Bukit Timah Primary
Hi Eddy,
Good to hear that your DS has enjoyed their activities. I did not manage to attend any of the Pri schools Open House events as I am unaware of them. Every child is precious, and it is only natural that parents want the best for their child, be it qualitative or quantitative. I believe that BTPS is an upcoming school which will eventually win the hearts of parents in the Bt Timah vicinity. It is crucial that teachers are patient towards all learners and we have all heard of numerous stories of the difference that a teacher is able to make in a student's learning journey. All the best to your DS and your family :celebrate: -
huaywenandkenneth:
Actually 26 something in PSLE is already very good. If my children can get 250 and above I ll be pleased already. If all the top students decide to transfer out after P3 for GEP, then the results will likely stagnate. Perhaps the school can think about how to stem the \"brain-drain\" of these top students.Yes. Many come in through the last day of 2C, or during 2C supp, when they are balloted out of their choice school or they are not SC/PR I think. Judging from the \"hot\" nearby battlegrounds, this scenario is likely to repeat itself.
I am also a little worried about the PSLE results last year. Top student's score was not too impressive to me (26something...) but I think things may change as we move along. What was good a few years ago may not be good now, or may get better; and vice versa. Keeping tab on this year's PSLE results again... -
\"Study-work-life balance is the top priority in my family. I want my DS and family to have a life at home. I prefer 'teach more, learn more, homework less'.\"
Agree. My motto too.
OK lah, maybe my standard too high... if my son gets 26something for his PSLE I will be over the moon
. Will need to add my PSLE score and my hubby's divide by two to get his \"genetic\" PSLE score....and it is definitely not near 26something lor (kena \"pulled down\" by hubby :evil: )
Difficult to curb brain drain... when all the good school beckons you... but I should be staying on, even if son qualifies for GEP. Better to be happy big fish in small pond than to be unhappy small fish in big ocean.
May all the new parents and children enjoy BTPS next year (more will join in P2C Supp)! -
Agree. I will post this question to the principal and vice principal during the upcoming orientation. I think should really address such issue constructively with MOE so that the whole school’s academic performance and popularity other than being holistic can grow in the right direction rather than being stagnant. The kids and parents will feel greater sense of belonging and more proud of the school. All top schools started from ground zero anyway but they made effort to stem brain drain to bring them to where they are right now.
In truth, the school’s performance is pretty good, taking in consideration the ‘brain drain’ problem as well as its non drilling status (not as bad as some schools). If we examined the PSLE results closely, BTPS performs above the national average in all 3 subjects. It is Chinese that pulled the overall results down. So, if the school can ‘drill’ the students in Chinese like many other schools, I am sure BTPS will produce more students with stellar results.
Hi Davincci46, thank you for the compliment.
Hi Sagacious.sg, I can feel sincerity from the school. All the best to your kid too.
Hi Huaywenandkenneth, thanks for agreeing. Life will be meaningless if there is no life. -
So quiet.
Hi, I like Btps.
Young, DD was a slow learner and blur.
The teachers are nice, lovely and constantly give her support.
A nice school for her to learn happily. -
Hi good to hear that. My DS childcare will have 2 classmates joining him too next year
at least he has some companion there for the start. -
sagacious.sg:
Frankly speaking, if boys score between 250-255, hard to get into a top school though the scores are fantastic. If you look at the COP of many good school, is >255. Sigh.. .For girls, at least can try SCGS, MGS, Cresent, etc.
Actually 26 something in PSLE is already very good. If my children can get 250 and above I ll be pleased already. If all the top students decide to transfer out after P3 for GEP, then the results will likely stagnate. Perhaps the school can think about how to stem the \"brain-drain\" of these top students.huaywenandkenneth:
Yes. Many come in through the last day of 2C, or during 2C supp, when they are balloted out of their choice school or they are not SC/PR I think. Judging from the \"hot\" nearby battlegrounds, this scenario is likely to repeat itself.
I am also a little worried about the PSLE results last year. Top student's score was not too impressive to me (26something...) but I think things may change as we move along. What was good a few years ago may not be good now, or may get better; and vice versa. Keeping tab on this year's PSLE results again...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.