Primary ONE English Assignment

243 Posts 27 Posters 37.2k Views 1 Watching
      limlim

Alternatively, ask questions base on the 5Ws and 1H.

Where did you go?
      When did you go
      Who went with you?
      What did you see and do?
      How did you find the activity/feel after the activity?
      Why?
      I did that.. in Sec 1...... or maybe Sec 4 'O' levels..? too long ago liao.. can't really remember what is the first time this technique or method first appeared....

limlim

Bro here doesn't want whatever shared here to have wasted ppl's efforts in sharing, brainstorming and all for the sake of helping him and his child plus the LJ itself... referring to Learning Journey, of course. 😉
        Actually, the purpose of the poll/thread is to find out if the P1 standard has gone beyond the reach of some kids who do not have enrichment or parents who can teach.

Not about me and my kid wor........

but of coz..

Managed to squeeze out some valuable tips from you and other forumers.. :evil:

for the benefit of all kiasu parents....

so, ya, many will stand to benefit from the sharing.. so no worries.. no wastage here.. 😉

• laughingcatL Offline
          laughingcat

Laughingcat dear arh.. your maid is good.. you dun worry ok.
          I oredi assessed her for you when i was there.
          Yeah! Really appreciate my maid's help. She is my #2. Every year we give her 13th mth plus 2 months bonus. I do hope she can stay for long. Even offer to sponsor her DS to attend workshop in SGP during holiday.

Solie OT liao. :siam:

• iRabbitI Offline
            iRabbit

Managed to squeeze out some valuable tips from you and other forumers.. :evil:

for the benefit of all kiasu parents....

so, ya, many will stand to benefit from the sharing.. so no worries.. no wastage here.. 😉
            Like you, I think many of us learned something useful from this thread and I don't mean just LLLS. 😂

Thanks for starting the poll. Hope your kid does well in that assessment; more imptly, hope he enjoys it as well.

Chenonceau

Poll results are interesting…

18% think the assignment is within the capability of P1 kids.

82% think the assignment can either not be done… or can be done ONLY with appropriate enrichment/parent teaching prior to Primary 1.

SAHM_TAN

Alternatively, ask questions base on the 5Ws and 1H.

Where did you go?
                When did you go
                Who went with you?
                What did you see and do?
                How did you find the activity/feel after the activity?
                Why?

I did that.. in Sec 1...... or maybe Sec 4 'O' levels..? too long ago liao.. can't really remember what is the first time this technique or method first appeared....

Now there's a cartoon that even introduce these leh, based on the series Busy Town, I think, the main characters are cats and they solve mysteries in each episode with the jingle incorporating who, how, what, when, why very cute. So pre-school kids are already introduced to these words and how they can help in thinking.

SAHM_TAN

I’m not notti enough to know what’s LJ

• O Offline
                    oxyleo

limlim - I’ve cast my vote. And thanks for organizing this poll. The info shared also helps us understand what’s going on in schools other than those attended by our own kids. Most useful. 🙂

• laughingcatL Offline
                      laughingcat

Hi Buds! Thank you for your earlier sharing. I followed your template and get my DS1 to share on his learning journey experiences. I was so delighted as he did it all on his own. His spellings are perfect and only 1 grammar mistake. But still I am proud of him. He was like \"Mummy, are you testing me?\" :evil:

http://i45.tinypic.com/23sw7ee.jpg\"> http://i49.tinypic.com/efnexc.jpg\">

Hi limlim,

thank you for organizing this poll. If not for this thread, I will not know where is P1 standard. Also I learned alot from this thread from the experts. :please: Hope to see more of such thread.

SAHM_TAN

limlim,

There’s a need for a child to get use to Eng if from a primary Mandarin speaking environment.

We speak Mandarin at home too, as a result it takes dd1 some time to get use to kindy and primary school. Sometimes she will not fully understand the instruction. It’s getting better and it does not stop her from taking a great interest in science. Unfortunate my Chinese std not good enough to explain science facts in Mandarin but she still like to read science related books in Eng.

I still speak Mandarin at home becos I think Eng is a more attractive Lang and there’s no need for me to encourage it at home. I know according to the linguist, there’s no difference in difficulty level among the languages, it’s the exposure during childhood. BUT I’ve been speaking Mandarin to bb and though she does not speak yet, the words sound she made are "yes", "no" and "this", she’s not in playgroup yet hor.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 20 / 25