[Bishan] Primary Schools

1.5k Posts 231 Posters 595.3k Views 1 Watching
      smurf

Hey Ginger,

you receive the letter already?? I just received it...maybe our boys would be classmates! hahah.

it's ok lah, at least SJI (not junior) is very good...many ministers are from there...hahah...just have to train your boy to study hard hard lor...:)

I think it all depends on the child also lah sometimes, if my boy qualifies to go CHS, maybe he can't take the stress leh?? (just have to think it this way) I rather he enjoys going to school than to drag going to school! šŸ˜‰

• Y Offline
        yipee

what would you do in this situation:

- eligible for ATS due to clan association. Live within 1 km but still need balloting.
        - also eligible for KCPPS. guaranteed seat because did PV work.
        take a chance at ATS or KCP? HELP!

rejoice137

smurf:
          I totally agred with that! why ask for PV when the seats are not even enough? are they hoping for less catholic or less community leaders? I dun understand lor.

anyway, I think we are staying put at SJIJ, dun want to go thru balloting. šŸ˜›
          I believe when the parents signed up as pv, they know it is not guarantee. I am sure there are children going Chs via pv. If do away with pv, it will not be fair to those non-catholic students.

pokemon

yipee:

- eligible for ATS due to clan association. Live within 1 km but still need balloting.
            are u registering your kids this year? if you are living 1km of ATS and is a member of clan association, shd have very high chance of getting in during phase 2b,since balloting are for those living 1-2km.

• Y Offline
              yipee

ya. phase 2b. balloting for ATS starts <1km this year. 48 fighting for 37 seats. Worth a fight?

vicki

yipee:

Go for KCPPS - a bird in hand is worth more than 2 in the bush.

But in any case, registration over liao.

• tankeeT Offline
                  tankee

End of Phase 2B

School \\ Vacancy \\ # Registered

Ai Tong School 37 56
                  Catholic High School 9 48

Guangyang Primary School 65 0
                  Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Primary School 66 16

JonC

pokemon:

Plus Point- the psle cut off point for their sec is 235 this year (if im not wrong), just in case your child only get 1pt below the cut-off and if you are a pv who comply to school 'recall', mayb sch will be more willing to help. šŸ˜‰
                    Is it 235 or 230? I thought its 230 for this year P6 to next year Sec 1.

Or you mean last year P6 to this year Sec 1? I thought its 225?

Wah, how you know about the 1 point?

What about if the person PV 6 years just because of being Kaypo and no obligation, how many points?

smurf

rejoice137:
                      smurf:

I totally agred with that! why ask for PV when the seats are not even enough? are they hoping for less catholic or less community leaders? I dun understand lor.

I believe when the parents signed up as pv, they know it is not guarantee. I am sure there are children going Chs via pv. If do away with pv, it will not be fair to those non-catholic students.

I dunno...but I feel that doing PV is similar to exploiting. wasting people time and still not guarantee a place? If the sch wants to accept PVs, at least make sure that the seats are not too many if the sch is very popular? not too much to ask for right?

• MMMM Offline
                        MMM

rejoice137:
                        smurf:

I agree with Smurf on this. I suppose you don't need PV to be fair to non-catholic. Grassroot is another option.

My kids' school don't accept PV and it is a religious school. My ex-teacher told us that as demand has always been greater than supply, they don't want to accept PV as they don't want to disappoint parents who signed up as a PV and create unnecessary demand when there is only so much places they can offer.

Maybe CHS should rethink their PV policy.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 72 / 148