Budget 2013

141 Posts 36 Posters 27.8k Views 1 Watching
      concern2

backlight:
      http://www.singapolitics.sg/news/trust-and-politics-sitoh-yih-pin

Budget 2013 Debate Speech of the Day: March 6

Trust and politics - Sitoh Yih Pin

Posted on Mar 6, 2013 8:59 PM Updated: Mar 6, 2013 9:03 PM
      By Singapolitics

TAGS: BUDGET 2013, PARLIAMENT AND SPEECH OF THE DAY
      Thanks for posting, backlight!!!

:goodpost: Pretty good speech, I must say!

concern2

pirate:

I went to the NEA website and could not find the page on rental. There is one on myhawkers.sg, and under Adviseries, 'Hawkerstalls'. I can't see one which shows tender results.

http://cms.nea.gov.sg/onlinesvcs_tendernotice.aspx#listsuccessful
        It is in PDF format.

Thanks for posting, pirate! :hi5:

concern2

pirate:

To say eating out is an excuse for not cooking so generally is to accuse parents who have to work and by the time they get home to be too tired to cook, and/or have family to manage to be lazy. I think that is not a fair statement.

Ok lah, ok lah. I concede that for people who need 5 minutes to slice an onion, 15 minutes to fry an egg and 45 minutes to make fried rice from leftover steamed rice, eating out is a necessity without which they may starve. I am sure it is also the gov's fault that they have to buy kopi-O or milo from the food centre/coffeshop because they are too tired in the morning to boil water and make it themselves and/or too poor to buy a kettle.

Should I apologize that I was brought up by a mother (whom the present generation would call a PRC) who drummed it into me that (1) never spend more than your means; and (2) eating out is a treat, not a necessity?

😆 Ok lah, I see where you are coming from.

Price per meal wise, I usually make an estimate of within $20 as average, over $20 as spending more than enough (such as fast food meal), $10 as low cost and happy about the extra savings, and anything above $30 as a luxury. This is household budget, and talking about dinner only. Budget for lunch would be lower.

Be it cooking at home or eating out, I use this average as it works out to be almost on par. To the mothers who do most of the cooking, eating out is definitely a luxury since she could just sit down and enjoy a proper meal without all the hassles. To the rest of the family who get to enjoy mom's cooking, home-cooked food is a luxury these days

As for \"buy kopi-O or milo from the food centre/coffeshop because they are too tired in the morning to boil water and make it themselves and/or too poor to buy a kettle\", sometimes it is the experience - of chatting and being around with people, enjoying the morning papers outdoors, breaking the monotony of daily routine - I suppose you could say then that it isn't necessity, rather, it is a cheap form of luxury that common folks could enjoy. To many older folks especially, it is their way of socializing since their kids/grand children would be busy with their own activities.

Though I could do the same things at home, sometimes we leave house early on weekends and kiddos want to eat at Ya Koon. I feel the pinch (being rather thrifty most of the time), but I oblige sometimes since I can't prepare bread the way Ya koon does 🤷

pirate

Price per meal wise, I usually make an estimate of within $20 as average, over $20 as spending more than enough (such as fast food meal), $10 as low cost and happy about the extra savings, and anything above $30 as a luxury. This is household budget, and talking about dinner only. Budget for lunch would be lower.

Be it cooking at home or eating out, I use this average as it works out to be almost on par. To the mothers who do most of the cooking, eating out is definitely a luxury since she could just sit down and enjoy a proper meal without all the hassles. To the rest of the family who get to enjoy mom's cooking, home-cooked food is a luxury these days

As for \"buy kopi-O or milo from the food centre/coffeshop because they are too tired in the morning to boil water and make it themselves and/or too poor to buy a kettle\", sometimes it is the experience - of chatting and being around with people, enjoying the morning papers outdoors, breaking the monotony of daily routine - I suppose you could say then that it isn't necessity, rather, it is a cheap form of luxury that common folks could enjoy. To many older folks especially, it is their way of socializing since their kids/grand children would be busy with their own activities.

