P2 Math - General Discussion
Heyya EN,
I'm sure that many parents have different ways of \"helping\"
their children with this twisted common question. I suppose
its more of a language question than that of a Math one.
I agree that using a number line helps in working out the
answer, however a child is still to know what the question
asked for. Hence its more of knowing the basic - is it more
or is it less...
If a child is efficient in that understanding, i suppose no other
methods are needed for such a question. However, in the case
of your method, it sure is a quick way to come to an answer.
In order not to waste time pondering over just that one question,
in case of a dilemma kinda situation, children may wanna use that
kinda short cut. Tho my kiddie doesn't have too much of a problem
with similar concept questions ( so far - crossing fingers ), if i ever
do see her in doubt, i might use your method as a \"quick spare hand\".
For the understanding part, i suppose if workings are to be done..
If the question is, 5 is 1 less than _____?
Child may do working as in 5+1=6.
Now, when child proceeds to write answer as in 5 is 1 less than 6.
Its time for checkmate. I use this checkmate to help my kiddie assess
her answers after she has completed her sums. Mummy can't be there
to check for her all the time right? So, though most parents are in hot
pursuit of getting children how to find answers, the importance of how
to check the answers found, is of equal importance... ( to me! )
So, back to checkmate...
I teach my kiddie to check the answer by tracking backwards.
6-1=5. Does it give the answer back to the first given number - 5?
If yes, then now read the question again with the answer and justify
the accuracy. Child reads, 5 is 1 less than 6. Makes sense?
If correct, then checkmate. When we do it together, we'll even shout
out \"CHECKMATE\" loudly in unison as an achievement cheer. And that
makes her happy... So, makes me happy too lah. Hey, we're doing
mind boggling Math here! A smile or a luagh notes enjoying the activity
immensely. Now, how many children really.... truly... honest to goodness
enjoys Maths like its a hobby, right? Unless if its a potential Maths
professor / wizard or a Mathematician ala the guy in the movie -
A Beautiful Mind.
Her previous pre-school also taught her how to do the ball and strikes
kinda diagram, which is additional help ( for small numbers ). I also do
not mind her adding that to her workings to help her check.
I always remind her, when doing Maths paper the dirtier ( with workings )
the better, so the teacher can see how it took you great lengths to find
the answers to the questions. Unless a child has bionic-mental-claculation
mind, then the paper might be clean. Or else, don't tell me the answers
came down from the sky...
Similarly, on another typical P1 addition question without carry over.
>TU
>23
+55
____
____
For Maths, always start from right side numbers first.
The numbers aligned on the right are called units / ones.
Units are single digit numbers from 1 to 9. ( 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 )
3+5=8
Then, followed by... ( Numbers aligned beside the units called tens )
2+5=7
I was happy to silently observe that my kiddie carried out
the checkmate method i taught her. Hubs wud have just
screamed if she got the answer wrong and tell her to do it again.
I heard her whisper to herself....
\"Now, lets check 8-5=3 yeaiy.... and 7-5=2.... yeaiy..
Correct mummy... The answer is 78, and I already checked.
Checkmate!
Not to disillusion anyone here, this takes patience, practise and
discipline. Not a one-hit wonder kinda thing.. It worked for my
kiddie. If my sharing helped others along the way, that wud be a
plus..
Disclaimer : No one solution is generally applicable to all/everyone.
If yes, that there is one quick fix for all, then good.
Which only serves to point out that everyone has one-track mind.
Which we do not...
buds... signing out.
PS : EN, tks for sharing your method.
When in hair-pulling situation i'm glad i learnt it from you.
Much easier than my lor sor workings, definitely! Hahahaaa! -
Heyya Addoil,
Iβd love to cover this thing on counting with fingers.
One hand or both hands, right?
I have one way i do it with my kiddies.
Talk to you soon.
Now tired alreadyβ¦
PS - How have you and your kid been? -
Heyya Addoil,
Hi, i'm back now recharged a bit from the lack of sleep.
I hope you and your child are in good health
and enjoying happy moments together each day!
Now, to the counting part i promised to share...
For addition,
If say the question is a simple single digit addition.
5+5=___ Of course still enuf to use hands, right?
So, for 11+5=___ I share with my students and
kiddies this way to count, you can try it out if it
works for you and our child..
\"11 in your heart...\" ( Do action of placing one hand on heart )
\"5 in your hand...\" ( Since number is 5, one hand is sufficient )
Put up 5 fingers to show child.
\"After 11...\" ( Slowly close each finger as you add )
\"Is.... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16.\" ( Stop counting as you close the last finger )
\"So, 11+5 =16.\"
If the questions are +6 or more, then two hands are needed.
