Rulang Primary
Dear all,
I thought I'll just compile the list here for our easy reference. If you have anything to add or if I had input wrongly, please let me know so that I can edit it. TIA
Rulangnites parents / parents-to-be:
1. ttyh - DS P1 2009 - Robotics
2. Lock - DS P1 2010 (1G) - Chinese Orchestra, Robotics
3. Shu - DD P1 2010 (1J)
4. Pineapple - DS P1 2010 (1D)
5. gab1731 - DS P1 2010 (1J)
6. love_mum - DD P2 2009
7. starlight1968sg - DD P4 2009
8. hot-opp
9. RRMummy - DD P1 2011
10 pjlee25 - DD P1 2011 -
RRMummy:
:thankyou: for taking time for the detailed sharing Lock!
Firstly, kudos to you as your foresight on the Cl 1-1 lessons paid-off! :boogie:
your sharing makes me feel much more at ease... I'm in a similar situation as you.. my DD1 when in K1 told me she is English not Chinese gal! :faint: That really made us panicked and we sent her to Berries since..
She is less resistant now but we don't speak the language with her... she is also very talkative and I suppose she will also be forced to speak the language if she wants more friends :lol: :lol:
TWow, Chinese Orchestra and Calligraphy.. cheem.. my gal said she want Wushu :roll:
BTW, how much do you pay for the lessons? Once a week on a weekday morning / Saturday?
So great to hear that you and your DS is happy there..
:celebrate: :celebrate:
The CL tutor comes once a week. The fees is $40/hr. I know she is expensive but she is really good and I can see result.
Actually he joins Robotics and Chinese Orchestra as enrichments because he wld only join Chinese Orchestra if I let him join robotics.
But frankly 2 enrichments are really quite taxing on him as he had to make sure he finished his homework on the nights before the enrichments. So next yr I will only let him join 1.
Calligraphy is part of the curriculum but have to go to sch slightly earlier. It's on every Wed from 12.30pm-2pm -
Tmr is SA2 for Maths. i am throwing 6 Maths paper to my ds now. So it is a marathon maths from 8pm to 10pmβ¦
But seems like I am more stress than him! -
RRMummy:
kaypoh..kaypoh a bit....Lock:
I hope you don't mind me asking... as my gal also very 'kantang', please share your DS's journey with CL this year.. :please:
Please share on how he manage, the preparation required and his overall feeling now etc etc..
:thankyou: in advance
Speak chinese with your gal at home. And I mean 100% chinese.
This is the only and fastest way to cultivate/train her.
How often you heard of someone learning a foreign language like Japanese, German and complain that they have no one else to practise daily except when going back to the class?
As for Englis, they will learn it automatically in School.
I asked my ds what language he used to converse with his classmates during non-lesson time in Rulang, his answer - English... -
ttyh:
:!: Wow!!! 6 papers in 2 hours!!Tmr is SA2 for Maths. i am throwing 6 Maths paper to my ds now. So it is a marathon maths from 8pm to 10pm....
But seems like I am more stress than him!
U ARE commiting mindless drilling!! :laugh:
Seriously, he doesn't protest at all? When have you started passing him past years papers? K2? -
Lock:
Hi Lock,
The CL tutor comes once a week. The fees is $40/hr. I know she is expensive but she is really good and I can see result.
Actually he joins Robotics and Chinese Orchestra as enrichments because he wld only join Chinese Orchestra if I let him join robotics.
But frankly 2 enrichments are really quite taxing on him as he had to make sure he finished his homework on the nights before the enrichments. So next yr I will only let him join 1.
Calligraphy is part of the curriculum but have to go to sch slightly earlier. It's on every Wed from 12.30pm-2pm
$40/hr - really very steep but then again if you do see results..
Smart boy.. know how to bargain his way..
Thanks for the tip that 2 is too much.. coz i was thinking of telling DD1 that she can have Wushu and something else..
so which one will it be for you next year? :evil: Mummy's choise or ah boi's choice? :evil:
Calligraphy part of curriculum.. i.e. no need to pay extra, right? cool!!
ttyh:
No la.. dun say kaypoh.. i really appreciate all the comments and suggestions you all are sharing.. very important for newbie P1 parent like me
kaypoh..kaypoh a bit....
Speak chinese with your gal at home. And I mean 100% chinese.
This is the only and fastest way to cultivate/train her.
How often you heard of someone learning a foreign language like Japanese, German and complain that they have no one else to practise daily except when going back to the class?
As for Englis, they will learn it automatically in School.
I asked my ds what language he used to converse with his classmates during non-lesson time in Rulang, his answer - English...
Yes, I remember back in August that you had advised me to go all out in speaking Chinese.. we tried.. uh, but almost naturally the English sneaks in.. :oops: old habits die hard... hard to teach old dogs new tricks.. :oops:
Mummy chiak kantang one so lost of words la when need to go 100% chinese... die liao... :stupid: :stupid: :stupid: -
Next yr will try to brainwash boy boy to take up violin (though he wants to continue with robotics). Will see how the negotiation and bargaining go.
Calligraphy is partly subsidised by sch and the rest paid thru edusave. Think need to pay cos they get outside trainers.
I am like PR Mummy, Chinese standard half bucket. Dun want my kids to learn wrong things from me, especially the pronunciation (now my kids r forever correcting my Z, zh, s sh, n, ng...u know wat i mean). I find if i try to speak CL to them will surely use EL to replace CL vocab that i dun know (and I dun know a lot..
)
So, better leave the job to professional. The Beijing tutor used to be a teacher when in China, so her diction and pronunciation is perfect and she doesn't speak with a heavy accent. Her speech is very clear, like news reporters. Ha. Now my kids speak with very clear diction as well (when they want to speak, that is and with their limited vocab...). I mean they dun sound like Singapore Chinese and are often mistaken as from China cos their 'creative' daddy also choose a single word Chinese name for them.
Once my dd told me that her oral examiner asked if she is from China. I was thinking: Die lah, if examiner thinks she is from China and still cant speak with bombastic vocab sure minus many many marks..haha... -
:lol: Your comments are so cute!! Good luck on the brainwashing :celebrate:
Lock:
psst.. btw, I'm RRMummy not PRMummyI am like PR Mummy, Chinese standard half bucket.
RRMummy:
:oops: and to think I keep nagging on my dd to BE CAREFUL in her work. Hee.:lol: Your comments are so cute!! Good luck on the brainwashing :celebrate:
psst.. btw, I'm RRMummy not PRMummyLock:
I am like PR Mummy, Chinese standard half bucket.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.