Marymount Convent

5.7k Posts 143 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      cantbearit2

chergaby:
      preciousmoments:

My DD is still very much dependent, stilll too playful to be responsible for her own school bag and HW.

Hi preciousmoments!

My DD \"tasted her own medicine\" last weekend. She was allowed to play on the computer on Sunday after dinner. I asked her to pack her bag before playing and she suddenly realised that she has forgotten to do her HW! In the end, she forgone her PC time to complete her HW.

Hv to make them learn to be responsible.

Aiyo my DD oso have to finish her hw each nite b4 play but she chin Chye do cos lookg forward to play time πŸ˜›

cantbearit2

preciousmoments:
        chergaby:

Hi preciousmoments!

My DD \"tasted her own medicine\" last weekend. She was allowed to play on the computer on Sunday after dinner. I asked her to pack her bag before playing and she suddenly realised that she has forgotten to do her HW! In the end, she forgone her PC time to complete her HW.

Sigh.. My DD whines as she does her HW as it takes her time away from playing. I have a feeling she has to kenna from her teacher once before she will learn her lesson..

Tink our DD r d same. Sigh 😞

chergaby

cantbearit2:
          preciousmoments:

[quote=\"chergaby\"]

Hi preciousmoments!

Sigh.. My DD whines as she does her HW as it takes her time away from playing. I have a feeling she has to kenna from her teacher once before she will learn her lesson..

Tink our DD r d same. Sigh :([/quote]Sometimes, we hv to \"let go\" & let them learn their ropes.., if they want to chin chye then they hv to be answerable for it lor. My DD normally dun heed my advice, it's more effective if it comes from her tr.

I used to freak out if she didn't practice on her piano pieces. Sometimes, I chose not to remind & nag her for a week & she couldn't play the pieces well in class as compared to her frens. Unable to accept it, she came back & worked doubly hard. πŸ˜›

We have to learn to take on the \"Supporting\" role more than the active role.

cantbearit2

chergaby:

Sometimes, we hv to \"let go\" & let them learn their ropes.., if they want to chin chye then they hv to be answerable for it lor. My DD normally dun heed my advice, it's more effective if it comes from her tr.

I used to freak out if she didn't practice on her piano pieces. Sometimes, I chose not to remind & nag her for a week & she couldn't play the pieces well in class as compared to her frens. Unable to accept it, she came back & worked doubly hard. πŸ˜›

IM still trying but can b quite paisay cos she chin chye do then her FT told me her handwriting needs improvement. Argh...!!!! Dun noe wat to tell the FT...... :oops: Looks like mummy so lazy, din even bother to ask DD to write neatly. sigh. 😞

chergaby

cantbearit2:
              IM still trying but can b quite paisay cos she chin chye do then her FT told me her handwriting needs improvement. Argh...!!!! Dun noe wat to tell the FT...... :oops: Looks like mummy so lazy, din even bother to ask DD to write neatly. sigh. 😞

Haha... I know what you mean.

preciousmoments

cantbearit2:

Cute? Small u mean? Hee....Thks anyway! My DD noe yur DD by name but they prob Nv talk to each other.
                Congrats on yur DD gettg into the sch team. She muz b v talented. Did u rec a letter. Tat means my DD is on recreational basis lor. Mummy more \"eng\" liao. :evil: :evil:
                Frankly, I dun find your DD small. My DD is not much taller/bigger. She was teased on orientation day for being short n she told me she's shortest in class.

Thanks! Yes, she came back with a slip of paper informing that her gym classes will be changed to mon and wed mornings. She'll be left alone to eat her own lunch twice a week now. A bit 不放心.

preciousmoments

cantbearit2:

Same here! As much as I want DD to learn to b more responsible for her own learning, I'm afraid the FT will think mummy is so bo chap, cannot be bothered to monitor DD's work. Sigh..

Tinkerbelle

WorriedParent74:
                    [Hi

She attended a holiday programme at abrakadoodle at east coast n luv it
                    The instructor there quite attentive as the class is small
                    M not looking for smtg really serious but smtg my gal like n relax wif during wkends

See them stress wif sch wk n life alrdy so dun intend to get them smtg stressful during their restdays

πŸ™‚
                    :evil: :evil:
                    Hi worriedparent74,

Fantastic that your DD enjoys her art lessons... can destress over the weekends. P1/P2 is the best time for all the fun activities before the hectic schedule starts in P3 with science and supplementary lessons etc. :lol:

Tinkerbelle

preciousmoments:
                      By the way, DD got into the P1-P2 school team. My poor mum will have to bring her to school twice a week now. My mum has become so busy with her these days.

:congrats: to your DD on making into the sch team for gym...Must be showing great potential. In upper pri, a few of those in the sch team will be chosen to be in the national team. :ugogirl:

Tinkerbelle

chergaby:
                        Sometimes, we hv to \"let go\" & let them learn their ropes.., if they want to chin chye then they hv to be answerable for it lor. My DD normally dun heed my advice, it's more effective if it comes from her tr.

Hi chergaby,

:goodpost: Although easier said than done, but the gals will be more responsible and independent in the long run.. :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 199 / 567