All About Getting Priority Registration
Dun want entrance exam lah… then PR can fight with SC again? I like it now that SC got privilege… It’s ok to ballot with a fellow SC and lose fair and square. Well, at least $$ can help if the address is so important. MOE didn’t say you cannot rent.
Still better than not having any privileges and fighting with everyone at an exam. Eh… PRs are also very kiasu and some are more Tiger mum than us… -
cherrygal:
i guess now more prs will chiong to apply to become scs, in the end still the same fight... we have to compete within more scs whole life as once the prs become scs, they will stay here forever as they dont have other place to go...Dun want entrance exam lah... then PR can fight with SC again? I like it now that SC got privilege... It's ok to ballot with a fellow SC and lose fair and square. Well, at least $$ can help if the address is so important. MOE didn't say you cannot rent.
Still better than not having any privileges and fighting with everyone at an exam. Eh... PRs are also very kiasu and some are more Tiger mum than us... -
Well, if they are good enough to be SC and want to serve NS etc… then welcome to the SC ballot. That’s what the govt wants… more able citizens. Even if the PRs dun become citizens, they will still stay here and fight for jobs etc.
OK lah, nothing we say now will change the MOE policies. Enuff said. Majority are happy for now. -
actually some countries quite side their own citizens, they admit "dual citizenship" in one way or another…even those prs convert to scs, their origin countries still treat them as so called "oversea citizens", or when they go back to their origin countries they can easily get back their origin citizenships, so no lost for them to convert to scs… and they can get all the benifits for being scs, not only for p1 registration but other subsidies, first hand housing etc…
maybe for this yr, we are happy to have less competes as a lot of prs may not have enough time to convert to scs and stand the same chance as scs in p1 registeration, but how about next yrs onwards… -
kitcat:
If remove all the priveleges/priorities in P1 registration, but introduce P1 enrollment test for each primary school, and base on kid's test result to decide whether can enter concern primary school, it looks more fair...
I dun think this is fair enough.
It will be like base on whether the child is bright enough to enter the school.
It will be hurt to parents and child if they reject as your child is not bright enough... :roll: -
Does anyone know how long to get Singapore citizenship? Besides the issue of citizenship, I believe many are thinking into renting an address and that will increase the rental fee.
mummy of 3:
actually it is same as sec school and uni entrance tests...I dun think this is fair enough.
It will be like base on whether the child is bright enough to enter the school.
It will be hurt to parents and child if they reject as your child is not bright enough... :roll: -
kitcat:
actually it is same as sec school and uni entrance tests...
Do we really want to subject our six year olds to entrance tests? As it is, PSLE, O-level and A-level are stressful enough, I really think that even if a child should go to a 'mediocre' primary school, so be it but really no need to force them to be so competitive at 6 year old, stress them out and perhaps shatter their self-confidence so early in life.
What is more impt is that MOE looks into the teaching quality of each school and even if the primary school doesn't seem 'branded', the quality of teaching is still high. A fact that will never change is that people look at 'branding' but if a children in 'non-branded' schools continue to do well, perception can change in the long-run.
Every child deserves quality education regardless of whichever primary school they go to. -
My friend’s son refused to go to the given branded secondary and junior college school because he was afraid of stress and also the school was a distance far away from their house. Now he is a doctor, graduate from NUS. So what is branded or non branded school?
hi kitcat,
may i know what are some countries that allow "dual" citizenship ?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.