If you're preparing for Pri 1 Math, take note that the initial lessons
cover a lot on number bonds. If you start teaching number bonds
concept early, by Pri 1, it'll be more of a mental calculation more
than of a using hands and fingers method. ( Cause of regular practise )
Eg. Number Bonds 7
1+6=7
2+5=7
3+4=7
And certain times the number bonds can come in strings of 2 or 3
numbers. For eg...
1+2+4=7
2+3+2=7
So, if basic number bonds are introduced early, it'll be good!
Hope this helps!
Cheers.
:celebrate: -
Hi buds
Happy New Year to you and your family. Thks for your sharing and wishes.
11 in your heart and 5 in your hand, sure this will help us, is a good idea to work on it. I am still thinking how I am going to explain if the figure is more than 10.
Regarding Bond number, do you prepare a chart for them to be more understanding? Like list out the no.
1+6=7
2+5=7β¦
or just keep them busy on hand to count, and let them analyse themself then tell you, which group and which group can get the same answer 7. -

Heyya Addoil,
Tks for the wishes!
Glad you're doing great!
As for learning the number bonds,
hey, you know me! I'll always have
something fun for the kiddies, ay!
Like i always say, teaching shud
inspire and not perspire! Heheheh!
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Before i get to work on that, can
you tell me again the ages of your
child or children? This way i can
source for a more effective method
age-appropriate, ok..
Tamarind was sweet to provide a
tutorial for me to upload some info
here, so i think thru this way it can
help parents here visualize better..
Cos even as i explain in text here,
some parents may still not be able
to visualize what the heck i'm talking
about. So, visual aide wud be better!
Just like how the graphic tutorial from
tamarind helped me! Heeeheee..
Thanks, tam!
Looking forward to hearing from you
soon. Cheerios!
Hey buds
My boys is 4 & 2yo. ah yes, may I know what kind of checkmate you are mention? :? -
Heyya Addoil,
Forgot to mention one more thing, errrm...
i don't think there will come to a point where
you have to do 2 digits with another 2 digits
addition with the use of fingers. Means i don't
think you wud need a 3rd hand or the use of
toes anytime soon to assist the counting, for
the worry you're having. :lol: :lol: :lol:
It can only be that addition of such nature will
only be with a second number - up to the number 9.
ie. 11+9=____
In this case, 2 hands are still enough to use
to get the answer if child were to count using
fingers. If via written workings, then it shud
read :
>T U
>1 1
+ 9
____
____
Which in this case, again back to basics... always
add up the units first > 1+9=10, followed by adding
up the numbers in the tens column >
1+1=2 (extra number 1 carried over from the units answer of 10)
Okay, now lets say you're worried about the
double digit addtion procedure. Meaning... say
the question is 11+11=_____ ?
For this question, the working shud read :
>T U
>1 1
+1 1
____
____
So, it wud be back to, adding the units first which in
this case is just 1+1=2 and likewise for the numbers
aligned in the tens column, right?
No worries there, mama!
As long there is the initial introduction of the basic
mathematical concepts, at an early start, rest assured
the child would grasp the concepts in time for Pri 1 Maths!
Heyya Addoil,
Yohhh! Your eldest boy now just 4 years old!
Don't place your undue worries on the advance
stages of Maths, dear. Focus your attention and
energertic fun on clearing the step to instill basic
Math skill into him. With young children, teach one
thing at a time.. fun ways. So it won't stress him
out that he is expected to know everything all at
once. Take it easy.. You hang in there.. You'd do
great, slow and steady. 4 years old is the perfect
age to begin your introduction!
Before you begin the number bonds... Ensure your boy
knows and fully understands the quantity and written symbols
of 1-20 (perfectly, even better!). Means he knows the value of
each representation of numbers from 1-20. ie. He shud be able
to give you 17 pebbles when you ask him for it and he shud
preferably also know how to write the number 17 too, when
you ask him to write it.
Writing numbers same as letters, start from top to bottom.
Not from bottom top. Proper stroke of writing is equally
important to observe.. this will avoid those mirror image
problems.
PS : Checkmate method is a method of checking the answers..
backwards. This shud be done only when child is already very very
efficient with his addition sums. Students who are able to do the
checkmate method can check math sums on their own without
parent supervision. But in your case, you shouldn't worry about
it at the moment. Your time will come! Heheh!
:oops: pai se, maybe I am too ks liao
Anyway u r so kind still explain to me, thks!
My hard time will be coming soon, early mental preparation is no harm, right, and I really learn a lot from the parents here, very appreciate it. :love:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.