Maris Stella High
vicki:
Hi VickiI thk they hve it at all the branches.. But I went with the orchard branch. There's 2 workshops this year. I sent him for workshop A cos one of the day activity inlcudes 'making sushi at Sakae Sushi', n he's like Wow!! I can go Sakae n make sushi?? Yeah!!'
http://www.tienhsia.com/promo/promomain.html
U can chk it out. Btw, if u going also, do inform me!!
Thanks for the info. It looks really interesting. I think I will sign up my boy but I will go with Bishan branch. Dun want to incur CBD charges for orchard branch. I signed up for the Dec 12 week. DS also said the programmes look exciting.
Sorry mods, I know we are going off-topic. -
beanstalk:
My son asked me why he has to have a name tag. I told him it's so the teachers can identify the naughty boys. Honestly though I am not sure. Anybody?
Not just for them to identify naughty boys lah... it's for the teachers to recognize them in class coz it's awfully hard to remember the names of >30 pple. Plus your boy can also look at the names and levels (by colour) of pple who bully him. Makes it easier to report them to the VP. -
24hr-mum:
r we allowed to brg other kids includg gals along to p1 orientatn? i gonna b maidless frm nx sat
I think it's ok to bring your other kid if she's old enough and won't run around coz there will be hour-long talks in the school hall which she may be bored with. Unless you just go there to listen to the Principal and quickly buy books etc then go. -
i think this year was different from last year. u see, we already gone to the sch on 18 oct to buy bks, buy uniform, bk sch bus, buy shoes, submit forms.- termed admin day.
we are asked to go again nx sat 19 nov for orientation to meet teachers and classmates…that’s why not sure whr can bring my no 3 along leh…she is 4 -
can I know if MSH mandarin standard very high in p1 and 2?
smurf:
P1 standard seems ok. -
smurf:
Hi Smurf,
The CL standard is manageable. We were very happy with our DS's progress in CL. The most important thing is that he told us he enjoyed his CL lessons the most. Credit must be given to his CL teacher. As for the area of assessment, it is on par with the other top school papers which I have seen. Just my personal opinion.
I remember your DS is in SJIJ right? How is he coping in SJIJ? Hope everything is going well for him in school.
Yup I think the Chinese standard is comparable to other SAP schools coz I let DS do NYPS and Ai Tong Chinese exam papers and he did quite well. The questions covered the same scope. My expectation was higher and I set a difficult Chinese test paper for him personally. He didn’t do too well for the paper I set. My paper was the "more difficult" prelim paper to wake him up.
Hi Bigfoot and Cherrygal,
thanks for the feedback.
Hey bigfoot,
my boy is doing ok, however, his chinese is on the weak side. and being an english 'dominated' school, the school does not emphasise much on chinese. he doesn't detest chinese, but just not his favourite subject...
I still hope that he can take up higher chinese in p2, but then...sigh... -
to get into MSH secondary, will kids who take up higher chinese be given 2 bonus points? my girl’s sch wont, as they say already got discount for affiliation, from what i heard
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.