Share your labour experience

105 Posts 45 Posters 33.9k Views 1 Watching
      Andaiz

aspring:

I am actually think CTE, ECP, BKP etc.... as the 'place of birth'
      Oh my, didn't think of that aspring...yeah, how about \"Kendang Kerbau Drive\" (does that exist? I mean the road leading to the hospital coz concern2 DC2 was too excited)

autumnbronze

//Editor's note: Article selected for http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/positive-birth-experience.

This was a long awaited and much longed for baby.

After like 4 miscarriages, finally managed to sustain the pregnancy beyond 4 mths.

Only managed to breathe normally during gynae's appts after surpassing the 6 mth mark. Prior to that, always prayed and hoped for the best but expected the worst. Now, told myself that if really water bag leak again, there is a chance for the baby to survive.

In the meantime, told DH that I was determined to have a positive, normal and WATER birth. This was v v impt to me cuz EVERYONE (my peers) I knew had a negative birth experience and even my mom predicted that I'd have a difficult birth cuz I was already in my thirties. I was not going to have that. He was like :!: \"Are you sure, what on earth is a water birth?\"

Got him and myself enrolled in a pte pre-natal class conducted by a doula. DH was skeptical at first about this, but he ended up looking forward to the classes at the end of the day :roll: Learnt the art of positive visualization to encourage a positive birth. Unfortunately, doula was going overseas during my due date so could not have a water-birth with her. I also did not want to engage someone that I was not familiar with at the last trimester of my pregnancy. So I signed up for pre-natal yoga instead.

So for the last 2 mths, got DH to perform perenial massage with oil because didn't want to take epidural. Every night b4 going to bed would listen to soothing music and visualize a full head of hair crowning šŸ˜„

Was due on the 9th of August 07 but on the 2nd, woke up at 3 plus in the morn. Got up and when I stood up, my water bag burst. Wiped away the wetness and went abt packing my bag. Washed clothes in machine and dried them.

At about 5.30 in the morn, woke DH up, said I had something impt to tell him. He said ok and went back to sleep. Woke him up 15 mins later and told him that it was urgent. When he woke up and I told him about my water bag bursting, he asked, \"Is this a drill?\" I didn't know whether to :faint: or 😢.

Can't remember what time the contractions started. Didn't want to go to the hospital cuz I knew they would strap me down and won't let me walk. Went to the bathroom to take a shower. Didn't want to come out. DH calmly shaving. Then he asked me if I wanted milo. I snapped at him that it was already 10 plus in the morn and since 5 plus, he has been doing his own things (actually, it was his own way of coping with his wife in labour :lol:).

By then contractions getting frequent. Could not sit or lie down. Could only walk and everytime contractions reached its peak, I would have to put my hands agst the wall and bend my knees. But I followed thru with the breathing and did not resist the contractions.

By 11 plus, DH was getting nervous, contractions were frequent and I was reluctant to go to the hospital. For some strange reason, I wanted to deliver in the shower and asked him to call gynae at NUH and asked her abt it. That was the last straw for him. In his most stern voice, he said \"we'er going to the hospital NOW.\" I complied and off we went.

Had to kneel doggy style at the back of the car as sitting was painful. Contractions getting v v fast and frequent. When arrived at the hospital (DH had called b4 leaving), someone came out with a wheelchair which I refused. They insisted and I retorted back, \"you don't want to argue with a woman in active labour!\" So I walked all the way to the ward, pausing many times to put my hands on the wall and go along with the contractions when it reached its peak. Got a lot of stares, didn't care. So stylo somemore, I chose to wear my yoga pants and blouse :lol:

Finally reached ward, settled in, nurse checked and said was almost fully dilated. This was at 12 noon. True enough, they strapped me down and didn't want to let me walk anymore. DH had to force them to let me drink milo as I was tired. Couldn't even relax in the water tub as time to push soon.

