Catholic High (Primary)

1.9k Posts 150 Posters 664.2k Views 3 Watching
      JonC

Your DS last years batch is slightly better than this year I think and according to parents who DS1 last year and DS2 this year.

The top 10, 9 from GEP classes.

I think your DS2 2011 PSLE batch has better quality students.

This year, as you read from above post, the teacher, students and maybe some parents really work extra hard.

• phankaoP Offline
        phankao

JonC:
        Your DS last years batch is slightly better than this year.

The top 10, 9 from GEP classes.
        Yes. But last year's batch was also lacklustre. Mr Lee must be so disappointed.

Last year's top student 284, I think (in chs) and was from mainstream (non-gep). Yes, I know the boy who got 268 this year who is non-gep. He's from Chinese Orchestra. ;D

dreammom

Have not been hearing good news for 2 years…rather disappointed to hear most of the top school got a seat in the Top 10 list…except CHS!

meiah

Aiyah. Performance not so bad lah. Other than the not so top top scorer, the quality passes for each subject not bad leh. 94 boys scored 250 and above, so that computes to about 35% scoring 250 and above.

• phankaoP Offline
              phankao

meiah:
              Aiyah. Performance not so bad lah. Other than the not so top top scorer, the quality passes for each subject not bad leh. 94 boys scored 250 and above, so that computes to about 35% scoring 250 and above.

Last year, Mr Lee didn't even bother to go into the stats for subjects, ok. He just went on stage and said \"during exams, freak happens\", then he announced the top score, saying only 20+ students got 4A*, 100% pass, then \"bye-bye\". So it was really like \"watershed\".

Was there many more scoring 4A*s this year? This year CHS didn't even manage to be on the list of Schools with top scorers. At least last year have several.

meiah

Last year, Mr Lee didn't even bother to go into the stats for subjects, ok. He just went on stage and said \"during exams, freak happens\", then he announced the top score, saying only 20+ students got 4A*, 100% pass, then \"bye-bye\". So it was really like \"watershed\".

Was there many more scoring 4A*s this year? This year CHS didn't even manage to be on the list of Schools with top scorers. At least last year have several.
                Goodness! That's really mean of him. 4A*s this year not that many. Think about 10 odd only. Personally, I don't think it's very important to get into top scoring schools list. It's better to help the majority of pupils to do well. So high % in quality pass is more helpful. While many kids get A or A*, it's a bit sad that the T-scores are not very high. If you think CHS is not doing well, some other popular schools are not much better either.

• phankaoP Offline
                  phankao

meiah:

Goodness! That's really mean of him. 4A*s this year not that many. Think about 10 odd only. Personally, I don't think it's very important to get into top scoring schools list. It's better to help the majority of pupils to do well. So high % in quality pass is more helpful. While many kids get A or A*, it's a bit sad that the T-scores are not very high. If you think CHS is not doing well, some other popular schools are not much better either.

But generally like 70 to 80% of the population would get A/A*, even for Mother Tongue - it was reported in the newspapers, wasn't it? So getting A or A* is not too special. It is the overall T-score that so totally matters.

Well, bc 2 years ago, and the year before, CHS were having super rah-rah years, performing superbly at PSLE and being 2nd in nation for math, that's why Mr Ammiel Wan was so looked upon for introducing the new way of teaching math in CHS. And then they did away with texbooks etc. But after that year, no more \"magic\".

meiah

😉 Well, life goes on... As for textbooks, other schools are also slowly phasing out textbooks. No idea if it's good or bad thing.

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

meiah:
                      😉 Well, life goes on... As for textbooks, other schools are also slowly phasing out textbooks. No idea if it's good or bad thing.

After last year's lacklustre performance, the pressure was really piled high on my younger son's cohort (p5). So much extra work and classes.

Can imagine now after an even worse year where CHS as a GEP school failed to even get into the top schools' list. I think their next year's p5 & p6 cohort - *faint* liao.

meiah

No need to think of next year’s P6. This year’s already worked very hard. Past years papers do by the thick ring file. Everyday bring dunno how many ring files to school. Supp class almost everyday. Sat also kenna. But still, I think my ds’ teachers really worked very hard too. They like on steroids, keep pushing the boys. My ds no external tuition also feel homework up to the neck, dun even want to do the books I bought for him!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 47 / 192