Maha Bodhi

3.1k Posts 132 Posters 915.6k Views 1 Watching
    • MMMM Offline
      MMM

vlim:
      my p3 dd brought back the thick hard cover H.M reading book yesturday. She loves the stories in it. I also found it pretty interesting with nice pictures illustrations. From the stories, they are able to learn more vocab too .. 😄

Yes, I agree. The stories are very interesting and very colorful pages. Some of the stories ask try to get the kids to think and they can only do so if they understand the stories. It's definitely not the pick from the passage kind of answers. By seeing this book, I have stronger confidence in the choice of HM. They are introduce to comprehension, vocabulary and other things. Meanwhile for the grammar, they are using the separate grammar book.

However, only by seeing the CA paper then can I get a idea of what is really tested.

My only complaints so far is the book is rather heavy.

• MMMM Offline
        MMM

lostbunny:
        Admummy:

hi parents of MBPS,

noted from MOE website that MBPS is classified as partial single session school (i.e. pri 1 and 2 afternoon session):

http://www.moe.gov.sg/initiatives/single-session/

any idea when will the school switch to single session totally? for single session, what is the timing?

thank you..

Hi Admummy,

If the school continues to take in 330 students every year, it is very difficult for them to move to single session. They do not have enough classrooms. I had been hoping that by next year they will move to single session as I will have a p1 and a p3 next year. But I think single session next year is not possible at all.

Before they moved to the ubi site, I recalled the principal mentioning that it's not possible for them to reduce 330 students intake due to existing demand (eg. siblings joining school, SBF, etc...). So they will not be able to move to single session in the near future.

• lostbunnyL Offline
          lostbunny

[Before they moved to the ubi site, I recalled the principal mentioning that it's not possible for them to reduce 330 students intake due to existing demand (eg. siblings joining school, SBF, etc...). So they will not be able to move to single session in the near future.

I heard about this also. Heard that when they moved back to the ubi site, there was no plans to move to single session totally. Think when they were planning the ubi site, MOE has not announced that all schools should move towards single session. So I think the only way to move to single session is to expand the school premise by having a new block and that would mean time also. I wonder how is MOE is addressing this issue for MBS. Give them the empty plot of land next to the school so that they can build 1 more block?

chasingjelly

peggy:
            Sports Day ?? Not that I heard of !!!

Thanks for your reply. No need to shout.

• 7 Offline

chasingjelly - if you have read this jan’s newsletter, you would recall that the school has done away with the upper primary annual sports meet. in place will be a mass sports day (i can’t recall the exact term but it’s meant for more students to participate rather than a selected few good ones) which will be held in term 2 week 10.

chasingjelly

7788:
                chasingjelly - if you have read this jan's newsletter, you would recall that the school has done away with the upper primary annual sports meet. in place will be a mass sports day (i can't recall the exact term but it's meant for more students to participate rather than a selected few good ones) which will be held in term 2 week 10.

That was what I read too but looking at the Primary 2 Spelling List, there will be no spelling next week due to the sports day and hence I wanted to ask if there has been a error in the schedule.

• MMMM Offline
                  MMM

lostbunny:

[Before they moved to the ubi site, I recalled the principal mentioning that it's not possible for them to reduce 330 students intake due to existing demand (eg. siblings joining school, SBF, etc...). So they will not be able to move to single session in the near future.

I heard about this also. Heard that when they moved back to the ubi site, there was no plans to move to single session totally. Think when they were planning the ubi site, MOE has not announced that all schools should move towards single session. So I think the only way to move to single session is to expand the school premise by having a new block and that would mean time also. I wonder how is MOE is addressing this issue for MBS. Give them the empty plot of land next to the school so that they can build 1 more block?

Not sure if that is desirable (eg. 1 block) as the construction will be very noisy for all students since they can only work from 9-5pm?

• lostbunnyL Offline
                    lostbunny

lostbunny:

[quote=\"MMM\"][Before they moved to the ubi site, I recalled the principal mentioning that it's not possible for them to reduce 330 students intake due to existing demand (eg. siblings joining school, SBF, etc...). So they will not be able to move to single session in the near future.

Not sure if that is desirable (eg. 1 block) as the construction will be very noisy for all students since they can only work from 9-5pm?[/quote]That's true hor... so no solution unless they move to a new and bigger school.

vlim

Hooray … Tomorrow last ca1 paper for my dd Liao… Preparing the kid for ca1 is pretty Sian as it is not too far away from cny…

• 7 Offline

chasingjelly- think they have forgotten to amend the spelling list. i am pretty sure there is no sports meet for the upper primary next week as to date there is not a single house practice, a definite prelude to the sports meet in the past years.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 106 / 313