Rivervale Primary
hi anyone hv p3 tests/exam papers to give away. pls pm me. tks
We are glad we are out of this school. If we have another child, we won’t put him/her to this school. The school’s culture is just so ‘mismatched’ to ours. Our observation is that teachers are out to please THE BOSS.
Also, during an incident where a pupil was caught pilfering from Daiso in RV Mall, BOSS’ learning point to the pupils - if you want to disgrace yourself, pls don’t wear the school uniform.
Another time, pupils were told to participate in a MOE’s survey about the school’s facilities, results were not to BOSS’ satisfaction, BOSS lectured pupils for giving truthful feedback and pupils were told to be ashamed of themselves.
Teachers are highly stressed which resulted in hot tempers and passing on of such stress onto the pupils / taken out on the pupils at times. Homework can be given out today and expected to be completed by the next day because teacher was absent for days and needed to catch up (and as some parents pointed out, these were never marked).
To ask to meet the BOSS is like asking to meet our PM. The office staff would ‘interrogate’ you and we still didn’t manage to meet him because he is always in meetings. Very different compared with old P’s open door policy where parents were often told and could just walk into his office to meet with him.
Heard last year’s crop were much worse than the ones before. Fewer pupils scored well enough to go to top sec schools, with none to RGS, only 1 to RI.
Anyway, things may have changed, but just sharing our experience. -
KeepTrying:
Just curious - do most of the top students in this school choose RI and RGS as their first choice? Which are their top choices?
Heard last year's crop were much worse than the ones before. Fewer pupils scored well enough to go to top sec schools, with none to RGS, only 1 to RI. -
octoberbaby:
Head shaking - there are such parents around.notredame:
Oh, really? Actually I am not surprised. Some PVs here carry a lot of 'weight', don't they? While I appreciate that there are many PVs who genuinely help the school in many areas but there are a couple of black sheep who are there with ulterior motives. Hopefully, after the incident (read in earlier pages) that happened this year, the leaders will be more objective about the suggestions made by non-PVs against PVs.
Some PVs carry 'heavy weight', well may be that is their passion. But choosing head prefects die die must be from her children meh? The younger one cannot even perform. Unless both kids are very 'solid', we are happy for them. Why so difficult to choose head prefects mah?
LUcky I am a working mum, so no time to get involve in volunteer and meet these type of parents. I hardly know my child classmates parents too .
well, pri sch head prefects are still kids, if they do not have the leadership quality - pushing them up also won't help them achieve greatly in Sec sch and beyond - current \"success\" only satisfy the parents' \"taste buds\" and fullfilling parents' dreams to be prefects (during the childhood
/ oophs , my personal 2cents view
)
As for results , I can see that the kids (esp 1st 2 classes) are working hard and competitive. But since it is still a very young school with little history , the efforts requried to push up and keep up the good results is tremendous. Most of the staff are young in education (unlike the 1st P) .
Furthermore, this sch is in a neighbourhood, with neighbourhood quality
kids - so I have to be fair and just when comparing result, to compare with a young neighbourhood sch will be more appropriate.
The popular sch in compassvale consist of more kids with better bakground bcos of the RICH history, so probably results is slightly better.
I choose tuition mode for my dc to keep up the results, I feel that I can't reply heavily on the class teacher as I realised that the disparity of kids ablity in a class is great for certain subject eg Math ( eg there are still students who are weaker in Math although they may be in \"B\" class and the teacher has to spend more time just to teach and complete basic curriculum/knowledge. likewise my child is weaker in MT, so dc may be one of the student in MT class that slow down the teacher's speed to impart further knowledge as my child will have difficulty catching up the speeding train if teacher wana teach more.
However, tuition also need to spend money and time bringing them to n froth ...... so the choice greatly depends on us parents who want our child to score well or just do average and be happy about it.
\"Every sch is a good sch\" so much meaning to it
depends on society and parent expectations. -
I checked the school's academic achievement for 2012 & there were 36 pupils who scored 250 or above. To me, psle t-score of 250 is good enough. I remember in 2010, there were only 20 pupils who scored above 250 though the cohort size is the same as 2012's.
Just curious - do most of the top students in this school choose RI and RGS as their first choice? Which are their top choices?KeepTrying:
Heard last year's crop were much worse than the ones before. Fewer pupils scored well enough to go to top sec schools, with none to RGS, only 1 to RI.
In 2010, every pupil who qualified chose RI/RGS. Very few tried DSA then. Last year, I knew there was one who scored above 270 but he either preferred NUSH or had already accepted NUSH via DSA so RI is out.
