Alternative use for tuition
Mychildren:
It's 100% true. Incident just happened.
Yes to those in blue, it is ridiculous!!!janet_lee88:
My hubby taught son Science since P3. Son didn't fail science but stayed in the 60 mark range :frustrated: After SA2 in P5, we surrendered and brought in tutor. It's not as simple as what his teacher said 'to just give keywords' but more like how to answer open ended questions in a systematic way.
School teachers cannot assume all students in the class have tuition and just whizz through the subject. A friend was asked by her son's teachers why his English & Science homework were not corrected and taught by tutors. This is :siao: and ridiculous !!!
So, MOE should seriously look into this. If my friend had informed the principal, will that P defend the teacher or investigate? -
BeContented:
Perfectly understand :hugs:Sometimes can't help it leh. When I try to coach my kids Science, they yawn. :snooze: then I feel 'insulted' & start to :mad: :rant: :nunchuk: Often the session turn :stompfeet: :frustrated:
It doesn't help when I'm also a quick-tempered & impatient person. (& not exactly strong in the subject)
Eventually I realised I :sick: am lousy at it....& outsourced. My kids so happy & feedback that it's more interesting for them & they learn more :oops: :sad:
But at least, I can have alternative else my BP medication have to be doubled. Now, kids tuition time is my shopping / bonding time with my hubby
quite happy actually
But you can't be very quick tempered lah, you are be contented leh!
joke joke. If the children like it/enjoy it, good and by all means go ahead. So long as they like it and are not overly stretched, I don't see why anyone would discourage.
It's 100% true. Incident just happened.
Yes to those in blue, it is ridiculous!!!Mychildren:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]My hubby taught son Science since P3. Son didn't fail science but stayed in the 60 mark range :frustrated: After SA2 in P5, we surrendered and brought in tutor. It's not as simple as what his teacher said 'to just give keywords' but more like how to answer open ended questions in a systematic way.
School teachers cannot assume all students in the class have tuition and just whizz through the subject. A friend was asked by her son's teachers why his English & Science homework were not corrected and taught by tutors. This is :siao: and ridiculous !!!
So, MOE should seriously look into this. If my friend had informed the principal, will that P defend the teacher or investigate?[/quote]I'm not a representative of MOE so I don't know what they'll do (to your question in red).
Those in blue, think this teacher encouraged tuition. -
Imami:
I have no say as long as both kid and parents are happy to have tuition. But my sons don't like & I don't want :moneyflies: .
Perfectly understand :hugs:BeContented:
Sometimes can't help it leh. When I try to coach my kids Science, they yawn. :snooze: then I feel 'insulted' & start to :mad: :rant: :nunchuk: Often the session turn :stompfeet: :frustrated:
It doesn't help when I'm also a quick-tempered & impatient person. (& not exactly strong in the subject)
Eventually I realised I :sick: am lousy at it....& outsourced. My kids so happy & feedback that it's more interesting for them & they learn more :oops: :sad:
But at least, I can have alternative else my BP medication have to be doubled. Now, kids tuition time is my shopping / bonding time with my hubby
quite happy actually
But you can't be very quick tempered lah, you are be contented leh!
joke joke. If the children like it/enjoy it, good and by all means go ahead. So long as they like it and are not overly stretched, I don't see why anyone would discourage.
Sorry :offtopic: for a while. Just noticed that I'm finally black belt.
BeContented:
Some Science chapters are dry. My hubby didn't know how to get son's attention...junior yawned :snooze: and father got pissed. Finally, hubby admitted he lost touch :faint:Sometimes can't help it leh. When I try to coach my kids Science, they yawn. :snooze: then I feel 'insulted' & start to :mad: :rant: :nunchuk: Often the session turn :stompfeet: :frustrated:
Eventually I realised I :sick: am lousy at it....& outsourced. -
Mychildren:
Hi Mychildren, GLORYmum is correct. I have high BP = blood pressure .... after 3 years of monitoring, cannot bring down & was spiking wildly, so already on 3+years medication to control, I tend to get excited easilyGLORYmum,
U may be right. But I'll wait for her to tell me.
On your other posts to teach your kids yourself at home .... for me I would seriously not want to do that. Probably already :lightrod: dead if i try
Maybe that's why tho I would prefer kids not to have tuition if possible, I'm not totally adverse to it since there is a reason for their existence. How it evolves eventually depends on human behaviour & market force.
Eg. A child having 3 tuition for each subject (I just found out recently)..... So who should I look at for such issue - child/parent/teacher/MOE/existence of tuition industry?? Complex......I better not get excited again.
