Maha Bodhi
bunnybluey:
Thanks - 2A!Kismet123:
Thanks! My son is enrolled for P1 next year - will be good to connect with other “dragon” parents! :rahrah:
Oh, congrats! He got in via which phase?
Can I check what is the arrangement like now that the school is single session? What time does school start/end? -
bunnybluey:
Yes. Band is very very good. The instructor is super.Kismet123:
Hi everyone, I’m new to the forum. Can I check what CCAs are good in MBS and how much time do they take up? Are CCAs also mandatory? Thanks!
I only know MBS is well known for their band. There'll definitely be extra practices during SYF years, so the children do have to spend quite a bit of time if get into band.
CCAs are incorporated into the curriculum on Thursday for P3-P6, so lessons end at 3.45pm on Thursday. Hence, if the child doesn't take up a CCA, not sure what the child would do during the 2 hours of CCA, would recommend the child to take up a CCA to learn something instead of wasting 2 hours of time. -
Just thought I’d leave the following data behind for Maha Bodhi School this year for benefit of the data collators and other parents, as I am out of the rat race and buay Kiasu liao:
Totally vacancies: 330.
Take up rate
Phase 1: 171
Phase 2A1: 58
Phase 2A2: 44, 4 subsequent withdrawals so incremental is 40.
Phase 2B: 31, balloting at above 2km for Singaporeans.
Phase 2C: 30. Should be balloting within 1km for Singaporeans.
Good luck. -
Peiliang:
Based on history is it common for balloting 1km for 2C?Just thought I'd leave the following data behind for Maha Bodhi School this year for benefit of the data collators and other parents, as I am out of the rat race and buay Kiasu liao:
Totally vacancies: 330.
Take up rate
Phase 1: 171
Phase 2A1: 58
Phase 2A2: 44, 4 subsequent withdrawals so incremental is 40.
Phase 2B: 31, balloting at above 2km for Singaporeans.
Phase 2C: 30. Should be balloting within 1km for Singaporeans.
Good luck. -
Kismet123:
Thanks - 2A!bunnybluey:
[quote=\"Kismet123\"]Thanks! My son is enrolled for P1 next year - will be good to connect with other “dragon” parents! :rahrah:
Oh, congrats! He got in via which phase?
Can I check what is the arrangement like now that the school is single session? What time does school start/end?[/quote]School starts at 7.30am, ends at 1.45pm.
Can drive into school to drop off kids from 7am-7.25am.
Pick up kids after school for P1&2 will be at the side gate basketball court. (No drive in allowed) -
Those within 2km all got in.
Congratulations to all.
Any idea how many balloted for >2km? My Husband went to the school to check and they refused to divulge the numbers. -
Personal gut feel is between 1-5 places for those more than 2km away. After applying, I called up the school to check a few times as I was within 1-2km… Reply was a very cautious, so far safe, but quite dangerous and cannot confirm. First day had 37 applications for 29 places. After that had another 2 more places, but end of second day had 10 more applications.
I don’t understand your question.
The 2 are mutually exclusive events from where one stays.
B) Endorsement by SBF committee member. Letters are provided to those endorsed. One can stay more than 2km away too.
C) active community leader basically means serving as grass roots leader within Marine Parade GRC for 2 years and more and had received an endorsement letter from PA. You can stay more than 2km away too given size of Marine Parade GRC.
If you did not qualify for phase 2B, you can only try to enter via phase 2C. 30 places up for grabs with priority for SCs. Tie breaker in this case will be distance. So, if 30 or lesser SCs within 1km try for the school, then this group will not have to ballot, but if more than 30 SCs staying within 1km applies for MBS, balloting will take place. -
Peiliang:
Personal gut feel is between 1-5 places for those more than 2km away. After applying, I called up the school to check a few times as I was within 1-2km... Reply was a very cautious, so far safe, but quite dangerous and cannot confirm. First day had 37 applications for 29 places. After that had another 2 more places, but end of second day had 10 more applications.
Agree... within 1 to 2 km.... just scraped thru. If u have gotten in via 2B balloting, u are very lucky. -
Puppy26:
Yes. I agree I am very very very extremely lucky to get in through balloting. That’s why I am curious how many vacancies were opened for balloting for people staying >2km.Peiliang:
Personal gut feel is between 1-5 places for those more than 2km away. After applying, I called up the school to check a few times as I was within 1-2km... Reply was a very cautious, so far safe, but quite dangerous and cannot confirm. First day had 37 applications for 29 places. After that had another 2 more places, but end of second day had 10 more applications.
Agree... within 1 to 2 km.... just scraped thru. If u have gotten in via 2B balloting, u are very lucky.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.