DH had refused to face towards my legs and cut the cord but relented when baby was crowning (can't stand the sight of the blood lah). True enough, it was a full head of hair. By 2pm, I had delivered. Took me 2 hours since the time I checked in. Gynae/Obs reprimanded me nicely for coming in so late. But she was v v pleased with the easy birth.

It was the most happiest day of my life (besides meeting DH and marrying him of course). I had kept that personal promise to myself. I had had a positive birth experience šŸ˜„

autumnbronze

Alamak, kena published !!!!

I actually rushed home from dinner cuz I realized there were more details to add and some to edit. Blame it all on my DH for rushing me off to dinner just now ..... šŸ˜›

Nonetheless, :thankyou: :thankyou: Chief šŸ˜„

penglee

this Daddy will only talk about OT scenes..

Wifey got epidural jab for all kiddos šŸ˜›
            She worried the laughing-gas or pain-killer not powerful enough, in the end up still have to use epidural.

Our kids all delivered naturally.
            Our gynae more conservative, did not let me cut ribbon 😢
            She prohibit video, no Porno šŸ˜›
            (I still took video for 3rd and 4th child, man, these are memories !!)

I cried when all babies came out :oops:
            It was very emotional to see the pain Wifey went through.

The first time we hold the baby ..
            ..so fragile
            ..so small
            ..hello little one.

!!salute to all mummies, your sacrifice is unsurpassed !!
            :udawoman:

Till today, I can never forget the \"amount of blood\" and the placenta (like pig liver) during childbirth--yucks

penglee:
              ... I cried when all babies came out :oops:

It was very emotional to see the pain Wifey went through...
              Now... since the gynae stopped you from taping your wife, maybe you should have pointed the camera on yourself and do a video of daddies undergoing paternity stress, just so the mommies know exactly what we daddies have to go through too šŸ™‚

I better :siam: before the mommies start throwing used nappies at me.

I actually rushed home from dinner cuz I realized there were more details to add and some to edit. Blame it all on my DH for rushing me off to dinner just now ..... šŸ˜›
                Published articles are completely within the rights of authors to edit as they deem fit. You should see an Edit button on the articles your wrote. It's your article, so you get to decide on what it should say.

autumnbronze

Published articles are completely within the rights of authors to edit as they deem fit. You should see an Edit button on the articles your wrote. It's your article, so you get to decide on what it should say.

On second thoughts, its ok lah chief ...

I wrote it from the heart the first time ... so I will let it be šŸ˜„

Thank you, once again šŸ˜„

• G Offline
                    girlmum

When I had my DD1, my labour lasted 23hrs. Took epidural after abt 8hrs, cannot tahan anymore, only dilated abt 2-3 cm. :faint: I almost died of exhaustion. When DD1 finally decided to come out, I tore all the way to the anus. Doc only told me the next day when I asked him abt the stitches. I had 30 OVER STITCHES. Guess what I told doc after hearing, \"Doc, are u doing embroidery?\" He was like :!:

DD2 was much faster, took 12hrs. But due to my age (30+), I fainted in the toilet or rather to be exact, on the toilet seat while changing. Thankfully, the nurse was with me. She was holding me and saying the prayers while waiting for help. I woke up shortly, heard her prayers and for a split second I seriously thought that I was up there (heaven) before I blacked out again.

My DH still had the cheek to tell me - Since DD1 took 23hrs and DD2 took only 12hrs, maybe the third will only be 6hrs. I was :x :faint: Told him sorry factory closed.

waynemum

girlmum:
                      I had 30 OVER STITCHES. Guess what I told doc after hearing, \"Doc, are u doing embroidery?\" He was like :!:

U had 30 stichs, guess mine?

It took the doctor more than 4 hours to do the stiches!!!!

In my daze mode, i heard the doc telling the other doc that this is the worst tear she had ever seen in her life!

