Tingkat Dinner

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    283 Posts 83 Posters 314.0k Views 1 Watching
      rexhsuds

So many of the comments here seem to be written long ago.

Well, let me share with you my view on moms cooking tingkat…January 2013.
      I started with the trial of 10 days and found the quality AND quantity so good that without hesitation i extended for next 20 days.

It is certainly expensive at $428 without rice 3dish 1 soup.
      HOWEVER IT IS WORTH THE PRICE. 一分钱一分货。They offer options like no beef, no luncheon meat, no preserved veg,no internals. And in place of it they give you excellent alternatives and the food variety is really fantastic and you dont feel bored with the food after 20 days even!

Some readers mentioned about rudeness of one "kelvin" some years ago, however, when i called them on the phone and corresponded with them on email, i do not meet with any problem at all.
      Everyone in the family have good opinion of the food at least 90% of the dishes (face it, who can score 100%) 100% of the time. The quantity for two persons is actually sufficient for three light-eaters, so really the price is reasonable in my opinion, based on what is being delivered.

As for delivery, i noted that 100% of the time, the delivery arrives punctually at around the same time give or take 20 minutes.

Highly recommended, as at January 2013. assuming they keep up the current standard.

rex

• JenniferJ Offline
        Jennifer

rexhsuds:

Well, let me share with you my view on moms cooking tingkat..January 2013.
        I started with the trial of 10 days and found the quality AND quantity so good that without hesitation i extended for next 20 days.
        Highly recommended, as at January 2013. assuming they keep up the current standard.

rex
        Hi, considering your 1st KSP post is singing the praises of a tingkat supplier, well, kinda of must take your posting with a pinch of salt. no offence meant.

There are days when food may not be to our liking. But food is served to door step…it’s ex but food prices have increased. No need to sweat over hot stove and wash up. Important thing is precious time can be used to coach kids in their work.

• NebbermindN Offline
            Nebbermind

rexhsuds:

Well, let me share with you my view on moms cooking tingkat..January 2013.

rex

Hi, considering your 1st KSP post is singing the praises of a tingkat supplier, well, kinda of must take your posting with a pinch of salt. no offence meant.

Salt...bad for my hypertension.... 😉

The good thing about tingkat dinner is the time saved. I cook rice at 530pm…so at least rice is hot while dishes are reasonably warm. Kids and I will eat at 6 leisurely and then they take bath while I wash dishes.

730pm, we get either revision or homework done.
              Food may not always be to our liking…but then can’t have things perfect all the time.

• DesertWindD Offline
                DesertWind

I ordered from Empirefood for one whole year, imagine that! After my second BB’s confinement month ordered tingkat so that maid does not need to cook. After 13 months of eating, really jialat already maid also tak boleh tahan because she cannot eat pork but most times the tingkat will have pork and I have to eat them. So relief she offered to cook again since BB bigger already. So happy to have home-cooked food again!

I wanted to try Select but unfortunately they don’t deliver to my area.

Empirefood is very reliable and economical at about SGD200/= for two. Fuss-free service hence am happy since it really helped tide us over the crucial period when I simply could not get more help at home and need to rely on just one maid.

DesertWind:
                  I wanted to try Select but unfortunately they don't deliver to my area.

Empirefood is very reliable and economical at about SGD200/= for two. Fuss-free service hence am happy since it really helped tide us over the crucial period when I simply could not get more help at home and need to rely on just one maid.
                  I'm into 2nd month with Select. Just changed my Tue dinner to their 'special', meaning no need to cook rice. Last week was lotus leaf rice with a sweet & sour fish + siao bai cai. What I don't like is blackened lettuce or baked beans, which is a waste of money for a dish. I could easily open a can of beans for a meal. But if the beans was cooked with minced pork or something, that is justifiable.

fluffyboy:
                    I am currently half-way through my 2nd cycle of kim's kitchen. Food is not salty (dont feel thirsty after eating), but quality of food mostly processed stuff e.g. nuggets, ngoh hiang, baked beans, canned peanuts, imitation crab sticks etc, which makes me think that I could have bought them from supermarket and heat up myself. So may change to try out another tingkat after this.

Anyway, wanna sought your opinions, actually, my mum staying nearby has been cooking for us for past 2 years. We will either eat at her place after work or taobao home to eat. But (paisay to say) her cooking is nothing is shout about. I know it's very very nice of her to offer to cook for us so that we have homecook meals everyday, but sometimes, I really eat until :sick: That why we decided to try out tingkat this year. T

What will you do in my situation? Continue to order tingkat or eat my mum's home cooked meal?
                    Change tingkat company...but home-cooked meals will beat tingkat anytime.

cherrygal

Janet,

How do you rate Select catering’s tingkat dinner so far? I am SAHM and kids dun need my supervision but my hands have bad dermatitis so was considering taking a 4-day tingkat to let my skin heal. Are the portions plenty? Should I take the 4 dishes or 3 dishes 1 soup?

Did some calculations too and realised we could be saving a huge sum of money to order from tingkat instead of cooking at home. My grocery bills amount to almost $900 per month (with milk formula and diapers incl) but most come from food items. And it’s only 2 adults and 2 young kids!

• JenniferJ Offline
                        Jennifer

fluffyboy:
                        but sometimes, I really eat until :sick: That why we decided to try out tingkat this year. T

What will you do in my situation? Continue to order tingkat or eat my mum's home cooked meal?
                        Enrol your mum in cooking classes? Or buy cookbooks for her?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 29