Nan Chiau Primary
larkspur:
I think this applies to all P1 in all schools as the syllabus is from MOE and all assessment books for P1 covers these topics. So it's quite common. For P2, they will go deeper into these same topics. In fact, when my son was in K2, I followed the P1 syllabus to teach him and let him work on all P1 topics so he has an easier time in P1.
wow that is a nightmare already even before my girl starts P1. To think i have been complaining why my girl childcare is teaching multiplication and division. Initially when i read your first line no exam i was thinking wah very good leh and then when i read further, i find it is so scary. i find crazy to teach all these when this is learnt in P2 in other schools -
While there is no streaming from P1 to P2, there is subject & total scores, class & standard ranking at end of P1, taking into account all the tests, show & tell, writing, listening compre, maths performance tasks in Term 3 & 4. (I didn't know that! :oops: )
As for the P1 maths concepts, only simple, basic stuff (i find it similar to DS1's PCF kindergarten std) is taught. The same topics will b revisited in P2 w more complex ideas. Eg. P1 Time - half past, o'clock; P2 Time - 3.20pm.
So DON'T panic & no need to cram too much b4 they r ready. It will overwhelm them. -
Vevey:
Thanks timtim and Vevey, at least i know not so complex. will just leave to her preschool to teach and if in p1, still can coach her this if not sureWhile there is no streaming from P1 to P2, there is subject & total scores, class & standard ranking at end of P1, taking into account all the tests, show & tell, writing, listening compre, maths performance tasks in Term 3 & 4. (I didn't know that! :oops: )
As for the P1 maths concepts, only simple, basic stuff (i find it similar to DS1's PCF kindergarten std) is taught. The same topics will b revisited in P2 w more complex ideas. Eg. P1 Time - half past, o'clock; P2 Time - 3.20pm.
So DON'T panic & no need to cram too much b4 they r ready. It will overwhelm them. -
Just to share, some of my friends expected their children who went thru P1 preparatory courses to b able to do P1 exam papers of top schools BEFORE they entered P1 & were upset when they couldn’t gasp the grammar MCQ etc.
DS1 who didn’t attend such stuff, also couldn’t do these qns that they had MMSed to show me. However, when the RIGHT time comes AFTER he learnt the concepts in sch, he finds these papers easy. -
actually some of the P1 preparatory courses have already taught all the syllabus needed to know in P1 and that is y some parents expected their children to be able to do P1 exam papers. i only let my girl do kindergarten assessment books at times when i find she spends too much time watching tv and playing computer games which might spoil her eyesight.
I see from other threads that P1 at NCPS will close around 6:10pm, my hubby and I can only get to school around 7pm, can parents please share how you arrange that? Does NCPS has a place for kids to waiting for parents? Many thanks!
niuma:
I see from other threads that P1 at NCPS will close around 6:10pm, my hubby and I can only get to school around 7pm, can parents please share how you arrange that? Does NCPS has a place for kids to waiting for parents? Many thanks!
This yr dismissal is 6.30pm but usually the 1st batch of P1 will appear at gate ard 6.40pm after national anthem on non-rainy days. The kids will wait at the back & side gates until they close ard 7pm, affter which we can pick the kids up at general office.
Perhaps u can consider 1 pr 2-way sch bus if u can reach home earlier than sch or a neighbour can help u out? -
so far many of us including me , we get our parents in law to help to fetch them or the maid or the the mummy themselves. i dun think there is a place for the kids to wait for the parents. i know cos i stayed Nan chiau and everyday on my way back to my house i pass by nan chiau at around 6.30 to 6.45pm the whole school is like deserted with the main gate closed liao unless of course sometimes the dismissal time is 6.30pm there will be parents waiting outside
Many thanks Vevey and Larkspur!! I unfortunately don’t have people to help fetching my son. I guess many kids wait at the gate between 6:30 and 7:00pm, it should be safe right? Thanks again!
Actually i am not sure what is the dismissal time cos sometimes i pass by school at 6.45pm i will see they just dismissed at the time and teachers leading students to the gate but some days the school is totally deserted by 6.45pm and main gate like shut leh. i think i will have to wait for orientation and see the timetable then only can inform my in law to help to fetch my girl. my fren also mobilised her parents in law to fetch her son next year.
so you see if you can pay a fee for your neighbourhood to help fetch your child?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.