And u guess what?! She was talking on the mobile while doing stiches for me at the same time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And she even walked in and out of the ward to answer phone call. Th other doctor beside her nvr say anything and she was there to learn and i even heard the doc doing stiches for me ask the learning doc: U wanna try? I grabbed the doc hand and told her: No! U do it!

After the incident, i always joke abt it with my DH and said the doc had stich up my _ _ _ _ _ _! šŸ˜‰

schellen

My second labour experience was so much better. This time, I knew I wanted an epidural without waiting for the nurses to suggest it. (The last time, they did so cos the labour was sooo long, they were afraid I couldn't rest and have enough energy to push later; they were right though.)

I had a show 4 days before DD2 was due so I calmly called the clinic and was told to wait for other signs like cramps, contractions, water bag bursting, etc. I wasn't sure when DD2 would choose to come, especially after the bleeding stopped, so to prevent myself from becoming dehydrated and starved like the first time, I told myself constantly, \"If need to eat, go eat; if need to use toilet/shower, do it now!\" Thank goodness for that. I had an early dinner at 5:30pm and soon after that, the cramps started. Luckily, the clinic was still open when I called them and the nurse just told me to keep track of the contractions even though I said there was no pain yet.

Now, earlier in the day, I called sashimi after I called the clinic about my bloody show and he immediately asked me if I needed him to return home. I told him no point, and I was right. Luckily, DD1 was with my PILs that day and would only be returning at night.

By the time sashimi returned home, I was propped up on my bed with my notebook and a clock next to me to track the contractions. After the cramps, the pain gradually came and intensified. However, I told sashimi to go have his shower and dinner first. He did so but he was rather skeptical since I tahan pain quite well (no screaming, etc) and he reminded me that for my first time, I didn't even know I was in actual labour (I thought they were false contractions mah). So he went to contact his parents and I slowly changed my clothes and packed the last essential stuff into my bag.

At 8+pm, PILs arrived and we headed for the hospital. Luckily, it was after peak hours and it was a Monday cos earlier on, I heard on the radio that there was a traffic jam near the hospital. At 9+pm, I reached the hospital and refused the offer of a wheelchair this time. I just walked slowly to the delivery suite. (I really must applaud the hospital for using the pre-registration method nowadays; last time still must wait for staff to direct me and sashimi had tonnes of paperwork while I was in labour.)
                        Staff said only DH allowed to stay in delivery room so sashimi had to pacify DD1 before she willingly went off with my PILs. This time, I knew what I wanted (epidural, not gas cos I hate nausea) so I requested early. My doc was out of town but I was told beforehand who would take over. The doc who saw to me was (IMHO) much nicer than my usual doc. šŸ˜‰ Even the doc who came to do the epidural was very experienced and motherly so I recovered so much faster this time. Unlike autumnbronze, I knew I wanted to rest instead of an active birth and this time round, I did get to rest. (Yay, me! :lol: )

Unfortunately, doc suspected that DD2 was distressed so she broke the water bag to check. Sure enough, she said that there was meconium. Later on, DD2's heart rate plunged and doc told me to be prepared mentally for an emergency c-section. My heart sank as I didn't want one but I nodded my head since I knew it was best for DD2. My contractions by then were not close enough nor was I fully dilated so that was the best option. Fortunately, soon after that DD2's heart rate shot up miraculously and stayed up. We were relieved and the doc tried to help me speed up the dilation manually.

What followed was a blur. I only remembered that labour was much easier this time even though I couldn't feel the contractions. The difference is that I knew how and where to push so labour was halved. šŸ˜“ This meant no forceps/ventouse and so far, my recovery is faster (according to sashimi). I had stitches again but this time, I didn't feel the needle going in and out. Phew! I didn't want to relieve that sensation again. :roll:
                        Even though labour, delivery and recovery were much better this time, sashimi and I agree that we shall have no more. I think DD1 agrees too. I even asked the doc when I could use Mirena again. :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 11

aishikA
                        aishik
                        oops_04O
                        oops_04