In 2011, I heard the top student chose DHS via DSA so RGS is out though she qualified via t-score. Also, I think most PRC pupils prefer NYGHS/DHS to RGS. Just hearsay lah, I may be wrong.
The chances of getting into RI/RGS via DSA for non-GEP pupils are very low. So perhaps those top Riverlites that tried DSA for RI/RGS & were rejected might accept the DSA offer of their second choice schools. They may eventually make it to RI/RGS via psle t-score but there is no turning back once they have accepted the DSA Confirmation Offer. -
KeepTrying:
Very different compared with old P's open door policy where parents were often told and could just walk into his office to meet with him.
Thanks for sharing your experience. Sigh!!
My friend has a different view of the ex-P though. Her ds, in P2 then, was knocked down by a senior & lost 2 teeth as a result. He was left alone bleeding in the office meeting room while waiting for my friend to arrive. The following day, my friend & her dh (both could only speak Mandarin) visited the ex-P to complain about the case. Instead of attempting to investigate how the incident happened, he shoved them away by telling them they could claim insurance & that their child must have been playful & was at fault. (But I know the boy is quiet & well-behaved). Case closed.
My friend felt insulted & despised for not being able to converse in proper English to fight for her son's right.
So much for 'every school a good school'.... -
notredame:
Thanks for sharing. Since RGS isn't a SAP school, perhaps the top girls would prefer going NYGH or other SAP schools, since this school Chinese standard is quite high.
I checked the school's academic achievement for 2012 & there were 36 pupils who scored 250 or above. To me, psle t-score of 250 is good enough. I remember in 2010, there were only 20 pupils who scored above 250 though the cohort size is the same as 2012's.concern2:
Just curious - do most of the top students in this school choose RI and RGS as their first choice? Which are their top choices?
In 2010, every pupil who qualified chose RI/RGS. Very few tried DSA then. Last year, I knew there was one who scored above 270 but he either preferred NUSH or had already accepted NUSH via DSA so RI is out.
In 2011, I heard the top student chose DHS via DSA so RGS is out though she qualified via t-score. Also, I think most PRC pupils prefer NYGHS/DHS to RGS. Just hearsay lah, I may be wrong.
The chances of getting into RI/RGS via DSA for non-GEP pupils are very low. So perhaps those top Riverlites that tried DSA for RI/RGS & were rejected might accept the DSA offer of their second choice schools. They may eventually make it to RI/RGS via psle t-score but there is no turning back once they have accepted the DSA Confirmation Offer. -
Something to share about this year’s PSLE results:
The principal did not reveal the top scorers this year so we do not know how many pupils scored above 250.
Highest t-score obtained is 268 based on reliable sources.
As the P put it, this year’s PSLE score is unique. I presume that is because some of the papers, especially Maths, are relatively easy this year compared to the previous years. Hence more pupils are able to get good marks in Maths and that narrows the results gap between pupils & even between classes.
There aren’t any tough questions to differentiate the abilities of the high-achievers from the above-average achievers in Maths. The raw scores of these groups become very close and that creates a small standard deviation when calculating T-scores. Hence, the overall T-scores of the high-achievers will drop. The opposite may happen to the average & above-average crowd. (IMO)
Thus, from my observation, the % no. of pupils who scored above 250 & 260 are lower this year than the previous years.
The P advised parents with higher ability kids to lower their expectation before releasing the individual results slips to pupils. He mentioned something like expect those who could achieve 25+ last year to get only 24+ this year. Not exactly what he said but I interpreted his message as such.
He said the cut-off points (cop) of sec schs will drop so go for a school that has 1 or 2 points higher cop than your t-score. In other school like pei hwa presbyterian, pupils were advised to select schools that are 5 pts higher. I wonder how realistic it is as the cop of some top 10% popular schools may see a surge in demand as more pupils qualify for them now & raise the cop instead.
Anyway, if this new tweak is to stay, I would advise those who are good in Maths to direct their focus on their weaker subjects instead. Don’t waste too much time practising top sch challenging maths questions. They probably won’t appear in PSLE liao. You can’t use your excellent Maths results to compensate for your weaker subjects now since others who are weaker in Maths but good in, say, languages could match your Maths marks now. Just sharing personal view.
Lastly, this year’s sch average t-score has increased, as expected. 100% pass for all HMT. Many other improvements which I can’t remember, all as a result of easier papers. This makes many happier. Typically in any changes, some are bound to benefit more than others. Accept the fact & move on. -
RI and Hwa Chong cut off point is 263. Are these schools not lowering their COP?
Still prefer difficult papers compare to easy papers -
‘every school is a good school’? I only see ministers’ children either in Nanyang primary or RGPS
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.