Saving Gaia song
My kids love to sing along "Save my world"! But the singer in me cringes when I hear the chorus so out of tuneβ¦
Mediacorp is trying to emulate the Oz children choir doing the Qantas adβ¦ "I still call Australia Homeβ¦" sigh -
Hmm...there is a certain dullness in this song but I am not sure if it is deliberately composed this way since there is a problem with the world...and it needs to be saved? :?
firefly38:
:goodpost: :goodpost:tuition_czar:
Gets on my nerves, those little screeching imps.
Well.. Whatever you post in this forum gets on my nerves too..
Before you even criticize, can you sing as well as these kids? Labeling such pure & beautiful singing as \"screeching\", and such lovely & talented kids as \"imps\", is certainly uncalled for..
The song is performed by award-winning choirs of Catholic High School (Primary) and Kong Hwa School.. These kids have spent their June holidays practising, rehearsing and recording the song.. Of course, they are not perfect, but it is precisely their little imperfections which make kids' singing so unique.. And it is also this very reason why i love to listen to kids sing, as they sound so pure & unpretentious..
Guess one has to be a parent to be able to appreciate our little ones (and their \"screeching\").. And I am very certain you are not there yet.. :roll: -
vlim:
Alamak , if stalking, how can I tell u where I am ... :evil:

vlim, where have you been??? Thot you have abandoned us and migrated to other swamps.. Then in the middle of the nite suddenly jumped out like that.. gave me a shock.. but a pleasant shock indeed
Ya, I love the song.. DS1 says it is ''quite nice'', and his ''quite nice'' is actually very nice, as he is rather stingy with his praises.. DS2, on the other hand, is sooo proud to spot a few of his friends on TV, and keeps crooning ''save my world.. save my world..'' in his out-of-tune voice..
firefly38:
Heheheeee ... 'nothing better to do' mah hahahaaavlim:
Alamak , if stalking, how can I tell u where I am ... :evil:

vlim, where have you been??? Thot you have abandoned us and migrated to other swamps.. Then in the middle of the nite suddenly jumped out like that.. gave me a shock.. but a pleasant shock indeed
Ya, I love the song.. DS1 says it is ''quite nice'', and his ''quite nice'' is actually very nice, as he is rather stingy with his praises.. DS2, on the other hand, is sooo proud to spot a few of his friends on TV, and keeps crooning ''save my world.. save my world..'' in his out-of-tune voice..
Ya can understand how your ds2 feel to be able to spot his friend there!... Nice song indeed!.. I tot your ds2 involve too
mummy of three:
Noticed all the other parents only commented on the SONG itself (too slow & dull, could have been livelier, chorus not harmonised etc), which is perfectly fine, as everyone has different expectations & opinions.. But this guy criticised the KIDS who sang the song.. And that really made me :mad:
tuition_czar seems to be going around this forum and criticizing everything possible. -
vlim:
Heheheeee ... 'nothing better to do' mah hahahaaafirefly38:
[quote=\"vlim\"]Alamak , if stalking, how can I tell u where I am ... :evil:

Ya can understand how your ds2 feel to be able to spot his friend there!... Nice sound indeed!.. I tot your ds2 involve too
[/quote]I wished he was, but not good enough lah..
DS1 and a few of his Choir friends at RI ''re-arranged'' the song and sang it (casually only).. Wow, it was splendid!!! But i still prefer the pure, innocent, natural, beautiful voices of the younger ones :love: ... -
The singing is very raw, some parts seem a bit out of tune and weak vocals.
But take a look at the kids' faces. They look so proud and happy, singing and dancing away in costumes. They look like they are very serious in putting on their best act.
Thumbs up. -
Namie:
So glad to see at least a few positive comments on this! When I saw the first few posts, I was like,\"er... But I like leh.... So sad, why you all don't like....?\"The singing is very raw, some parts seem a bit out of tune and weak vocals.
But take a look at the kids' faces. They look so proud and happy, singing and dancing away in costumes. They look like they are very serious in putting on their best act.
Thumbs up.
Sure, the whole presentationsaws not professional, nor was it perfect. But look at the kids who performed! I would be so proud if my child was one of the kids, even if he's the one that some folks describe as \"lame\", \"lifeless\", \"pitch less\"... They are kids, not seasoned pros, remember?
My child was very attracted to it. Whenever it was played, he would try to sing along and watched those scenes closely and started asking qns later. Perhaps this production is not meant for adults. It could be aimed at the younger generation, to inculcate the idea of conservation and ways to save our earth from further destruction.
Remember our children's art work when they were in preschool? They are not perfect right? But we applaud their effort and we pin them up somewhere as a form of encouragement. How come we are not doing this for this production? Because it is produced by mediacorp and therefore we expect a lot more? Ok then, just forget it and think of it as a school production. Feel better now?
Yes, we must give credit to the kids for being so enthusiastic about the song. It may have been better if only one choir sang the song instead of getting two different choirs to join forces. Hard to blend the different styles maybe?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.