I am with you on this SAHM_TAN. My first reaction when I read that these 2 Sec 2 students need tutors to discipline them to study was same as yours. If by their teens, children have so little self-discipline that they cannot carry out one of their primary responsibilities without CLOSE supervision... it is worrisome. These Sec 2 students are probably NOT destined for top management positions. When you come out to work and will only do your primary job because someone is watching you, no one will promote you.I was reading the write-up on tuition in the ST today. There were 2 sec level students who are doing well in their studies but opt for tuition so that they will be disciplined to study.
The article does not state if both had tuition when they were in primary school.
I was scared. I immediately worked with dd1 to get her set a schedule to learn her spelling and tingxie and let her take responsibility. I think to start small and gradually move on to bigger stuff like her many mini tests.
In the short term, you get the good grades. In the long-term, life will play you out because you lack an important life skill.
Even though it was tough in the last 2 years because DS' teachers taught simple stuff and tested really hard, I didn't bother to teach him or even learn his stuff. I opened the way to resources and taught him to self-learn and self-discipline. When DD was in IP, the self-directed independent study skills helped her surpass many who scored 10 points higher than her in PSLE.
Don't shortchange your kids long-term character development for short-term grades. I don't think it is worth it. -
The article and discussion reminds me that need to prepare kids with study skills such as research skills, know how to make own notes, critical thinking skills. I need to take a deep breath now. :imdrowning:
Yes, I agree that most of our kids don't know study skills. I remembered even in my time, we were not taught explicitly study skills, we learnt from friends, from better students how they studied. These days, there are mind-mapping classes, memory classes, etc. I picked up mind-mapping from my corporate days and then taught my children mind-mapping. But these are more for revision & basic comprehension. What I find more important and what I'm not sure if schools can do well in is really cultivating good inferential, reflective thinking skills.
I remembered it was in Sec 3 that I had my first tuition and it was for Literature. We had a good family friend who was a Lit teacher and she was really outstanding in helping me develop critical thinking skills and translating that into writing. I went on from borderline to doing well in Literature - a subject that is very difficult to do well and this eventually helped in my GP at A levels as well. It was just for 1.5 years but it was a tuition that I still remember still today because it was a tuition that made a deep impact. My family friend and I became good friends and it was a relationship that went beyond just teaching Literature. I believe the new English syllabus for Primary school as well as O levels will require our kids to develop their own opinions and to be able to translate their critical thinking into good writing.
These days, I'm more conscious about having more debates with my older children. Conversations that are about making your assumptions explicit and testing your assumptions aloud. I noticed my P6 DS started modelling some of the language. He would say things like \"That's just an assumption. We don't really know for sure.\" That's a sign of critical thinking. During this coming school holidays after PSLE, my plan is to get him to read more non-fiction and be more attuned with what's happening in the world and do some home debates.
For the younger children, I find it's really about creating self-discipline as a foundation first. -
BeContented:
Do keep cool.
Hi Mychildren, GLORYmum is correct. I have high BP = blood pressure .... after 3 years of monitoring, cannot bring down & was spiking wildly, so already on 3+years medication to control, I tend to get excited easilyMychildren:
GLORYmum,
U may be right. But I'll wait for her to tell me.
On your other posts to teach your kids yourself at home .... for me I would seriously not want to do that. Probably already :lightrod: dead if i try
Maybe that's why tho I would prefer kids not to have tuition if possible, I'm not totally adverse to it since there is a reason for their existence. How it evolves eventually depends on human behaviour & market force.
Eg. A child having 3 tuition for each subject (I just found out recently)..... So who should I look at for such issue - child/parent/teacher/MOE/existence of tuition industry?? Complex......I better not get excited again. 
This is true (those in blue). Chen, did your book mention anything about this too? Then, I'll be interested to get hold of one too.
I am with you on this SAHM_TAN. My first reaction when I read that these 2 Sec 2 students need tutors to discipline them to study was same as yours. If by their teens, children have so little self-discipline that they cannot carry out one of their primary responsibilities without CLOSE supervision... it is worrisome. These Sec 2 students are probably NOT destined for top management positions. When you come out to work and will only do your primary job because someone is watching you, no one will promote you.SAHM_TAN:
I was reading the write-up on tuition in the ST today. There were 2 sec level students who are doing well in their studies but opt for tuition so that they will be disciplined to study.
The article does not state if both had tuition when they were in primary school.
I was scared. I immediately worked with dd1 to get her set a schedule to learn her spelling and tingxie and let her take responsibility. I think to start small and gradually move on to bigger stuff like her many mini tests.
In the short term, you get the good grades. In the long-term, life will play you out because you lack an important life skill.
Even though it was tough in the last 2 years because DS' teachers taught simple stuff and tested really hard, I didn't bother to teach him or even learn his stuff. I opened the way to resources and taught him to self-learn and self-discipline. When DD was in IP, the self-directed independent study skills helped her surpass many who scored 10 points higher than her in PSLE.
Don't shortchange your kids long-term character development for short-term grades. I don't think it is worth it.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.