2013 Sec 1 Discussions

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    817 Posts 96 Posters 453.4k Views 1 Watching
      mummy so kiasu

Honestly, I really thought Sec 1 will be 'honeymoon' after last year's PSLE. But it is not to be.

Maybe having regular tests is a new routine that we have to get used to.

mummy so kiasu:

Honestly, I really thought Sec 1 will be 'honeymoon' after last year's PSLE. But it is not to be.

Maybe having regular tests is a new routine that we have to get used to.

Yes...no honeymoon at all. I didn't expect supplementary lessons till 430pm after school on Mon, Tue, Thur and Friday...I told him he must wake up after 30 min nap bcos he has to get homework done and revise for endless tests. He has tried to go w/out nap but was a zombie by 7pm.

• JenniferJ Offline
          Jennifer

slmkhoo:

Next week geography or literature test again...I keep hearing some test every other week...tougher than PSLE. A friend of mine told me sec 1 rather relaxed...not that I can see leh...but ok lah...keeps father and son busy :evil:

The way to less stress is to regard all these frequent tests as 'normal' and not to worry about them. The child should learn to make sure that he understands and absorbs in class on a daily basis. My kids are in a US curriculum system where they have frequent tests too, and every test counts towards the final grade, but they are so used to them that they don't even tell me any more. Totally unstressed!

I agree with slmkhoo.

My elder boy commented that some of his classmates study hard, not study smart and subscribe to the old thinking \"Practice makes perfect\". As a result, time is wasted and these classmates ended up complaining about the subject.

I think either way is a cycle.

You go to class with a clear mind, pay attention and understand well the concept, you spend less time sorting out qns, you feel confident.

Or you go to class with a worried mind, cant focus or understand well, more time trying to do the qn, less confidence level. The issue will just snowball.

My son continued with his Chinese and English tuition a month after PSLE results. For the other subjects, he is learning to ask questions when in doubt.

For the languages, he is able to understand teachers better.
            As for Lit/Geog/History, he will read before lesson and after teacher has taught…that’s only possible at the moment before suppl lessons begin. Will have to adjust again if he has to stay back for extra lessons after school.
            These 4 years will pass faster than primary school.

slmkhoo:

These 4 years will pass faster than primary school.

That's normal. And the pace will pick up the higher he goes. The rate of new info in Pr school is very little compared to sec school, which is little compared to JC/poly... Part of what a student must learn as he goes higher in education is how to learn faster and more efficiently.

The rate of new info for secondary school drifts is MORE and FAST...it's just January but my son's notes are thick :yikes:
              So he really has to read up everyday...the command of languages is higher.
              New learning curve for all of us 😓

Hi slmkhoo,

Thanks for your valuable advice.
                I will ask him to maximize time and work smart…got to make use of his brain to have higher retaining power. Ah !!! That calls for DHA.

fifiyeo

Yes study smart not hard. Otherwise there won't be time left to sleep. I'm still trying to maintain 9pm lights out.

DS got no supplementary lessons but instead they have to stay back for complusory Hip Hop Dance till 4.30pm once a week. Not sure how useful is this for DS as he has absolutely no interest! 🤷

fifiyeo

DS’s school rules states no ankle socks but I see a bunch of older kids wearing that. Wonder if discipline is lacking?

kwcllf

fifiyeo:
                      Yes study smart not hard. Otherwise there won't be time left to sleep. I'm still trying to maintain 9pm lights out.

DS got no supplementary lessons but instead they have to stay back for complusory Hip Hop Dance till 4.30pm once a week. Not sure how useful is this for DS as he has absolutely no interest! 🤷
                      My DS school will have Bangla Dance lessons. But not sure when they are starting. I think it should be quite fun lah! Tell your kid to \"let loose\" and enjoy and take a break from studying.

fifiyeo:

Gotta study smart.
                        Last night, my son showed me a page from his student planner.
                        Mon, Tue, Thur - compulsory supplementary lessons.
                        CCA result just known...either Wed or Fri from 230pm to 6pm.
                        Left with 1 day early dismissal.

Time management skills must be put in use.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 23 / 82