Rulang Primary

1.6k Posts 125 Posters 561.0k Views 1 Watching
      RRMummy

starlight1968sg:
      silverhorse:

Yeah, my DS told me they had to observe a minute of silence for her. Goh Li Ling , i think he said, died of cancer. relapse. We dun know her either.

Yes, Mdm Goh LL taught dd in 2009. She was a very kind-hearted teacher who bought many assessment books for her students WITHOUT asking for payment. She said these were her gifts for her students.
      She passed away on 1 May and the school has delayed the release of this news till end of SA1.

May she rest in peace.

From what I gather, Singapore and Rulang has lost a great selfless Teacher.

The kids whose life has been touched by her will be distraughted. Hope the school will provide some kind of emotional support and counselling.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
        starlight1968sg

Yes, those taught by her went through a counselling session. Life is such short and unpredictable.

RRMummy

starlight1968sg:
          Yes, those taught by her went through a counselling session. Life is such short and unpredictable.

That's good...

yup...incidents like this really put life back into perspective... time for reality check... :grphug:

I may not know this teacher in person but this news just touches me.

:grphug: with you guys too...

pjlee25

RRMummy:

It is the exam that I buay tahan!! DD was clearly upset yesterday after her SA1 maths (part 2). :gloomy: She said there were 4 questions she didn't know how to do.. I have since learnt to manage my expectation unlike when I heard abt her marks (before seeing her papers) for CA1 Maths. 37/50??!! How can that be!! I thought they were suppose to score 90+ and she has shown that she can do it with the practises we have at home. I was super shock when I saw the paper!! Challenging boi!! I have no idea why they put in heuristics questions in a March paper for P1!! :scared: The wonderful FT and we at home prepared for handling heuristics this time round but at last no idea what kinda Challenging Questions they came up with...

eh?!! :evil:

Hi, same sentiment. I really do not know what's the national standard (if there is one) for P1 Maths...and if so, how far ahead is Rulang. My daughter faced challenges in her maths paper 2 too... How? Are there good reference text to prepare the kids for the \"advanced maths\"?

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                starlight1968sg

Maths paper 2 is always the killer. Paper 1 is no better because w/o the usage of a calculator, all the calculations go haywire!

RRMummy

pjlee25:

Hi, same sentiment. I really do not know what's the national standard (if there is one) for P1 Maths...and if so, how far ahead is Rulang. My daughter faced challenges in her maths paper 2 too... How? Are there good reference text to prepare the kids for the \"advanced maths\"?
                  Hi pjlee25!

Long time no chat! Yes, yes exactly what I thought. I went through some assessment books in Popular but I didn't know what to pick. I suppose moving forward, I'll be using the pass year papers plus the Fan-Maths from Fan Li Fang. They do have some explanation and some challenging questions in there..

For this June holidays, I'll just work on strenghtening her foundation... also can't wait to see the exam papers for this round.

RRMummy

starlight1968sg:
                    Maths paper 2 is always the killer. Paper 1 is no better because w/o the usage of a calculator, all the calculations go haywire!

Do you think the papers of much higher standards?

silverhorse

RRMummy:
                      starlight1968sg:

Do you think the papers of much higher standards?

RRMummy,
                      Yes, personally I feel that Rulang's math papers are very high-standard. When my DS was in P2 last year, he could score 80+ on revision papers and other school papers. But when it came to SA1 and SA2, he scored 70+ and i mentioned this to his FT. The FT admitted that Rulang's math paper is very high-standard, and i told him, its not fair at all to my child. So for P3, I've learned to lower my expectations. For this SA1, I gave him Nanhua Pr school SA1 (2009) to try. He scored 82/100. I'm waiting to see how much he score for this SA1.....

RRMummy

silverhorse:

RRMummy,
                        Yes, personally I feel that Rulang's math papers are very high-standard. When my DS was in P2 last year, he could score 80+ on revision papers and other school papers. But when it came to SA1 and SA2, he scored 70+ and i mentioned this to his FT. The FT admitted that Rulang's math paper is very high-standard, and i told him, its not fair at all to my child. So for P3, I've learned to lower my expectations. For this SA1, I gave him Nanhua Pr school SA1 (2009) to try. He scored 82/100. I'm waiting to see how much he score for this SA1.....
                        Hi silverhorse (i like your nick ๐Ÿ˜„ ),

hmm..seems that our experience are similar...

alamak.. so more heartaches to come... :faint:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 79 / 163