What I hate about the current Singapore
The power stations sit on our soil, its not as if the French or Japanese can dismantle them and ship them off.WHY need to sell the power station??
Is the govt so poor that they had to sell critical infrastructures? Rather sell power station than to dig into reserves? -
Err, disagree !
I actually don't care to convince you. But I have in and around the area of healthcare and healthcare finance to observe the suicidal behaviours of many Singaporeans around the use of their Medisave monies, which is basically to take every single opportunity to squeeze every cent possible, without regard to saving for the future. To the extent that they will arm-twist their doctors to collude with them on this matter. Do your homework, go and speak to any 5 specialist doctors, you will get your answer. Disbelieve me? No skin off my back.
They don't squeeze every cent for its value. They squeeze every cent out from their account, yes !! **evil** -
tuition_czar:
Looks like the armchair economists of the Singapore netizen pool have stumbled some deep dark secret that eludes even the best and the brightest fund managers and overseas central bankers. Singapore g'ment 10 year bond yield at 1.33%, yikes! What are they thinking?! Surely with Singapore g'ment finances in a mess and tethering on bankruptcy, we should be running at 6-7% like Greece and Spain yes?limlim:
That's why I asked.. If really in need of cash.. why not touch the reserve but instead sell critical assets... unless.. the reserve.................................................. :censored: ?
Yikes, shush.......not too loud.
But fear not, the conspiracy theorists and Singapore netizens have a greater pool of wisdom than even the economists who make it their business to know...... -
May be if not owned by Huaneng then the feeling won't be so bad
The power stations sit on our soil, its not as if the French or Japanese can dismantle them and ship them off.limlim:
WHY need to sell the power station??
Is the govt so poor that they had to sell critical infrastructures? Rather sell power station than to dig into reserves?
Ok I am just trying to poke at some subconscious mindset of ........ -
WeiHan:
Riiighhttt!! All those overseas people who come and study our pension scheme don't know a thing hor?
The reason why gahman has been finding all kind of excuses to delay drawing of CPF and its usage is because GIC has only been able to return 0.007% from the loan it took from CPF. How are they going to pay 2.5% annual return if their return is only 0.007%? Moreover, about half of the assets are illiquid which requires long time period to liquidate.
...maybe now you should see why..
Now I see. And all along I thought they were just trying to make sure that the CPF does what the CPF does, which is a retirement fund so that an individual will have enough for his old age.
Silly me, to believe that the average life span for a male in Singapore is now 80+years, I'm sure that figure is fudged. Therefore, we should all believe that we can comfortably extract all our CPF at 55 years old, after having worked maybe 30 years, and then expect those funds to last us another 25 years+ to 80 and beyond! Why didn't I think of that! Foolish of me to buy the g'ment line that we probably need to extend our working life span and defer CPF withdrawal.
And you know, if I run out of money, never mind lah, just raise taxes for the working adults lor, after all, I'm already in my golden years, I raise the younger generation, so now its time that they paid for my retirement lor. -
What was the money spent on? unnecessary treatment?
But I have in and around the area of healthcare and healthcare finance to observe the suicidal behaviours of many Singaporeans around the use of their Medisave monies, which is basically to take every single opportunity to squeeze every cent possible, without regard to saving for the future.
If, say, you caught a cold, you see doctor, and claim medisave. is it \"unnecessary treatment\"? You wouldn't die if you do not take medicine to make you feel better.. does it meant that you should not spend the money seek to feel better so as to save the money for some \"potential\" serious illness? no right? everyone is entitled to good health and quality surviving and not suffer discomfort due to minor ailment right?
if you say they anyhow spend on unless stuff with sole purpose being just to deplete the medisave, then I see no logic in that.
why would you spend $ on a piece of useless equipment or medicine you do not intend to eat and solely profit the doctor or hospital just bcoz the money is from medisave?
really makes no sense right? -
But it is their property.. can you prevent them from planting a software bug in the power station..?
The power stations sit on our soil, its not as if the French or Japanese can dismantle them and ship them off.limlim:
WHY need to sell the power station??
Is the govt so poor that they had to sell critical infrastructures? Rather sell power station than to dig into reserves?
That will go off in times of war.. or terrorist attack. -
But it is their property.. can you prevent them from planting a software bug in the power station..?
The power stations sit on our soil, its not as if the French or Japanese can dismantle them and ship them off.3Boys:
[quote=\"limlim\"]WHY need to sell the power station??
That will go off in times of war.. or terrorist attack.[/quote]for example, cut off their own nose to spite you ? :rotflmao: -
Would you reckon that if things are more transparent and accountable, there will be less room for such speculations?
But fear not, the conspiracy theorists and Singapore netizens have a greater pool of wisdom than even the economists who make it their business to know...... -
say, Japanese invading Singapore....
for example, cut off their own nose to spite you ? :rotflmao:limlim:
That will go off in times of war.. or terrorist attack.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.