Though I could do the same things at home, sometimes we leave house early on weekends and kiddos want to eat at Ya Koon. I feel the pinch (being rather thrifty most of the time), but I oblige sometimes since I can't prepare bread the way Ya koon does 🤷
            Hee hee hee. I don't think we really disagree in substance. :hugs:

I think if we work it out the way you do, most people should find that the home-cooked version is actually healthier and more nutritious for the same total amount spent/budgeted. It is sad that some families have to resort to eating out as a way of life, because then they usually are resorting to more unhealthy and less nutritious meals day in and day out. That may also lead to health issues in the long term.

Must break monotony of daily routine occasionally, otherwise will go siao. So long as we keep in mind that it is a treat, even if it is a cheap form of luxury. The availability of cheap forms of luxury is a necessity. Otherwise everybody will eventually go :siao: .

Actually har, for the older retired folks, whether we call that daily kopi downstairs a 'need' or a 'luxury', I think that is besides the point. After having worked their whole lives and brought up their children or contributed to society, being able to have that daily kopi is the least that most of them deserve.

concern2

pirate:

Hee hee hee. I don't think we really disagree in substance. :hugs:

I think if we work it out the way you do, most people should find that the home-cooked version is actually healthier and more nutritious for the same total amount spent/budgeted. It is sad that some families have to resort to eating out as a way of life, because then they usually are resorting to more unhealthy and less nutritious meals day in and day out. That may also lead to health issues in the long term.

Must break monotony of daily routine occasionally, otherwise will go siao. So long as we keep in mind that it is a treat, even if it is a cheap form of luxury. The availability of cheap forms of luxury is a necessity. Otherwise everybody will eventually go :siao: .

Actually har, for the older retired folks, whether we call that daily kopi downstairs a 'need' or a 'luxury', I think that is besides the point. After having worked their whole lives and brought up their children or contributed to society, being able to have that daily kopi is the least that most of them deserve.

:goodpost: :celebrate:

If my kids are grown up and working, I would enjoy coffee and toast outside. Ya Kun toast is expensive…bread is halved and for that pathetic thin pieces, I feel heartache paying for it.

I would buy a bottle of kaya from bread talk and make my own toast. Food prices are escalating and if we eat out, it’s bcos I am tired of routine.
                Last Sunday, we ordered pizza…the pan pizza crust is something not easily avail…made our own garlic bread and chicken wings in Air fryer. Satisfying and so much cheaper.

concern2

If my kids are grown up and working, I would enjoy coffee and toast outside. Ya Kun toast is expensive...bread is halved and for that pathetic thin pieces, I feel heartache paying for it.

I would buy a bottle of kaya from bread talk and make my own toast. Food prices are escalating and if we eat out, it's bcos I am tired of routine.
                  Last Sunday, we ordered pizza...the pan pizza crust is something not easily avail...made our own garlic bread and chicken wings in Air fryer. Satisfying and so much cheaper.
                  😆 Air fryer not cheap leh...

Air fryer is not used once and thrown away…it can be reused over and over again. Anytime beats paying extra for chicken wings or fries right?

Then my toaster can heat up garlic bread too. This way, I eat in the comfort of my own home, save on car park and petrol. No need to rush. When done, just wrap up in newspaper and throw away. Forgot, drink any soft drinks we like eg coke, 7 up and root beer…so shiok.

• FunzF Offline
                      Funz

You can buy frozen pizza crust from NTUC or Cold Storage. For kids you can use normal sandwich bread. If you like bread like pizza base, you can use gardenia foccacia bread. Get a bottle of pasta sauce, some cheese, ham, mushrooms or whatever toppings you fancy, slather and spread, pop it into the oven for 8-10mins and you have your pizza.

Good idea...thanks. Even cheaper. Focaccia bread. Why didn't I think of that?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 15