De La Salle
baby2momma:
mvelle09
Ya lor - yr girl is so good !!!!! :celebrate:mvelle09:
Hi Anna, your ds's MT not bad leh. Better than my dd, must start to communicate in Chinese and read Chinese story books for dd. We didn't speak Chinese at home at all. Grandma, daddy, helpers all speak to my girls in English. Hence it is tough for me to manage MT.
My dd's result.
MT - 53.5/ 65
Eng - 44.5/50
Maths - 98/100
No sure about the paper1 for MT and English. Jia You !! Enjoy holidays and coach better next term.
and my ds alwiz tell me yr dd is such a sweet girl....
unlike my playful boy...sigh...
Well done.
baby2momma
Boys are generally more playful and careless during this age. My boy didn't check his maths/english exam. After he finished his work, he coloured the picture nicely instead. I can not remember which paper (EN/Math) got picture to be coloured though.
I asked him, you color so nicely got additional mark? He said, no, but the teacher said if has finished work, can color. I was :stupid: -
As what mvelle09 said “How to scold Or be upset with our lovely and innocent kids”. Just let them be and don “fix & frame” them as what we want.
After the “lion” become “rabbit” (I mean I change fr hard approach to soft approach”, my son got some improvement these few days. Guess what? Yesterday we were doing some assessment questions at home, when he finished the last question, he said: “ don mark my paper first, I want to double check”.
My hubby said:”something wrong with him”.
Anyway, he not really “double check”, but I still feel so sweet. -
Anna Ng:
I only give him some past year exam papers to do before exam. Exam is over and now u still give him some assessment to do? My son will protest first if I do that.As what mvelle09 said “How to scold Or be upset with our lovely and innocent kids”. Just let them be and don “fix & frame” them as what we want.
After the “lion” become “rabbit” (I mean I change fr hard approach to soft approach”, my son got some improvement these few days. Guess what? Yesterday we were doing some assessment questions at home, when he finished the last question, he said: “ don mark my paper first, I want to double check”.
My hubby said:”something wrong with him”.
Anyway, he not really “double check”, but I still feel so sweet. -
Too "shocked" of the exam result, so no choice. But my son likes the "rabbit" and never complain. I give him about 10 math questions and plays with him after that. He is happy with this. He also bring back some homeworks from school.
Hi Anna, so happy for you. I guess I will have to adopt the \"rabbit\" approach when dealing with no 2. She is the 100% opp from her big Jie Jie. My no 1 girl is very focus and determine. In fact, I hardly coach her ( as I travel quite a fair bit ) except maths that was after received SMS from her teacher. The kakak ( helpers ) will make sure she completes the homework and 20 mins for piano. After that she is free to play, draw or read books . But she only interested in english books leh
Ultimately, be able to read well is the key advantages to both English and Maths. Especially in handling those twist and turn maths questions. Ya, my dd is attending the MPM maths which put her in advance of her peer. No worries, step by step. Let's make learning fun for both kids and mummies. see, Anna is progressing well. Jia you. -
mvelle09:
Where is the MPM Maths?Hi Anna, so happy for you. I guess I will have to adopt the \"rabbit\" approach when dealing with no 2. She is the 100% opp from her big Jie Jie. My no 1 girl is very focus and determine. In fact, I hardly coach her ( as I travel quite a fair bit ) except maths that was after received SMS from her teacher. The kakak ( helpers ) will make sure she completes the homework and 20 mins for piano. After that she is free to play, draw or read books . But she only interested in english books leh
Ultimately, be able to read well is the key advantages to both English and Maths. Especially in handling those twist and turn maths questions. Ya, my dd is attending the MPM maths which put her in advance of her peer. No worries, step by step. Let's make learning fun for both kids and mummies. see, Anna is progressing well. Jia you. -
When your girl starts to learn piano? my girl is keen also, she is age 4 now. Since i have to control my budget, so i cannot anyhow spend money, no point to send her to learn piano if she cannot understand.
Ya, one more thing to share. I never force my dd to do lots of assessment or works. I make it short and sharp as I want quality not quantity. So about 5 questions each time and she will need to do it when there is no h/w from school. If she didn’t or forgot to do, I will ask her when can I have those questions done ? I will let her commit the date. Any questions she doesn’t how to do, she will marked it with a Big "W". Mean Wait for mummy.
I think they are too young so must do it slowly, teach them to balance between "play" and "work". Normally once she finished her work she is free to play. They are very smart so the "work" must be reasonable can’t be too much else they won’t follow the rules. So far so good for me. -
mvelle09:
I just laern from mistake after i got the exam result. This is 100% work for the kid.Ya, one more thing to share. I never force my dd to do lots of assessment or works. I make it short and sharp as I want quality not quantity. So about 5 questions each time and she will need to do it when there is no h/w from school. If she didn't or forgot to do, I will ask her when can I have those questions done ? I will let her commit the date. Any questions she doesn't how to do, she will marked it with a Big \"W\". Mean Wait for mummy.
I think they are too young so must do it slowly, teach them to balance between \"play\" and \"work\". Normally once she finished her work she is free to play. They are very smart so the \"work\" must be reasonable can't be too much else they won't follow the rules. So far so good for me. -
Anna Ng:
When your girl starts to learn piano? my girl is keen also, she is age 4 now. Since i have to control my budget, so i cannot anyhow spend money, no point to send her to learn piano if she cannot understand.
Started her at \"4\" but stop after 2 months. Cos I dun think she was ready at that time. Didn't show much interest then Restarted her when she was about 5.5. She will have her grade 2 exam in June 2010. Her teacher said she can skip grade 1 and prepare her for grade 2 directly. ( her school - Cck that HDB buliding - Ossia Musiz school ) starter is about $68/month. Lesson is only 30 mins once/week.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.