Kinderland

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Playgroups, Infant Care, Childcare Centres & Preschools
    467 Posts 185 Posters 279.4k Views 1 Watching
      Kid123

Carrot_55:

My girl is in K1 this yr @ Kinderland sunshine place.

Was there since N1 & N2. Intially was ok but now i find that she is not prgressing well. Alot of kids from my girl's batch left after N2 & alot of good teachers left too around late last yr - early this yr. So the current teachers are either new or the not so good one.. think left only one good teacher which is Mrs Goh...

Spoken to some parents and realise most of us think the sch is too commercial, esp the Principal. Kinderland teaching system is well-known but this sch is a franshise or some say kinderland license sold to them... not very sure on this... so i think their standard is lower than those main kinderland branches..

I'm looking into withdrawing from this sch even my girl is already K2 next yr and is her last yr. For you i think if your kid is still young, so u can re-consider..

my nephew is at Kinderland Sunshine place and i heard that he is learning very well. his mommy is in the parents' support group so she knows how children learn in field trips etc.. you can consider joining the PSG or udnerstand more from the teachers and principals, im sure there is a certain standard to upkeep...

Nancy

Hi All,

I am new here. Anyone putting their child at kinderland beside Lot 1 or Jubilee Road at west coast?
        Hear it is franchise?

Hope someone can help me…

Thanks

Carrot_55

Kid123:
          my nephew is at Kinderland Sunshine place and i heard that he is learning very well. his mommy is in the parents' support group so she knows how children learn in field trips etc.. you can consider joining the PSG or udnerstand more from the teachers and principals, im sure there is a certain standard to upkeep...

I dun think it will improve in joining the PSG as im always involved in their field trips too.

Personally, i dun think their standard is as good as other Kinderland Main branches as my girl did spent 6 mths in Kinderland MOM which was so much better (but due to the long hrs, my darling cant take it, so no choice).

Also the principal @ Sunshine Place is very defensive toward her centre and not open to feedback & suggestion. This is my opinion and some other parents have same opinion with me... thou I believe other parents are ok with this centre.

As for other Kinderland branches, i'm cant comment cos nvr been there. Generally, i like Kinderland learning system as they focus more on learn thru play. My girl only started learning in-depth phonics in K1. N1 & N2 mostly art & craft & music/singing/dancing etc. Their system is not those super \"siong\" alot homework & spelling kind. So far, she never brought any homework back before... Maybe in K2?

• Z Offline
            Zac_Mommy

I am looking around for some opinions on Kinderland YCK for my son. N1 onwards… and feedback to share? Thanks!!

Nancy

any comments on Kinderland SP or Kinderland Jubilee Road?

I am planning to enroll my child in next year for pre-nursery…

debpch

I am thinking of enroling my kid in Kinderland Preschool @ YCK or Serangoon as well…

Any advice (good, bad, neutral) from parents whose kids have attended or graduated from Kinderland?

Do they have problems adapting to P1?

• MMMM Offline
                  MMM

debpch:
                  I am thinking of enroling my kid in Kinderland Preschool @ YCK or Serangoon as well...

Any advice (good, bad, neutral) from parents whose kids have attended or graduated from Kinderland?

Do they have problems adapting to P1?
                  My 2 older kids went through the kinderland route (from pre-n to K2). They are now in P3 and P2. Pros is they adapt to P1 well. They enjoy school and learning which I believe kinderland help to cultivate that. Kinderland does teach general knowledge/ science stuff as well so sometimes I am amazed by what they learnt in school.

I've a K1 in kinderland upper serangoon. Recently, she came talking about all the various countries and antartica, etc... She got very interested when I showed her the globe. So Kinderland does a good job in that.

However, I feel that Kinderland might not be the super academic centre if that is what you are looking for. Eg. I am looking at my P3. Minimal enrichment classes during pre-school time. She survived P1, did ok but not the top type (eg. 30 percentile in cohort). So for my K1, I also sent her to numerous enrichment classes outside kinderland. But I believe I would still do this even if she was in another school.

Eg. I've a friend whose kid is in chiltern house. But he also attends a fair share of enrichment classes.

debpch

MMM,

thanks for your feedback. 😄

kinderland's BIG PLUS for me is that it is a 3-hour class instead of a full-day or half-day class...dun think my kid can tahan a class that last > 3 hours

my kid is an only child so this whole school hunting experience is new to me..
                    yep, heard about chitern house... gave them a call but was told that the waiting list has > 20 kids... :shock:
                    & they are only taking in 15 kids next year. i.e. even if the whole class opts out, I still need to wait 2 rounds!!
                    :roll:
                    anyway, chitern house is a bit out-of-the-way for me...

read in some other posts that kinderland is slightly weak in chinese... is that true? any enrichments to recc? (but would really hate this cos dun want to load kid with too many class... 😞 )

• MMMM Offline
                      MMM

debpch:
                      MMM,

thanks for your feedback. 😄

kinderland's BIG PLUS for me is that it is a 3-hour class instead of a full-day or half-day class...dun think my kid can tahan a class that last > 3 hours

my kid is an only child so this whole school hunting experience is new to me..
                      yep, heard about chitern house... gave them a call but was told that the waiting list has > 20 kids... :shock:
                      & they are only taking in 15 kids next year. i.e. even if the whole class opts out, I still need to wait 2 rounds!!
                      :roll:
                      anyway, chitern house is a bit out-of-the-way for me...

read in some other posts that kinderland is slightly weak in chinese... is that true? any enrichments to recc? (but would really hate this cos dun want to load kid with too many class... 😞 )
                      Yes, I think their CL is not strong. My cousin teaches CL in one of the branches and highlighted this to me and gave me some enrichment centre recommendations which I followed when my eldest is in K2. Actually the ideal time to start is nursery so she is considered as late, but luckily the enrichment centre did wonders for her and till now, CL is still one of her strongest subjects.

In the North east area, i believe you can send your child to Berries or other CL enrichment centre in that area. My kids go to Molin but it is in katong area.

This is what I started my K1 on :
                      Since Nursery - Chinese, phonics (Jan & Elly), ballet, music (note Kinderland also has their weekly music class).
                      From K1 - LW, Maths, Chinese S&D

I just switched my K1 from Kinderland Marine Parade to Upper Serangoon from term 2 this year. At one point, my hubby was like... with that kind of $ we are spending on her every month, we can send her to Pat's schoolhouse and stop all other classes. But I prefer to send her to the experts in each area and don't fancy those under one roof solution (no offence as my personal opinion). So I feel that Kinderland works well for us.

debpch

:scared: my kid is going 3 yo next yr & i have not started her on anything... basically, her time-table everyday is eat,sleep,play,poo... i must be the most ill-prepared parent...

oh, so u are with serangoon? i visited YCK & serangoon and much prefer serangoon... 1 ques, do u know their \"hit-rate\" for hand-foot-mouth ?

my fren was telling me yesterday that his kid's P1 \"entrance exam\" consisted of reading 50 chinese & 50 english words! :!: after a kinderland education, would the kids be able to pass such a test? (list was given during orientation and students had to read on the spot! surprise test, leh)

pat's schoolhouse? forget this one, man... waiting list is > 200... :roll:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 47