Nan Chiau Primary

3.3k Posts 171 Posters 1.0m Views 1 Watching
    • E Offline
      ectanz

mummy so kiasu:
      ectanz:

There is a regression in my girl's 2nd term result as compared to 1st term. The paper seems to be quite difficult for a P1 student as per my view. Lots of careless mistakes made. According to my girl, no time to chk thru the paper especially

Math. Their textbk n file were kept in school and hence difficult to do revision prior to the tests. I don't think currently P1 n 2 are having any honeymoon period.

My girl is also in P1. The standard is higher comparing with other schools in Sengkang. Chinese standard is alright, but my girl is very weak in hanyu pinyin so she did not do well. English paper standard is quite high, cloze passage without helping words & term 2 already expected to write compo. Maths paper i also quite high, some kids do not understand the problem sum questions.

Overall, the school's standard goes up. When my P6 was in P1, the standard was not so high. The files were given back by teachers for revision before the mastery tests. The kids are not suppose to leave their textbooks in school. You can check with your girl's teachers. Btw, she is from which class?

Agreed. I hv sent m girl to Chinese enrichment when she was 4 yo as I am not gd in Chinese n HYPY. She has no problem of Chinese but need to brush up a bit on her reading.

For English n Math, agreed that it is a bit difficult for P1 especially they are not taught in their preschool (not sure abt the rest but mine totally not). My girl's preschool still taught them to write ABC in the 1st half of K2 and for math, simple counting :slapshead: :stompfeet: :faint: . That why I enrolled her in CMA when she was in end of K1 n also class that prepare her for P1 when she was in midst of K2 but insufficient for her to learn in such a short period. I tot the standard for P1 especially Eng n math or even Chinese are not that difficult when I referred to my niece n nephew Textbk n test papers when they were P1. Y r right to say that Nan Chiau standard is higher than those \"neighborhood\" schools which I think it might be gd in term of preparing the kids better when they r in P6 which their standard I heard r even higher than PSLE. This could be their reason of obtaining 100% passing rate.

• E Offline
        ectanz

mummy so kiasu:
        ectanz:

Hi Vevey,

She complained feeling sick after eating the maggi noodle and prata. There is one particular time she vomitted in school. She was holding a plastic bag when i reached school. From this incident, she kept calling from school claiming discomfort after recess and whenever i asked her to buy food from school. Now, I'm trying to pack food for her everyday and hence no excuse from her of complaining sick after eating the food.

I hv sent an email to her FT after I found out that there is a regression in her 2nd term result and also numerous careless mistakes made in her worksheet. She fared well in her 1st term result. Her FT claimed that she is no longer feeling enthusiastic about her study and less participation.

Not sure whether it's due to the teacher as she denied the teacher scolding her. She has lots of friends, some even from her preschool. No particular reason from her. Will continue to monitor her and 🙏 that she is okay after holiday. :xedfingers:

Sinc he has a lots of friends. Any of them in the same class as her? Maybe you could find out from her friends or ask her when she is in a happy mood. Btw, she is in which class?

She told me she felt bored in class as her teacher hv lesser attention toward her. FT didn't select her whenever she raised her hand during Quiz time. However she is delighted n motivated again in her recent compo writing which she has 9/10. I hv also promised her to buy her present or bring her to holiday during Dec when she works hard and improve he grade. Pm'ed u on her class.

Not easily to be a parent nowadays, cannot :spank:

• E Offline
          ectanz

mummy so kiasu:
          ectanz:

Although my girl's 2nd term was not as gd as her 1st term but I'm still glad for her achievement even though the total percentage is slightly below 90%. I didn't prepare her for 2nd term mastery n performance tests. However, I told my girl that we shall work hard together in her next term - mastery n performance tests.

