Rulang Primary

1.6k Posts 125 Posters 561.1k Views 1 Watching
      RRMummy

ttyh:
      my ds came back from SA1 Maths today and cried. Maths is his strongest subject....!!

He has doubt over his last 3 problem sums...
      My heart ache and sank...to think that he could have so many doubts in his favorite subject really crushed him....
      oh dear... poor boi :snuggles:

I really don't understand why the school is upping the standard so much... I don't see the rational of setting a paper so difficult that a child who is in a top class and is good in Maths can't cope. How is the rest of the form going to handle?

The dejected looks from the kids is something I find hard to swallow... I know some will say in life everything is not smooth... but.. but... :gloomy:

Hope your DS and my DD cheers up soon...

BeContented

Yes, do cheer up....hope the kids will too.

Hee Hee....i am the 'care-free/bo-chap' type. Since I CHOSE to transfer DD, must be prepared for what comes along with the choice. While I also feel sad for the kids' to feel disheartened, believe it's good sometimes. Better to get small bumps now then to become complacent & get dump during PSLE πŸ™‚

RRMummy

cwc:
          Yes, do cheer up....hope the kids will too.

Hee Hee....i am the 'care-free/bo-chap' type. Since I CHOSE to transfer DD, must be prepared for what comes along with the choice. While I also feel sad for the kids' to feel disheartened, believe it's good sometimes. Better to get small bumps now then to become complacent & get dump during PSLE πŸ™‚
          Thanks cwc. TGIF :celebrate:

Okay.. before you say anything.. i am just kaypoh-ing everywhere these days. :lol:

So here i am..

In fact i do read the PH thread as well..
            Well how not to?

The thread keeps refreshing as the most posted on the front page!
            So shiok you all can talk about anything!

My DD's networking thread arh... hayah... no network, bah.
            But then again good also, cos i always low profile mah. :evil:

I wonder what's the reason the sch didn't want to publish this info. P1 registration ranks as one of the most stressful tasks a kiasu parent has to overcome.
            Really?

No sweat for me leh.. πŸ˜‰
            You all lah kiasu.. top school.. top class and what nots.. :siam:

See, i'm not kiasu and yet i'm still happy nevertheless. :please:
            Btw, how's your dd coping in Rulang? My ds in PH seems to have lots of HCL homework but very little english and even less Maths homework. You know, I used to stay just opposite Rulang but sold my flat to a family who was aiming for the sch. πŸ˜‰
            RRMummy:
            They said that since the registration is happening in the classrooms and so far away from the office, they do not have the real time info. But even so, they are still not disclosing the info even when I was registering.. so your guess is my guess... :stupid:
            Troublesome for them to go to and fro lah, just to update kiasu parents
            every few minutes. So poor thing. They oso stress. πŸ¦†
            RRMummy:
            She is coping okay i guess... homework is at times a couple of pages maths and a couple of pages for English, but not to the extent of impossible to finish. Actually for DD, they have less CL homework.. At times no homework as teacher try to get them to finish in school.
            P1 not supposed to have homework right? πŸ˜‰

Aniwaes, the sentence in bold... i loike. :love:
            If time is utilised well in school there will be enuf time. :celebrate:
            RRMummy:
            It is the exam that I buay tahan!! DD was clearly upset yesterday after her SA1 maths (part 2). :gloomy: She said there were 4 questions she didn't know how to do.. I have since learnt to manage my expectation unlike when I heard abt her marks (before seeing her papers) for CA1 Maths. 37/50??!! How can that be!! I thought they were suppose to score 90+ and she has shown that she can do it with the practises we have at home. I was super shock when I saw the paper!! Challenging boi!! I have no idea why they put in heuristics questions in a March paper for P1!! :scared: The wonderful FT and we at home prepared for handling heuristics this time round but at last no idea what kinda Challenging Questions they came up with...

All in the name of exposure???? Well, some may say, you chose this school so you should know they have very high expectations... all I can say is that I did not imagine the expectation to be this high...it now seems that although she can handle all the questions in the SA1 past years papers still not good enough...

