Fried Bee Hoon
cherrygal:
That's the sinful version :drool: I've not had that for a long while.I also asked my mom to make fried beehoon tonite... hahahah
She also told me my beehoon broke up into short strands coz I soaked too long. Yes, I am guilty.
I will try to fry some by myself next week. Bought the canned pork trotters to cook with it.
linden2000:
I used this recipe when I started frying.shinri:
ROFL.... Attempt #1: Failed.. lol
No taste haha.
Added too little water, put ingredients first before bee hoon and seasoning too little lol.
DH took 1 mouthful and exclaimed \"Wah liao!\"
http://www.noobcook.com/fried-bee-hoon/
HTH.
Waaaaaah, the bee hoon dishes look sooooo delicious :drool: :drool:
I am especially tempted with the tom yum recipe. Will try that out next time.
Thanks for sharing!!! :celebrate: -
firefly38:
Aiyo, ichigokun, you seem to know everything.. from history of Korea & China, to TCM herbs & 'grow-tall' soups, to now fried beehoon..Ichigokun:
@shinri
You might want to try a vegetarian fried bee hoon stall at Mayflower Food Centre (near Ang Mo Kio Block 159).
There's a market there and in the market's warm cooked food section there is a Vegetarian Bee Hoon stall.
Look out for the Chinese words ç´ and æ–‹ (which both mean vegetarian)
You can order a packet at about $2++.
The ingredients include mock meat, cabbage, WHITE fried bee Hoon, fried beancurd skin (fried tow kee), green chili and some pound red chilli.
The main thing is the fried beancurd skin. IT'S VERY FRAGRANT AND SUPER CRISPY. (my favorite!!) I usually just say I don't want the mock meat and change them to fried beancurd skin.
The fried beancurd skin really gives texture to the bee Hoon. It keeps me going and patronizing their stall again and again.
Be warned though. Sometimes the queue is SUPER long. You have to queue up to 20 minutes sometimes to get your bee Hoon.
But it's worth it
Trust me.
Thanks for your recommendation.. I will bring my 2 boys to try it, as they love fried WHITE beehoon, with LOTS OF fried beancurd skin too! :hi5:
Um... Sad thing is, the white bee hoon stall is currently closed. It will be reopened on July 18, as the owner has went for an operation.
It is expected the price will rise a bit to cover their operation costs. -
shinri:
If u don't want dark soy sauce, use light soy sauce instead for the flavour or use salt dissolve in water.My office canteen downstairs used to sell white coloured fried bee hoon for breakfast.
Very yummy and lots of ingredients inside for just $1+.
Served with a dollop of their homemade chilli.. :drool:
But now the stall gone already and I'm suffering the withdrawal symptoms
Thinking of cooking my own, any recipes to share?
Much prefer those white bee hoon (no dark soy sauce)
Is it fried mifen??? -
shinri:
This place: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=861808#p861808
Much prefer those white bee hoon (no dark soy sauce) -
My mum always use the narciscus braised pork ribs to cook the bee hoon and it taste and smells great.
I find the braised pork ribs too oily, nowadays I’ll use the "chao san si" to fry with the beehoon.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.