Ngee Ann Primary
Hi does anyone know how the reading log works?
My DS brought home a reading log some weeks ago where you are supposed to record the books you read and every 30 pages, you get a star?
I wonder if you must bring the book to show to the teacher - seems like my DS does the recording himself - so does the teacher monitor this?
Is this done during Extended Reading period? Actually I have no idea what this ER period is for…if anyone can share, that will be great. -
Musings:
Hi Musings,Hi does anyone know how the reading log works?
My DS brought home a reading log some weeks ago where you are supposed to record the books you read and every 30 pages, you get a star?
I wonder if you must bring the book to show to the teacher - seems like my DS does the recording himself - so does the teacher monitor this?
Is this done during Extended Reading period? Actually I have no idea what this ER period is for...if anyone can share, that will be great.
yes, i saw the list in DD's bag, but when i ask she about it, she just
her shoulder
but the following week, i notice the teacher brought them to the library to borrow books, and that is when i saw the recording starts, i suspect she was made to write down the books she read from the library..
but hor..i see no stars awarded to her leh.. -
Hi phyphy
Thanks for sharing. Will find out more info on speech n drama
Hi Chloecube,
P1 dun have to take CCA, not compulsory yet.I think it’s only compulsory from P3 onwards, but if yr DD has the interest, then will be a good idea to start if time permits. On one hand I wish to let my kid enjoy the available free time for now but on the other hand, they have to adapt to the busy life soon or later. -
Yes I saw the reading log too, but my ds’s copy is still a blank. He told me those records are based on books read during the silent reading session but I don’t think he is being made to record down.
Starling:
Hi Starling,Hi phyphy
Thanks for sharing. Will find out more info on speech n drama
Hi Chloecube,
P1 dun have to take CCA, not compulsory yet.I think it's only compulsory from P3 onwards, but if yr DD has the interest, then will be a good idea to start if time permits. On one hand I wish to let my kid enjoy the available free time for now but on the other hand, they have to adapt to the busy life soon or later.
i agree with you, i know the school hour is going to increase by the time she is in P3, i have seen the it in DS, since he is in P4 now.
i wish to let DD enjoy her lower primary life before going to P3. -
chloecube:
Hi Chloecube,hi hhnien,
is the speech and drama in Chinese? i received that letter too
but DD has tuition on sat morning, otherwise, i will enroll her
is it good?
Yes, the Saturday morning chinese drama, but i did not enrol my DS for this class as his schedule in Saturday is too tight. I enrol him to Chess class. Last week was first lesson.[/quote]
P1 can take CCA already?
sorry for my ignorance, i thought it was compulsory only in P3.
i was thinking of letting DD join Chinese dance, but when i look at the training time (twice per week and each time 3hr), i back out.
No, P1 cannot take CCA, the Saturday classes are considered as enrichment, conducted by outside companies. -
Hi, I want to ask your advice.
My child will be going to P1 in 2014. Currently his kindy just offers Chinese as a 2nd language which he is taking.
Unfortunately being Sindhi (Indian, but not Tamil speaking), I do not know much about Chinese; just little daily conversations with my Chinese friends.
On the other hand, I am okay in Malay (having taken Malay in PSLE and O Level).
Thus, I have 2 challenges awaiting me:-
1) Do I want him to take Chinese in Primary School (where my help is limited) or Malay (that I can help him after work as I am a FTWM).
2) If I do want him to take Malay in Primary School, I would need to start now with him. Would anyone have the preschool Malay syallabus that one needs to know before going to P1?
My girl came home and said that teh reading teacher told her that she has filled up the Reading Log wrongly.
The way we did is we write the tittle of the book and wrote how many pages was read on the dates respectively. But my girl said "Teacher say must finish one book a day" then write and to me it does not make sense because some books are pretty long and wordy so cannot finish in one day. -
Myeo:
Hi Myeo,My girl came home and said that teh reading teacher told her that she has filled up the Reading Log wrongly.
The way we did is we write the tittle of the book and wrote how many pages was read on the dates respectively. But my girl said \"Teacher say must finish one book a day\" then write and to me it does not make sense because some books are pretty long and wordy so cannot finish in one day.
i had forgo the list and let DD do her own recording. apparently, the teacher didnt ask her abt it.
i heard from DD that the teacher brings them to the library every Wed and each can borrow up to 4 books, the books have to be returned every mon or tue before new books can be borrowed.
also i saw some writting in DD's organiser yesterday, http://www.xuele.asiamall.sg
are they suppose to go in and learn those stuff? -
chloecube:
I think the url is incorrect. The correct one should be:also i saw some writting in DD's organiser yesterday, http://www.xuele.asiamall.sg
are they suppose to go in and learn those stuff?
http://xuele.edumall.sg
It's just another website for children to learn Chinese at their own pace.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.