Hong Wen
Learningparents:
shall see how; as really want them to learn more about our chinese culture/value. belief SAP school will do more in chinese
interestingly, the same reason for getting into these old, traditional schools is for the chinese culture/values and beliefs, hoping that it will do more good to our pampered kids.
nan chiau is 1-2km from my place and out of reach now.
hongwen, my boy can go in as 2A2 in next yr registration, but it is 10.6km from my place..
headache.
smurfy:
Wow 10.6 km! 6 yrs, plus later CCAs and supp classes...........of course there are many who travel from one end to the other end. Only you can decide......Learningparents:
shall see how; as really want them to learn more about our chinese culture/value. belief SAP school will do more in chinese
interestingly, the same reason for getting into these old, traditional schools is for the chinese culture/values and beliefs, hoping that it will do more good to our pampered kids.
nan chiau is 1-2km from my place and out of reach now.
hongwen, my boy can go in as 2A2 in next yr registration, but it is 10.6km from my place..
headache. -
1. anyone can update on HWS status at 2C? how many in 1km? although no chance at from past years, still wait for 奇迹 before submit at sub school
2.wow, 10.6km is very far then, not sure how long the travel dist. but one pv from HWS also gave up HWS and register and Nan chiau, travel for an hour from home to school and another hour back to work lor…so, really depends on parent ; think and count the time too for the kids to travel before we decide to put them in our "ideal" school
i chosed hws as all schools are within 1 to 2km except bendemeer -
Distance can be very deceptive since we aren’t birds and cannot fly from point a to b. The one grouse I have with their current site is that it is very far from the mrt station, and the walk is relatively quiet. Any dangers are probably in my imagination but still…
well, I know of pp who live in jurong WEST and send their kids to schools in Bt Timah/Orchard - some thrive, some wither. I know of pp who are staying in pasir ris and planning with no 2nd thoughts to have their kids go to their alma mater in bt timah. fyi, both parents working in all cases.
For the case of 2A2, it really will be a pity to give that up - imagine father and child go to same school together. But still the call is personal and definitely based on individual situation. -
hquek you walk very slowly from mrt station to school? :evil:
I find the walk alright and I'm carrying bb leh. Maybe becos I'm trying to lose weight :rotflmao:
If I walk fast will reach gate 5 under 10 mins.
There are usually uncles and aunties talking walks or pple going to work. You walk that stretch very early in the morning? Or we talk different routes? -
Only tried walking twice, yes, took a leisure walk. And mostly for school event on sat…so no crowd headed for mrt.
Ok la, I pampered can? Hee -
Distance can be very deceptive since we aren't birds and cannot fly from point a to b. The one grouse I have with their current site is that it is very far from the mrt station, and the walk is relatively quiet. Any dangers are probably in my imagination but still....
well, I know of pp who live in jurong WEST and send their kids to schools in Bt Timah/Orchard - some thrive, some wither. I know of pp who are staying in pasir ris and planning with no 2nd thoughts to have their kids go to their alma mater in bt timah. fyi, both parents working in all cases.
For the case of 2A2, it really will be a pity to give that up - imagine father and child go to same school together. But still the call is personal and definitely based on individual situation.
U have pointed out another point. Father and son going same sch. In fact father was top student for his batch (born 1972). My bil
And 2 sils were frm hW as well. And they are heng hwa dialect grp oso. All point to us going back e school.
Plan is for hb to send boy to sch and to attend the before after school care. But my heart just aches thinking of the journey daily -
well, a lot of us may end up going to schools far away in sec/JC/Uni. Boh pian right? Kiddo will have to learn the art of sleeping early, catching some winks on the journey.
Woah, that is some illustrous history indeed. Although the compound is different, but your DH may just relish the thought of his son going back to his old school. Go for it lah…dun think so hard. Maybe some years later you may want to move closer leh? -
Does anyone know for this year’s registration, is balloting required for <1km in Phase 2B registration?
Thanks,
Dragonfly -
dragonfly-76:
For this yr, no balloting for< 1km for P2BDoes anyone know for this year's registration, is balloting required for <1km in Phase 2B registration?
Thanks,
Dragonfly
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.