So now I have to learn to manage my expectation. I have never and will not pass the stress to her but try to expose her to different genre of questions... I take on the stress to plan and expose her to the questions gradually...but.. but.. seeing the poor girl so disappointed that there are so many that she doesn't know how to do and harping on it for the whole night... haiz....... so how???? :frustrated: 😒 :imdrowning:
            Now you understand what i mean when i shared with you that their standard
            is very high right? :snuggles: Back then it didn't really matter cos DD wasn't
            in yet... but i suppose it has now sunk in, huh? The heuristics... have they
            covered that in class? It is taught step by step to my DD2 during her time.
            They were also given exposure with past years' sch papers and some were
            prepared by the teacher for extra practice. Her teacher was a real doll. πŸ˜„
            Always there for the children..... and PARENTS. Yes, one of the few who
            are able to manage children and parents effortlessly. :love: She's greatly
            missed by us. :hugs:

RRMummy... your DD's teacher good?

RRMummy:
              TGIF :celebrate:

Yeah boi! :roll:

I got another one..

T-GEO = Thank God Exam Over! :lol:

RRMummy

Okay.. before you say anything.. i am just kaypoh-ing everywhere these days. :lol:

So here i am...

In fact i do read the PH thread as well..
                Well how not to?
                Hi there sista. Nice to see you here. Yalor, the PH thread super onz... I must admit that i also always kaypoh there... πŸ˜‰
                See, i'm not kiasu and yet i'm still happy nevertheless. :please:
                you got good fore-sight ma πŸ˜“
                Troublesome for them to go to and fro lah, just to update kiasu parents
                every few minutes. So poor thing. They oso stress. πŸ¦†
                Yup, that then I can but what I meant is that even when I was sitting there physically doing the registration, they also don't want to disclose... :faint:
                Aniwaes, the sentence in bold... i loike. :love:
                If time is utilised well in school there will be enuf time. :celebrate:
                Yeah.. those no homework days are really the best :imcool:

Now you understand what i mean when i shared with you that their standard
                is very high right? :snuggles: Back then it didn't really matter cos DD wasn't
                in yet... but i suppose it has now sunk in, huh? The heuristics... have they
                covered that in class? It is taught step by step to my DD2 during her time.
                They were also given exposure with past years' sch papers and some were
                prepared by the teacher for extra practice. Her teacher was a real doll. πŸ˜„
                Always there for the children..... and PARENTS. Yes, one of the few who
                are able to manage children and parents effortlessly. :love: She's greatly
                missed by us. :hugs:

RRMummy... your DD's teacher good?
                Yup now I understand, but I ah.. I suspect that they have level up again... so how to chase moving target? Can't imagine what life will be like when it's DD2's turn.... I hope that the standard don't keep increasing... we can't expect a 3mth old baby to be able to walk can we?? :gloomy:

In CA1, the heuristics was not covered yet, then it just came out. I think even the FT was shocked too. So our darling FT started to introduce to them various different heuristics for this round. No idea what kind of challenge came out yesterday...

Our biggest blessing is that DD's FT is also a real doll. She keeps us informed with a weekly email and always there for the children and parents. :love: She reminds me of Teacher L :love:

RRMummy

RRMummy:

TGIF :celebrate:

Yeah boi! :roll:

I got another one..

T-GEO = Thank God Exam Over! :lol:

:lol: Good one

...but have to keep till after next Wednesday... Show & Tell for both EL and MT. Topic will be given on the spot... :scared:

On the spot? :scared:

Psst... they were given advance duration to prepare one or two i suppose..
                    Or issit really like spontaneous? Impromptu? There and then? :faint:

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                      starlight1968sg

Mine still have Sc to go on 16 May.

markfch

RRMummy:

All in the name of exposure???? Well, some may say, you chose this school so you should know they have very high expectations... all I can say is that I did not imagine the expectation to be this high...it now seems that although she can handle all the questions in the SA1 past years papers still not good enough...
                        As a ks parent, I think I can understand what you're saying. For ds, PH decided to do away with exams for P1 & 2s. P1 to P2 is enbloc. No streaming. There'll only be one SA at the tail-end of P2 for purpose of streaming into P3. I know there's disquiet amongst some parents about not having exams; but for me, I'm delightfully happy that this is the case. :boogie:

You know, after I read your post, I purposefully reminded ds that it doesn't matter whether or not he does well in exams. What is impt is the effort he puts in. DS is also a 'proud' kid (same as your dd). I don't want him get discouraged when he flunks an unreasonably difficult exam in future.

Must be hard on you to see your dd feeling so miserable despite the effort she put in. Something is wrong with our education system (that includes all the other popular schs, not just Rulang).
                        RRMummy:
                        Hahaha... so when you sold your ex-home, you sure had enough \"demands\" eh?!! :evil:
                        The buyer took a 15 min look and then offered on the spot. Later on, found out that he wanted his kids to be able to walk to Rulang.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 75 / 163