Recently they hv a written compo - my pet for weekend homework. My girl insisted that she wanted to do it by herself. She was very delighted that she scored almost full mark for this time round. My girl told me that her FT who is also her Eng Teacher asked the whole class to raise their hand if the compo writting was done in the help of their parents. For those who was done with the help of their parents was given an average mark - slightly above 5. For the show n tell in the 3rd term, may i ask will the teacher be giving the average score for those who is done by the parents in the term of the script n material? If yes, then it might be quite difficult for a lower Pri to do it by themselves.

Wow.. Getting 85 & above is a band 1, which is consider good. Not forgetting that she did it without your help. Very independent & intelligent girl. :rahrah:

She can do it even better but careless mistakes in her Eng n Math papers.

• E Offline
            ectanz

larkspur:
            ectanz:

Although my girl's 2nd term was not as gd as her 1st term but I'm still glad for her achievement even though the total percentage is slightly below 90%. I didn't prepare her for 2nd term mastery n performance tests. However, I told my girl that we shall work hard together in her next term - mastery n performance tests.

Recently they hv a written compo - my pet for weekend homework. My girl insisted that she wanted to do it by herself. She was very delighted that she scored almost full mark for this time round. My girl told me that her FT who is also her Eng Teacher asked the whole class to raise their hand if the compo writting was done in the help of their parents. For those who was done with the help of their parents was given an average mark - slightly above 5. For the show n tell in the 3rd term, may i ask will the teacher be giving the average score for those who is done by the parents in the term of the script n material? If yes, then it might be quite difficult for a lower Pri to do it by themselves.

Wow your girl is good a nd she doesnot need your help for the show and tell. My girl will write herself which can last for 1 minute and i have to help her to lengthen and let her memorise. Chinese show and tell, she totally cant do herself cos the way she write, all out of logic and i have to do correction in getting sequence and rewrite everything for her. Guess i will have to train her getting to write herself. Still thinking whether to send fo chinese enrichments for Chinese creative writing cos i think will help her both her chinese compo and show and tell script

Same as yr girl. Her show n tell can only last less than 2 mins if I didn't lengthen her script. For Chinese, she can't do it by herself. I myself also need to refer to others for guideline to draft the script and therefore will not expect her to do it herself.

• E Offline
              ectanz

larkspur:
              mummy so kiasu:

[quote=\"larkspur\"]Not familiar with p1 but my child just got her report book and I want to find out what percentage is considered okay or normal? Must it be between 90% to 95%

? I wish to find out so that I can work on her improvement during school holidays

85 & above is band 1, which is consider good. There are kids in my girl's class failed 2 of the subjects.

my girl got band 2 for her chinese and i nearly fainted. For english just manage to hit band 1 but definitely need to work on these 2. June is a good time to revise and work on her weak areas. Have emailed her FT to ask her where is her weak areas for English as in whether in show and tell or daily work but no reply from teacher leh. I told my girl that she needs to do an hour of revision each for both english and Chinese to brush up her work. As she got full marks for her maths, i told her just need to do an hour every 3 days for her maths revision. I feel no matter how good they are good, still need to practice cos in in chinese saying 不进则退[/quote] :yikes: yr girl has full mark in her math. That's not easily. I heard from my girl that some of her classmates failed either 1 or 2 math papers. Do u send yr girl for any math tuition? If not, she is really very smart as math is not so straight forward.

larkspur

ectanz:
                larkspur:

[quote=\"mummy so kiasu\"]

85 & above is band 1, which is consider good. There are kids in my girl's class failed 2 of the subjects.

my girl got band 2 for her chinese and i nearly fainted. For english just manage to hit band 1 but definitely need to work on these 2. June is a good time to revise and work on her weak areas. Have emailed her FT to ask her where is her weak areas for English as in whether in show and tell or daily work but no reply from teacher leh. I told my girl that she needs to do an hour of revision each for both english and Chinese to brush up her work. As she got full marks for her maths, i told her just need to do an hour every 3 days for her maths revision. I feel no matter how good they are good, still need to practice cos in in chinese saying 不进则退

:yikes: yr girl has full mark in her math. That's not easily. I heard from my girl that some of her classmates failed either 1 or 2 math papers. Do u send yr girl for any math tuition? If not, she is really very smart as math is not so straight forward.[/quote]I send my girl for preparatory class for maths and english at K1 plus her childcare also taught P1 stufs for both maths and english. Basically she knows the concepts quite well except for things like more than ,less than etc. Normally i will teach her night time on the concepts which she is weak in but because her foundation is good, so quite easy to teach her. Also her classmates quite a few got full marks, so she is working towards getting full marks too. Weekdays i normally will get her to do a few pages of the maths from assignment books when it comes to test, normally i dun prepare with her, let her be.

