2012 PSLE - final rundown

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    63 Posts 27 Posters 23.1k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

Must use brain one hah? I suddenly feel the urge to wallop the kueh ambon in my fridge. Lightly microwaved till just warmed through... yum.

No need to crack ur brain lah!
      d school's prelim results r olady out
      - can assess performance of each school's cohort fr there
      if sch provides a summary of results. šŸ˜‰

My DS' school? Nothing was given us. Not even class ranking. So exasperating right? They set so hard exams and didn't bother to crunch the data for parents. I give up. In another 2 months we will have left the school.

• Z Offline
        Zann

ruohoo97:
        Parents from one of my friend's girls school are holding prayer session through out exam period. We should do the same! Pray Pray pray

šŸ™ šŸ™ šŸ™

Lilo

Zann:
          ruohoo97:

Parents from one of my friend's girls school are holding prayer session through out exam period. We should do the same! Pray Pray pray

šŸ™ šŸ™ šŸ™

Yes šŸ™ make things work. I was in church at 745am to pray for all :rahrah:

Lilo

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
            Must use brain one hah? I suddenly feel the urge to wallop the kueh ambon in my fridge. Lightly microwaved till just warmed through... yum.

No need to crack ur brain lah!
            d school's prelim results r olady out
            - can assess performance of each school's cohort fr there
            if sch provides a summary of results. šŸ˜‰

My DS' school? Nothing was given us. Not even class ranking. So exasperating right? They set so hard exams and didn't bother to crunch the data for parents. I give up. In another 2 months we will have left the school.[/quote]My DD school only know who is the top 3 in each class. Don't even know who is no. 1 for each class. The girls would than hv to check the aggregate to find out who is no.1, 2, 3. It is also not the pupils culture to find out who gets what grade and aggregate. Good and bad. Good thing is it is not a Kiasu school. Bad is, you don't know where DC stand in terms of the cohort and national standard.

kiasuursula

A blast fr d past.

size of cohort (sc) in previous dragon year 2000 = 54,734
              which was a significant increase fr d three years preceding it
              sc1999 = 45,420, sc1998 = 40,021, sc1997 43,460

d sc of d three years preceding this dragon year 2012 is as follows:
              sc2011 = 45,261, sc2010 = 45,049, sc2009 = 48,541
              Going by d trend, guesstimate is d size of 2012 cohort shd be ard 53,500 +/- 500

d passing rates n d number of candidates who achieved A* - C for ENGLISH were consistently in d high 90%
              as following graph shows for years 2001 - 2010:
              http://i50.tinypic.com/33p9bh1.jpg\">

I have called MOE couple of weeks ago, being advised that there are approx. 49k (sc & foreign talent) of people are taking PSLE this year. :?
              I have checked with serveral sec. schools whether they are going to increase classes base on bigger cohart this year, they just said same as last year. :?
              Feedback to MOE, the staff just said no worry. Definitely there will be space for my kid. :xedfingers:

Chenonceau

Lilo:

My DD school only know who is the top 3 in each class. Don't even know who is no. 1 for each class. The girls would than hv to check the aggregate to find out who is no.1, 2, 3. It is also not the pupils culture to find out who gets what grade and aggregate. Good and bad. Good thing is it is not a Kiasu school. Bad is, you don't know where DC stand in terms of the cohort and national standard.
                NYPS gives projected t-score. I no need to know class placement but at least percentile charts for each subject lor... :frustrated:

Way2GO

Lilo:

My DD school only know who is the top 3 in each class. Don't even know who is no. 1 for each class. The girls would than hv to check the aggregate to find out who is no.1, 2, 3. It is also not the pupils culture to find out who gets what grade and aggregate. Good and bad. Good thing is it is not a Kiasu school. Bad is, you don't know where DC stand in terms of the cohort and national standard.
                  Does d sch at least provide d students' average, lowest/highest raw scores for each subject?
                  It is not too difficult nor too time consuming to churn out d relevant mean, SD for each sch once they hv all d raw scores of its cohort.
                  Cld d lack of statistics be due to lack of manpower. lack of knowledge at school level or wat?
                  Since MOE is already using dis statistical package, they can provide same to d schools, no?

Lilo

I have called MOE couple of weeks ago, being advised that there are approx. 49k (sc & foreign talent) of people are taking PSLE this year. :?

I have checked with serveral sec. schools whether they are going to increase classes base on bigger cohart this year, they just said same as last year. :?
                    Feedback to MOE, the staff just said no worry. Definitely there will be space for my kid. :xedfingers:[/quote]

Probably that explains the competition for DSA this year is rather keen. Your DC has CO - not so šŸ˜“

Way2GO

My DS' school? Nothing was given us. Not even class ranking. So exasperating right? They set so hard exams and didn't bother to crunch the data for parents. I give up. In another 2 months we will have left the school.
                      Exasperating? Definitely.
                      Any relevant info wld hv help parents to make final adjustments as deemed necessary.

mamago

W2G, I catch no ball leh, your graph...

Can kindly elaborate... like the debate you did, those I understood perfect...

Please...

(Sorry, I am a PR, never schooled here myself...)

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 7