forum), but you certainly can't accuse us of being a bunch of ____. 😂
                      Waaaaah bro, just a group of us meeting for hi-tea together once and you have such a positive assessment of me .... :salute: and :thankyou:

I have been very disturbed by some of the postings lately, actually ... :sad:
                      Aiyah, that's because you told me something before. You mentioned that your legal-eagle hubby advised you to proof-read your posts (so that they won't be misinterpreted in unintended ways) ...... before pressing the [submit] button mah. So I can tell from you posts that you're really pissed.

Funny, if you notice, it's usually the same group of people committing faux pas. Remember the incident of a particular ex-TCS queen PV-ing in a super-branded school? It was faux pas then and it's déjà vu now.

Faux pas déjà vu? Wow, I use such cheem England. 😂

Chenonceau

FQW:
                        chamonix:

Ah Meng not of Singapore origin hor. She was smuggled in from Indonesia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ah_Meng

Jialat, I shook hand with a smuggler. 😓

Alas, there goes my grandch's chance to be purer than vk2010's grandch.

Now NYPS realli no chance liao. 🤷

Technically... she was a smuggLEE... not smuggLER... but after all the twists and turns plus history lessons... I am unsure how shaking hands with an Indonesian smuggLEE influences the purity of your bloodline. This said... I do know that genetic purity (or lack thereof) requires some degree of ummmmm... judicious mating. :siam:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 55 / 66