She still have maths tution now but her tutition teacher is starting to teach her all the model methods, more like P2 stuffs cos all the P1 stuffs, her teacher has covered everything at K2

blur_green

Hi larkspur

Can i check with you, your girl Math tutor comes to your place or she goes to tuition center. Is she good? Can i have her contact?

Weemy

Does anyone know how the Primary 1 EL First Combined Mark (on the report book) is calculated? What components are taken into account? I am quite surprised by my child’s EL mark. My child did not do too badly in his written tests and so it seems that the Reading/S&T assessments have pulled down my child’s mark considerably ~ according to the rubrics, my child scored "Good" (2nd column).

• VeveyV Offline
                      Vevey

Try adding more \"show\" stuff eg pix, so that dont hv to \"tell\" too much. Hee..

Ask audience qns to improve on interaction n indirectly, on eye contact. Humour helps too!

ectanz:
                      Vevey:

Guess u would hv to clarify w the tr bcos different trs will hv different expectations. Usually I only helped ds to prepare photo printouts n minor editing of his own script for english. However, his chinese show n tell would come w a note to parents to help in getting the script done w the help of some guiding qns.[quote=\"ectanz\"]Although my girl's 2nd term was not as gd as her 1st term but I'm still glad for her achievement even though the total percentage is slightly below 90%. I didn't prepare her for 2nd term mastery n performance tests. However, I told my girl that we shall work hard together in her next term - mastery n performance tests.

I think I should let my girl to do it by herself. Letting her to participate the show n tell is to allow her to memorize the script better. The last 2 show n tell ( Eng n Chinese) are done by me which I find it is very difficult n time consuming to let her memorize by heart.

However, it is not so easy for a lower Pri to write the script by themselves. My girl can write a short (around 60 words) compo but will only last less than 2 mins. For Chinese, it is even more difficult. Fortunately, they allow parents to assist in the script writing.[/quote]

• VeveyV Offline
                        Vevey

Stressful!

Not sure abt other schs, but I noticed different classes hv different maths assessment bks of varying std, so it's no longer the case of gd students able to shake legs n wait for others to catch up before moving further on.
                        It's like never good enough.
                        But no choice, else wont b able to tackle the tougher exam qns.

mummy so kiasu:
                        Vevey:

Definitely had a shock in terms of workload n Chinese compo n its oral requirements at p3.
                        In fact, I had feedback to Chinese tr on the huge gap of making really simple sentences in 2nd semester of p2 to writing flowery compo based on 4 pictures ( sometimes last 1 is blank!) or a required sentence, weekly zhouji from 1st term of p3. Ds was so ill equiped that he could spend the entire Sat on it. Ended up needed lots of our help n ate into family time.
                        Guess bcos his was the 1st batch of rubic assessment? Perhaps sch is fine-tuning. P1 & 2 now?
                        Rr SA preparation, his science tr distributed answer keys on the day b4 exam 4 parents to mark n suoervise the corrections

The school introduces quite a number of new things this year. My boy is taking his PSLE this year & it is very crucial year. There are new stuffs like zhouji, changeling, creative writing etc. He is not required to write a lot for zhouji. Just a page or slightly shorter is alright. The teacher will not pick on his mistake & no correction is needed. P2 to P3 is a big jump, the standard is higher & there will be Science. However, P3 Science result will not be included in SA1 & SA2. Do expect another big jump from P4 to P5 too.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 197 / 326