De La Salle
Dear Ramya: Welcome! in fact i got no idea whether P2 will be in morning or afternoon. I personally prefer afternoon session as the kid no need to wake up so early.
Anna Ng:
Why thank me?Thanks for all the posting & sharing, definitely I not alone.
Thanks for our KiasuGrandMaster VI = Buds
:thankyou:
:oops: My kiddies ain't even DLS-ians.. :oops:
I just kaypoh here in your support group, since
i've been quite active in the CCK Pri Sch threads
last year with you guys... plus i had ex-students
from DLS... so like i said, i KPO here nia. Paiseh. :siam: -
While MOE is trying to get all schools to be single session by
2013 or was it 2016... :? ... some schools are pretty small
hence will need time for some reno work or even extension
to school space. My DDs school lets the P1s and P2s come
in the afternoon and the rest all morning... until the school
can accomodate everyone for single session. I suppose if
the schools aren't renovating or adding more classroom
space, then it would just mean it would be harder to get
into CCK schools which are already quite hot as it is but
will get worse if they cut down P1 intake! A couple of schs
cut their intake by at least down to one class size.. which
is 30 to 35 places less... for last year's intake. -
Hey mummies, my dd’s form teacher confirmed there is NO change of class after this term. Only change group or setting arrangement. Which is good, dun stress our kids too early. Learning should be fun !!!
Ideally it should lah.. be fun, i mean..
But not for long though.. cos there
will be a need for seriousness when
the children move up to upper pri...
Then again, fun aspect also depends
a lot on the teacher himself / herself
as well. Teachers who use initiative
to make learning interesting, WILL
definitely go the extra mile!
Dear All:
First of all I would like to say thanks to all the cybermates who willing to listen and share with me last few days. I would like to update my condition here.
Yesterday my son brought back all the exam papers, guess what? My son scored 76 in math. Last Saturday he cried and told me that he only scored 46 and failed. I not sure how he made such mistake but this was really a good news to my family.
From this incident I really learn one thing “Appreciate”. If without this “46 marks incident”, definitely I will scold him for only scoring 76 (when I went through the paper, I will expect him to scored at least 85 above with no careless mistakes). However, with this “46 marks incident”, I appreciated my son scored 76 but not 46, I appreciated he is a healthy and happy boy and I appreciated he only made few careless mistakes but not a lot.
After checking through the MT and Eng papers, in “normal circumstances”, definitely he will scolded by me, the results were out of my expectation & can say not so good. But “surprisingly” I did not angry at all (a bit upset lah), because I appreciated he pass all the papers. We have a very wonderful night yesterday (which seldom has during the exam preparation period). We went through the papers together and joked with each others. I also taught him some new things and he can understand and remember well.
:love:
Last, I appreciated that I learn something from your after this “46 marks incident” and I have a new strategy how to help my son in future (lion roar does not work with him, must soft like rabbit ) and believe that he can do better in future.
Sorry and thanks for those “wasting “ your time to me in the past few days. :thankyou: -
Hi Buds, fully agree that to make learning "fun" is not easy. Efforts required from teachers, parents and kids. But I find the education system here extremely stressful. For instant, DLS SA P1 - Maths; is it necessary to twist & twist the questions till kids can’t understand, confused and feeling lousy in getting low marks ? Seriously, after reviewed the exam questions last night, I really pity our young P1 kids. To pass the exam should have no problem but to score full or high marks it is quite challenging.
Anna, I like your New \"46%\" appreciation and prospective !!! Thanks. I am learning from you. :celebrate:
mvelle09:
Anna, I like your New \"46%\" appreciation and prospective !!! Thanks. I am learning from you. :celebrate:
ha ha ha! last sat this 46% made me crazy and so down. -
For MT - there is this question where a boy was sitting in front of a table full of meat, fish, veggie and rice. Kid is expect to describe the picture in words. Correct answer is \"chi fan\" but my dd wrote down \"shi wu\" which is wrong of course. When I asked her y not \"Chi fan\", she said \"I checked, the boy didn't open his mouth in picture, how to eat !!! :stupid:
ha ha ha !! How to scold Or be upset with our lovely and innocent kids ?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.