Maha Bodhi
Wolfgirl:
Parents with kids in upper Pri, how do you prepare the kids for transition from pm to am session???
2 weeks before school reopen, I got DS2 to sleep at 8.30pm so that it becomes a routine for him. -
Hi lost bunny (nice nickname! :-))
Thanks for your replies.
For Chinese banding, from what I understand, there will be 2 best Chinese class in P2 usually. May I ask, how is the Chinese banding done from p3 to p6? Can I trouble you to shed some light again? Thanks.
As for maths, starting from term 3 in p1 this year, the weaker students are banded in one class and taught by another teacher during maths whereas the rest stay put in same classroom. The purpose is to help the weaker students to build up their maths foundation on top of the learning support programme that they attend in the mornings. Just for sharing for 2015 P1 parents. From what I know, 1 to 4 students from each class roughly. -
Wolfgirl:
Oops you just disclosed your age! :razz:FantasyLandDreams:
The below just for sharing purpose.
He was the student who scored the highest t-score in Maha Bodhi in 1988 and his name is on the wooden score board in the school hall under the year 1988:
http://www.chungchenghighmain.moe.edu.s ... id=1125547
He used to get first in standard every year back then in Maha Bodhi and became a scholar subsequently.
Ehhhh I am from that batch. PSLE in 1988. Dun remember such a person. Top student is a girl, from my class leh.
Ok lah, on a serious note, for my year, there is no such banding, basically we just move up enbloc and stay in the same class for all 6 years. So I was very happy to see 4 other classmates in school recently and all our children are same age somemore, hence we were joking that we should organise a get together to intro the kids to one another hahaha. Yeah I miss those good old days too in geylang campus. The other day I chance upon a MBS alumni facebook page and found some old classmates even, let me paste the link here later if I managed to find it again.... -
FantasyLandDreams:
Hi,Hi lost bunny (nice nickname! :-))
Thanks for your replies.
For Chinese banding, from what I understand, there will be 2 best Chinese class in P2 usually. May I ask, how is the Chinese banding done from p3 to p6? Can I trouble you to shed some light again? Thanks.
As for maths, starting from term 3 in p1 this year, the weaker students are banded in one class and taught by another teacher during maths whereas the rest stay put in same classroom. The purpose is to help the weaker students to build up their maths foundation on top of the learning support programme that they attend in the mornings. Just for sharing for 2015 P1 parents. From what I know, 1 to 4 students from each class roughly.
I actually haven't been following how the school do the CL banding and also did not go and find out how many best CL classes are there in each level. I recall DS2 telling me that everyone in his class (3i) are in the same CL class. As for DS1, he did have classmates from other classes in his cl class. Usually I'm more concern about who is the CL teacher.
As for Math banding in p4, it is different from what they do for p1/2s. The school will give a briefing on this. The good classes do more things like they get to do some Maths Olympiad. For weaker students, they may just do the core foundation syllabus. -
Hi lostbunny,
Thanks! -
Hi
I m registering my twin boys for p1 nxt yr. First timer here. Can anyone help me by sharing on any information on mbs? Eg niche area, teachers, new P, whether school is holistic in nurturing the kids.
Thnx -
FantasyLandDreams:
Hi FantasyLandDreams,Hi lostbunny,
Thanks!
I just asked my DSs. DS1 says this year for p5, there are only 4 HCL classes. Not sure if there is any so called best class. As for DS2 who is in p3, he said think its 1 or 2. Actually my boys are quite bochap about all these so I hardly can gather much info from them. -
Anyone happen to know whether there will be an increase in school bus fare for next year? -
lostbunny:
My girl's Chinese Teacher says that everyone takes HCL in MBS. They want to allow most/all kids to have the equal opportunity and to build a stronger foundation in Chinese. Maybe all use the same textbook (HCL) and some teachers may skip the HCL 深广 portion for the weaker students.
Hi FantasyLandDreams,FantasyLandDreams:
Hi lostbunny,
Thanks!
I just asked my DSs. DS1 says this year for p5, there are only 4 HCL classes. Not sure if there is any so called best class. As for DS2 who is in p3, he said think its 1 or 2. Actually my boys are quite bochap about all these so I hardly can gather much info from them.
Must check with P5/6 parents whether there are CL and HCL textbooks on booklist.
In P6 then they will decide who takes HCL at PSLE. -
lostbunny:
Thanks Lostbunny,Wolfgirl:
Parents with kids in upper Pri, how do you prepare the kids for transition from pm to am session???
2 weeks before school reopen, I got DS2 to sleep at 8.30pm so that it becomes a routine for him.
Ooops... my girl reaches home at 9pm on most weekdays. Ok, must get her in bed by 9.15pm.
I guess the night before school reopening will be too exciting.... hehehe, I always have sleepless nights.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.